We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst ive ever seen”
Review of Keppels Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Keppels Head
Ranked #28 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worst ive ever seen”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

by far the filthiest hotel i have ever had the misfortune to check into .

i thought places like this had been knocked down 30 years ago. to say it was dated is an understatement. i dont think it had been decorated since the 60 s or 70s.

damp walls , wallpaper hanging off , mold in places . the lift i think is possibly original , barely fits 2 people ad felt like it would drop at any moment.

the whole place was rancid with the smell of people smoking , i was later informed that you can smoke in your rooms . i believe the smokers did what they liked .

there was also an extremely intoxicated middle aged woman sitting on the stairs to the first floor rooms .

this place felt like a badly kept halfway house.

the bar and reception area was also very old and dreary. not what you want to see when you walk into a hotel.

the only positive i could give was the nice young gentleman at reception, he was extremely apologetic as we checked out an hour later and promptly gave us a full refund.

i felt a little sorry for him as i think he has probably had to do this several times before .

so to conclude , in my opinion this place should be either closed down or totally renovated.

the actual place is nothing like the picture s or details given on the website.

in fact , it couldnt be any further from the truth.

at £60 per room per night, the same as the Ibis we checked in to later , i think is laughable.

Room Tip: do not choose this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    124
    121
    47
    81
See reviews for
57
197
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel has had nothing done to it in 30 years, Stayed for 1 night, that was enough. My bathroom was little more than a box in the corner of the room, both the towel rail and the toilet roll holder had fallen off the wall long ago. The shower (no bath) was 2ft sq with a flappy curtain held by half its rings. There was plenty of hot, no cold, hot, scalding then cold water.
Its places like this that make the chain hotels day.
Charming staff and good breakfast

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Southampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Yes I agree it is a little faded and needs some money spent on it but for £70 we got a large room with free parking a few minutes’ walk from Gun Wharf shopping centre and a view to die for. We asked for a sea view room and from our bed we could look out to the Spinnaker Tower all lit up and the other way we could see the HMS Warrior in the Dockyard. We chose to stay one night in this hotel as we had our works Christmas do in Portsmouth Dockyard. It was great as we arrived just after lunch parked easily in their free car park which is enclosed and locked at night. We took a walk down to Gun Wharf in the afternoon then the next morning we went along to Southsea seafront just a few minutes’ drive away. Our room was huge and reasonably clean with all the basic facilities i.e. tea making, flat screen TV and hot, powerful shower what more could you want? The rest of the hotel was OK although rather jaded with an old fashioned lift but it had real character far better that the Ibis we stayed in the year before. The breakfast was excellent plenty of choice and the staff were very helpful. There is a bar in the hotel but we didn't get to use it. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a room close to Gun wharf and the Dockyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgiegirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went to Kepples Head Hotel last week and although some of the reviews I had read were not so good I decided to take a chance. Although we only booked a double room we were given the Victory Suite...It was huge and although I cannot deny that the hotel is a Bit Tired we were very satisfied. It offered excellent value for money compared to othere hotels. The position of the hotel is brilliant. The staff were very friendly. The car park is free and the breakfast was lovely. Nicely presented and plentiful. Its not the Ritz but my husband and I would definately return.

Room Tip: Make sure you are given a slip to put in your car to authorise your parking or you could get clamped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Its all been said before so I won't repeat it - our room was large clean and warm. With a great view.
Brekkie was fine - great location.

Free parking as well - for 70 quid for 2 its a bargain fir shopping at Gunwharf

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stemec2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good points:
The service was brilliant, and the staff were lovely.The breakfast was delicious.

The rooms are very big. I was in Room 4 which was an ensuite room with a double bed at one end of the room and single bed at the other, there was also a new flatscreen TV in my room.

There were tea and coffee making facilities - but there were no biscuits.

The location is great - right opposite Portsmouth harbour train station (but you can't hear the trains) and right opposite Gunwharf - where all the new shops, cinema, restaurants are. You can also see Spinnaker Tower from the hotel.

BAD THINGS:
The hotel is very old, and needs redecorating: peeling wallpaper, fraying carpets and bubbles under the paint on the ceiling in some places.

There was a strong smell of urine in the bathroom.

The bed linen could have been fresher - especially the blanket which I didn't use because it looked gross, so I woke up in the night cold because I didn't want to touch it.

Some of the towels had stains on.

The hotel is huge and has the most interesting layout... I don't know if you have ever seen The Shining, but I did wonder on many occasions whether Jack Nicholson was hiding around one of the corners.

I had to run the shower for 15 mins before I got in to wait for the water to heat up and the shower curtain was too short for the shower tray and the water dripped onto the bathroom floor.

Room Tip: I was in Room 4. I couldn't hear the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Grouopnd floor rooms are old world charm and lift is a nostalgic novelty. A shame tis hotel could not be refurbished it has so much potential. Great position close to ferries and outlet shops good sized carpark and free parking. Bedrooms are a bit 70's had a 2nd floor seafront room which was clean but worn, bed was comfy clean room certainly ok for one or two nights. View out of window superb of HMS Warrior. enjoyed the stay and staff were friendly and breakfast was good. Well heated and cosy I guess front rooms are best bet.

Room Tip: Front rooms high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ship Leopard Hotel
The Ship Leopard Hotel
#7 of 34 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keppels Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keppels Head

Property: Keppels Head
Address: 24-26 The Hard, Portsmouth PO1 3DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Keppels Head 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keppel's Head Hotel (Est 1779) is situated in "The Hard" in Portsmouth. The Hard is a historical area with many connections to the Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, which is only a short stroll from the hotel. Gunwharf Quays is also nearby, which thrives with many shops, restaurants, clubs and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Keppels Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keppels Head Portsmouth
Keppels Head Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing