We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
Review of Agora

Agora
Ranked #5 of 645 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bucks
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Overheard another hotel guest praising a local restaurant, so we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. We chose a selection of meze, all were delicious. All the staff were friendly and attentive and the price very reasonable. Would love to come back again if it wasn't so far from home!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Annetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    108
    19
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, and great experience...try the Turkish coffee fortune telling”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Awesome place...great authentic Turkish food, great service, and great experience. The food was fresh, scrumptious, and probably the best Turkish restaurant in the city. They will even read you your fortune after drinking the Turkish coffee. The reading is based on the left over coffee grinds in the cup. A fab and will definitely go again...thanks for the great dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lrafa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The food was poor, service even worse. I had to send back food but nothing was said just ignored it allowed me to re order and ignored the table.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Keepcalmandcarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow - The whole package, authentic turkish cuisine”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We got the total package, the staff are so friendly and very professiona right from booking I was made to feel very important. I took a work group of 15 for a leaving/Christmas party on a Monday night. We asked the lovely lady who served us to choose our Meze which were amazing such a great selection then we all had main courses, lots of lovely lamb tagine type dishes, I had a seafood dish delicious, then onward to baklava etc etc. The house wine was very good and the end bill came to about £23 per head and believe me we had a lot of food and wine for that. I wanted to praise this restaurant, it was so refreshing to go out and be treated so well and have such lovely food. Oh yes and the actually restaurant has a wonderful ambience with beautiful colourful lamps and good lighting. Please go and try for yourself.
Thank you - Agora :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank chrissyt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Most confusing dining experience in a while”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Myself and a few friends attended this restaurant last week and i wasnt overly impressed but left a little confused.
Firstly, all of the paintings on the walls (that are prints of quite famous photographs) are all for sale. The decor is a little overbaring as well. In addition, the music that was played ranged from a panpipe version of My Heart Will Go On to classical french music.
The menu is MASSIVE! There is so much choice it is a little overpowering. The food was all...OK, but was served in a strange way with the same chopped raw salad.
For this restaurant to be as highly advised as it was on TA i was a little dissapointed.The food was OK, but I won't be back to Agora.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurenericab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agora also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing