We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old-fashioned but comfortable hotel on historic waterfront.”
Review of Keppels Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Keppels Head
Ranked #29 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Enormous recently decorated room with en-suite facilities. Because the room was so tall it was able to accommodate the regency stripe wallpaper. Front facing room overlooking the Hard interchange, HMS Warrior and Spinnaker Tower.

Extremely good full-english breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PatrickIsleofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 452 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2009

Stayed 3 nights with old school friend. Room large, comfortable with lovely view accross the harbour. Bathroom could do with a "womans touch" regarding shower curtain and shower head but was clean if shabby, and very warm. Beds comfortable also. Situation ideal for train travellers and for buses around for sightseeing. Breakfast excellent and beautifully served. Lift a challenge but just added to the adventure. What more could two ladies in late 70's ask for?. Good value for money, and what a wonderful location. Wish I had the money to buy it and renovate. Would make a fortune.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GrannyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

this hotel is really the perfect location for the isle of wight ferry. we were slightly anxious about this hotel however ,on arrival we were pleasently surprised..... this hotel is rated a 2 star & to be honest deserves a better rating. It is only a 2 star because it needs a refurb.... we paid £49 for a hugh room overlooking the dockyard. the room was very clean with everything you needed in it including kettle with tea/coffee and biscuits! the room rate also included a full english breakfast cooked for you from a menu.....
yes it does feel like you have just stepped back in time what with the ancient lift, bare carpets & peeling wallpaper but would i stay again....YES I WOULD.
the hotel came with private parking and a perfect location......

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Was probably quite nice in it's day. Unfortunately, that would be long, long ago. It looks very tired, and could certainly do with some updating.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sketchly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stayed here for a wedding anniversary at spitbank fort. Well the room stank of smoke, looked out the window for a lovely view of the fire escape and brick wall plus all the fag butts, obviously people leaning out of their windows to smoke. We were one of the lucky ones that at least we had a shower in our room although why they have carpet in there when the shower curtain doesn't reach the floor I dont know. Bed was ok, but there was a cigarette burn on the sheets! Breakfast was very nice and staff friendly. There is no way I would have got in the lift, It's soooooo old.The hotel definitely needs to be brought into the 21st century. The location was excellent

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivieneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I stayed at the Keppels Head with hubby and our 12 year old son initially just for one night, but after deciding to stay an extra day, went back and booked in again for a second night.
On the first night we had a double room, with a small room adjoining for my son, only complaint is that there was no view from this room, but as we were only using the hotel to sleep and breakfast at, this really wasn't an issue.

Breakfast was ample, three courses, saw us thru til teatime, saving money on lunch.

The second night we stayed in the Victory Suite. Huge room, with double bed and a double sofa bed for my son. Right on the front of the building with a view of Spinnaker Tower and Warrior. Only snag was the traffic and the train. Not a problem really cos we were so tired after all the sightseeing we slept like logs. Nice big bathroom and hot water by the bathfull.
Again a great breakfast.
Yes, it could do with a lick of paint and some general repairs and replacements, but on the whole it was clean and tidy, just a bit worn.

I would definately stay there again. The location was perfect, and the large breakfast saved us money. Not the cheapest hotel in the area, but the hotel parking saved us money on parking.

Again a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazfaz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Stayed one night to meet an old friend and explore some pubs in the area.
Hotel is quite adequate. Our 3rd floor room was small and very basic, but just what we needed. Bathroom needs brighter lightbulbs!!
Impressive dining room where we had a very substantial breakfast,
Staff fiendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tapyeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 39 in Portsmouth
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
950 reviews
3.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,272 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keppels Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keppels Head

Address: 24-26 The Hard, Portsmouth PO1 3DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range: $77 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Keppels Head 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keppel's Head Hotel (Est 1779) is situated in "The Hard" in Portsmouth. The Hard is a historical area with many connections to the Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, which is only a short stroll from the hotel. Gunwharf Quays is also nearby, which thrives with many shops, restaurants, clubs and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Keppels Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keppels Head Portsmouth
Keppels Head Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing