We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More refined that your usual Indian restaurant...excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Merchants

Spice Merchants
Ranked #21 of 634 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“More refined that your usual Indian restaurant...excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a refreshing change from the abundance of mediocre indian restaurants that exist in Southsea. The team focus on offering a more upmarket experience with superb customer service and a menu which offers interesting combinations of flavours and extensive choice in an environment which is well presented, very clean and welcoming. Prices are reasonable and good value with superbly cooked lamb which melted in the mouth.

I would highly recommend this restaurant especially when thinking of indian cuisine for a night out when you deserve something a little more refined. We will be back again very soon

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vkerryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    73
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a welcome back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went in day after Valentines and had been unable to go due to ill health. What a welcome, the guys were busy but all made time to come over and ask how we were and how the family were. Brilliant food, can't believe how much we had missed being pampered and the food was just as normal TOTALLY DELICIOUS. Thanks guys.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pennyngeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“valetine night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were greeted at the door and shown to our table and found everything from the service to food and cleanliness excellent and we cant praise them enough. At the end of the evening a rose was given to my wife which was such a lovely touch. We highly recommend this restraunt and will dine there again.Paul and Helen Portsmouth.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul1958N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing valentines date”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was an amazing experience, food was great atmosphere was welcoming they even gave a rose to my beautiful girlfriend

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jokerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were greeted warmly by Naz and nothing was too much trouble. We love Indian food and were blown away by the diffent choices available and the quality of what we ordered. The food was the simply the best quality we have ever had in an Indian restaurant. The King Prawn dishes were amazing. We will certainly be regular diners here. Go!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Merchants also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Spice Merchants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing