We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent curry house”
Review of Spice Merchants

Spice Merchants
Ranked #30 of 655 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent curry house”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

On our last night of three we finally found somewhere good to eat! very friendly and attentive but unobtrusive service from all the staff and the selection of food we ordered was excellent. Many thanks to all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jgandkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    75
    18
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Tried this out on the basis of other reviews. Excellent meal with a very varied menu featuring some very different Indian dishes. My wife had a starter of Mussels and I had Garlic mushroom Tika. For mains we both had the chef's special lamb shank - excellent spiced food and not too hot. A recommended place to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRT86T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Judging by previous reviews I was expecting an exceptional Indian meal but it really didn't live up to the hype of previous reviews. Perhaps it was just an off night.

To be fair if there was an overall rating between average and very good I'd have awarded that.

The menu is so extensive you wonder just how they can offer such a vast range and maintain a high standard.

The service was very good and the staff very polite but the food whilst ok was nothing out of the ordinary. Given the choice there are other Indian restaurants locally that outshine this one for the standard of food.

Pricing to be fair is very reasonable and there is a nice selection of wine that isn't overly expensive.

As I said, perhaps this was just an off night and perhaps we should visit again to see if the previous reviews are more accurate but on this occasion I can only award an average rating. Sorry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service with a very big smile”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The staff here are just fantastic. They really make this place special. The food is good and excellent value.
The waiters were fabulous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4dwarfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mum's 90th Birthday Party”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Thank you Naz and staff for making Mum's 90th birthday celebrations so special - from decorating the tables so beautifully to brilliant hospitality and service with particular attention to detail on top of the usual excellent food. It all made for a very special atmosphere for a very special person. Mum hasn't stopped talking about it! Thank you all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Netta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Merchants also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Spice Merchants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing