We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay.”
Review of Seacrest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seacrest Hotel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel and can thoroughly recommend it. We arrived early (about 10.30am) and I went in to ask about parking so we could go into Portsmouth until it was time to book in - but we were warmly welcomed and told we could book in straight away as the room was ready; we were given a parking permit and a map and then enjoyed a lovely easy walk along the seafront and through old Portsmouth to Gunwaharf and the Historical Dockyard (which is a must - so much to see). Our room had everything we needed and it was spotlessly clean as was the modern bathroom. The free wi-fi and parking were a lovely bonus. Breakfast in the morning was lovely, all cooked to order and there was a good assortment of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and fruit juices; my husband had the full english which he said was first class and I had 2 poached eggs on toast which were cooked perfectly. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and we will definitely consider staying here again if we return to portsmouth.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEL219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are always happy to check our Guests in early if we are able to. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Seacrest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 962 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

My girlfriend & I were visiting the areas of Southsea, Portsmouth & the Isle of Wight. We stayed at the Seacrest for two nights & found the Hotel was ideally situated for our planned excersions, using the local bus routes & Hovercraft across to the Isle of Wight. On arrival, we received a warm and friendly welcome and were impressed by the decor in the reception room. Our room also didn't disappoint. We stayed on the second floor, in a double superior with sea view. The room was luxuriously decorated and perfectly accessorised. We had a wardrobe, chest of drawers, lounge chair, dressing table t.v & tea & coffee making facilities. We also had a lovely view along the seafront & across to the Isle of Wight. The bathroom was modern & freshly decorated with the option for a relaxing bath or choice of two shower types. I can also honestly say the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in.
The dining area was also a lovely place to start the day. We ate fantasically well from the cooked breakfast menu, to help set us up for our journeys ahead. I had the scrambled eggs and salmon on a toasted muffin and my girlfriend ate the Belgian waffle with fruits & syrup. The second day she took the scrambled egg & salmon option and I went for the full English. All were beautifully cooked & tasted great. We also sampled from the breakfast buffet which contained cereals, joghurts, fruits and juices. The attention to detail & service were wonderful. All of the staff that we encountered were friendly & helpful throughout our stay.
The lounge & bar areas were also relaxing & styled in keeping with the rest of the hotel. We feel that credit must go to the owners for the renovations they have undertaken in the past year. The entire hotel has such a warmth and homely feel to it. They obviously have a lot of love for the Seacrest. It will be a pleasure to stay here again in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Seacrest Hotel. You stayed in Room 16 on the second floor of the Hotel, which has lovely views across the gardens to the sea. This room has recently been completely refurbished along with all the others, and we are pleased you found it to be comfortable.

Back in '83, the Seacrest was just one of 9 traditional seaside Hotels on the small terrace between Florence and Burgoyne Road, facing the sea. It is now the only one, the others having been developed into apartments, a fate that the Seacrest escaped by just a few days back in 2007. She is very special old lady with a long history, having had just five owners in her 150 year life. You are very intuitive when you say she is much loved. The present Owners have owned the Hotel for 31 years, having leased it out during a 10 year retirement period. They are delighted to be back and are enjoying bringing the old girl into the 21st Century.

We thank you for your lovely review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were 3 couples plus dog! who stayed at the Seacrest recently and were made to feel very welcome from the moment we all arrived from different parts of the country.
We had superior room overlooking sea which was lovely. The renovations are certainly to a high standard. Breakfast and Dinner both good and all the staff were v.friendly and helpful. Antoinette's stories certainly made us all laugh! Eileen Sullivan

Room Tip: Sea view superior was where I stayed...great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

We were pleased to welcome you to the Seacrest Hotel for your annual "get together"and are delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us in such a generous fashion, and hope that maybe one day, you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have just spent 3 nights at the Seacrest, it is a very comfortable small hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast very good and extremely well cooked and presented. The room comfortable and warm which was lovely to come back to as the weather was rather cold.
The hotel is in a quiet part of Southsea, a very pleasant easy walk along the seafront through old Portsmouth to the historic dock.
Would recommend the Seacrest and we hope to return at some time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you thought the area was quiet, which of course it is, now that all the Nightclubs and bars have been relocated to the town centre and Gunwharf Quays. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Seacrest again in the future, and thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I traveled with a party of 21 bowlers, we were in Portsmouth to play the Victory bowls club, many of my fellow travelers had stayed before and were complimentary regarding the hotel. I have to agree with them, the welcome was genuine and after quickly settling into our clean and adequately furnished rooms we were soon visiting the well stocked bar and had a wonderful reception from the staff there. The following morning (Saturday) the full English breakfast was superb with the tastiest bacon and sausage I've had for a long time. The beds were very comfortable and everything in the room worked fine. After another full English on Sunday, sadly it was time to head for another game of bowls then home. Enjoyed the stay and will definitely visit again next time we bowl in two years time. A special mention for Anna the lady who looked after us so well.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view on the second floor or above, great views to the Isle Of Wight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fordhamfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

It is always a pleasure looking after your Bowls team when you visit Portsmouth. Our bacon and sausages are sourced from our local butcher who has an excellent reputation (see them on facebook - Portsmouth Hotel). We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you again in 2016. Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

This was the second time my girlfriend and I have stayed at this hotel. It was just as good as the last and more pleasing on the eye with the recent refurbishments. Staff are really friendly and breakfast was great. Would go back again. Good value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Alzc385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

It is nice to hear that you liked our Hotel so much you came back again. The refurb is almost complete now and we are able to offer 22 fully refurbished rooms with the rest to follow shortly. We look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here with my two sons for one night and really enjoyed this lovely place. We had a sea view room which was recently refurbished. The only down side was there was a very strong smell of fresh paint and the bathroom door didn't close properly. We have been visiting Portsmouth/Southsea for the past few years and wish we had known about this place sooner. Very tasty breakfast, very nicely cooked which we all enjoyed. Would stay here again as it has a lovely cosy,homely feel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Rivendell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. You were the first Guest staying in our newly refurbished family room, so I apologise for the smell of fresh new paint, which seems to take a week or so to go off. However, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and although your son has already graduated, nevertheless, hope you may come back again one day.
Ana Tudor, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
688 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $90 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing