We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have been staying here 2-3 times a year for 25 years. Good as ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seacrest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seacrest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Have been staying here 2-3 times a year for 25 years. Good as ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Recently refurbished to a high standard. Lovely setting with a sea view. The downstairs reataurant has the choice of 1,2 or 3 courses for a reasonable price.The bedrooms are all fully equiped with a tv and hairdryer and are all en suite. The staff are always friendly and make you feel very welcome. Will continue to stay here many years to come.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    207
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
179
431
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Locksbottom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I visited Portsmouth, with my elderly mum, for two days 7th-8th August, visiting my son who is at University in the town. We stayed overnight at the Seacrest Hotel and could not have been made more welcome. The owners were on site the whole time and were so welcoming. All the staff were so polite, friendly and helpful - especially at reception. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and is looking amazing. Breakfast was excellent and I stayed filled up for the rest of the day! There is a lift to all floors - an asset for my mum. We had front room with sea view - in fact we could see the Isle of Wight. Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as rooms at back of hotel only look over the back yard and a narrow road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parisbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had a brilliant stay in this hotel, lovely new decor and the room was very nice, spotless with a very fresh feel to it. The bed was amazing... very comfortable and I slept very well. The shower was nice and powerful and very clean.

I found it amazing that despite being under refurbishment, the hotel was spotless. The staff were very nice and welcoming. A very nice and well stocked bar too.

The breakfast was cooked to perfection... again served by attentive, friendly and pleasant staff. I loved the fresh flowers. I loved the location.

The only negative thing I would have to say is the "No Smoked Haddock" in the breakfast menu and breakfast time ending at 09:00... Can you believe that? The bed was too comfortable for me to get up so early... Give us a break! A truly lovely and relaxing break and I will be going back... definitely!

Eli PS

Room Tip: The sea view room offered a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st osyth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just spent a most enjoyable stay in this hotel. The staff were friendly and most helpful, the room was clean, tastefully decorated with a stunning sea view.
The hotel's location is ideal for visiting all the major attractions and local hostelries,restaurants and shops
The breakfast was very good with a quick efficient service

Room Tip: Seafront rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spikeymikey586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had a great stay at this hotel last weekend the room was spotlessly clean and the service was friendly and professional. My parents live in Southsea and we will definitely re book. The breakfast was superb and nothing was too much trouble. When this hotel is fully re furbished it will be the best in town. The hotel has a perfect location, everything is walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I booked this hotel for my aunt who was coming to Portsmouth. She had stayed before and really liked the staff and the location is lovely. When I went to pick her up from the hotel, the owner was busy finishing off the new interior decoration with her designer. The welcome is not only visually inviting now but always personable and very friendly. Auntie says she's coming back! I recommend as her online 'PA'!

Room Tip: Try to get the newly refurbished superior room with the South facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very nice hotel on the seafront in southsea. small personal; hotel with exceptionally helpfull and friendly staff where nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was really good, not so pleased with the evening meal. location excellent, with easy access to local shops and the sea front opposite. Portsmouth port and gun wharf keys 15mins walk., The rooms are a little tired however the hotel is undergoing a refubishment at the moment, with the rooms to be completed next.
The only negative for me was that the lift dosnt go to the ground floor where the rdining area is so if you find stairs hard this may not be for you.
Will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Property: Seacrest Hotel
Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing