We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, historic hotel in an ideal location”
Review of Keppels Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Keppels Head
Ranked #31 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Grays, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Old, historic hotel in an ideal location”
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Stayed one night to meet an old friend and explore some pubs in the area.
Hotel is quite adequate. Our 3rd floor room was small and very basic, but just what we needed. Bathroom needs brighter lightbulbs!!
Impressive dining room where we had a very substantial breakfast,
Staff fiendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapyeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    125
    122
    49
    83
See reviews for
57
200
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Upon arrival at 1am, was slightly worried by the scary people outside the hotel; drove off, rang, and a lovely man came out to let us into the car park. Yes, this was a faded hotel; it reminded me of places I used to stay in, but it was comfortable and our room was HUGE. Great for the ferry. I'd use it again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holls2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

The key fob had a Forte logo and I'm sure the carpet in our room was Forte's corporate affair from the 1980s. This fits with the very tired look of the fixtures and fittings of a once grand hotel.
Overall, we were pleased with our stay. The location is excellent and the price represents good value compared to the horrid corporates nearby. Free parking is a boon.
Our twin room had a double bed and a single bed. The TV worked and tea, coffee & biscuits were provided. The water was hot in the shower and the heating worked. Shame we had a view of the municipal car park to the rear.
The staff were polite and the breakfast included in the room rate was okay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wessie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Stayed 2 nights at Keppels Head, the intention of the trip was to visit the historic dockyard. The location couldn't have been any bettter HMS Warrior could be seen from the bedroom window, with excellent views of the harbour.
I must say after reading the reviews I was dreading staying at the hotel but it really wasn't that bad!!! Our room was clean, the carpets a little treadbare and the decor was a bit dated and tired but it was ok. The diningroom was very pleasant and the breakfast menu extensive. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
It seems that a lot of money has been spent on the regeneratrion of the area namely Gunwharf Quays just across the road, but at the rear of the hotel the area is quite run down.
Overall an enjoyable stay, yes the hotel has seen better days and is in need of TLC. With the right investment it could be a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvelineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We arrived and left within 20 minutes! The place was the definition of GRIME! Our room was dirty, the sheets smelt as if they hadn't been washed, we could barely see out of our window from the dirt but the view was something else...stairs and a wall oh and dont forget the DEAD RAT!
Me and my partner and our two friends booked 2 double room. Our room was half the size of our friends and we had paid the same, they had new-ish furniture, both our bathrooms were box size. the 'shower' was a square on the floor, no curtain, if you like haunted house, this is the place for you!
We went down stairs and told the receptionist our problems, he didn't say sorry. I think he expected it! We went and sorted out another hotel at once and on return to get our bags, we noticed that the rat had suddenly came back from the dead and moved itself!! I wish i had taken photos! Well done Keppels Head, Good Work!! I wish i had got

  • Liked — The Dead Rat - commical!
  • Disliked — The Dead Rat
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkerbell55x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Loughborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

On arrival at reception, our first impression was that the Kelppels Head Hotel looks very grand; Where we were greeted by very friendly and helpful young man, who checked us in.....Sadly it was all downhill from there! As we passed through the door to stairway we were greeted with worn and threadbare carpets and badly marked and peeling wallpaper.


Our room had dirty net curtains, the carpet was filthy & the furniture was very dated.

The bed had sheets with holes in, one ragged old blanket that I wouldn’t have put in the dogs basket and a quilt with cigarette burns in it.


The bathroom was like a trip back into the early 70s with an avocado suite. The sink had deep cracks in three places. The bath panel was falling off & had a large fracture which was held together with sellotape. Tiles were cracked and some had fallen off. The door by the toilet was covered in brown marks & the towels did not appear to have been washed from the previous occupant. We were also very disappointed to find that there wasn’t a shower.

Breakfast was disappointing, one very small sausage that was more gristle than meat, one rasher of poor quality bacon and the rest was dried up. The staff however were very helpful and friendly.

We found it to be all rather sad, as with a bit of TLC it could be a great place in a good location, situated as it is, near to the train station and Gun Wharf Keys.

We would defiantly not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless they were desperate! The hotel was originally classed as a two star but upon closer inspection the hotel sign outside had been partly covered over with black tape... All in all this was not an experience that we would wish to repeat..

  • Liked — Freindly & helpful staff
  • Disliked — Grotty bathroom & horrid bedding
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CrystalLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed for three nights during "Meet the Navy" weekend. Keppel's Head is a c1728 historic building. History of the place is terrific. OK the decor is not to everyone's liking but the room , bathroom and bed were clean, the breakfast was excellent, we had "Full English" and one day Kippers. All nicely cooked and well presented in nice surroundings in the Dining Room. Staff could not have been more helpful, excellent service.

References in other reviews to cracked tiles, torn wallpaper etc...at the end of the day it is fellow travellers who do the damage in the first place, admittedly the owner has to carry out the repairs. The hotel was fully booked for the three days we were there and it was our first visit to stay in the hotel. Very Good value for money at £79 per night Double room and breakfast.

Car parking at side of the Hotel. The location of the Hotel is spot on! By tPortsmouth Harbour Railway station, bus terminus, Gunwharf Quays, Historic Dockyard and Royal Dockyard.

All in all, we were out of the hotel most of each day, evening meals out, Chinese, Mexican and English. Plenty of eating places and bars at Gunwharf across the road.

  • Liked — The friendliness/service of the Staff and owner
  • Disliked — Bath, no shower but we should have booked earlier.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.2 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#16 of 38 in Portsmouth
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,496 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keppels Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keppels Head

Property: Keppels Head
Address: 24-26 The Hard, Portsmouth PO1 3DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Keppels Head 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keppel's Head Hotel (Est 1779) is situated in "The Hard" in Portsmouth. The Hard is a historical area with many connections to the Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, which is only a short stroll from the hotel. Gunwharf Quays is also nearby, which thrives with many shops, restaurants, clubs and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Keppels Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keppels Head Portsmouth
Keppels Head Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing