We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveler rating
431
561
282
99
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
561
282
99
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool two double beds mini bar open plan leisure club leisure centre steam room port solent good size restaurant staff pizza hut minute drive weekend break superior room buffet style following morning breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

We stayed as a family for 2 nights in a family room with 2 double beds. Had a great night sleep, room was clean, bathroom was clean. Good selection at breakfast and the kids had breakfast in bed which they loved. My husband and I used the gym which was lovely and cool with a good range of equipment.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob s, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Dear Melanie S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is nice to see that the hotel ticked the boxes for the whole family.

Kindest regards and we look forward to welcoming you and the family back to the hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

Rob Snaith
General Manager
Robert.snaith@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

Average rooms---------but the gym is dirty , showers and changing room smell and need a good clean.
The steam room needs a scrub as do the floor tiles in many areas, i am not sure why the gym is so run down, several machines are broken ------not a good advert for marriotts, in addition this is the first gym i had a foot infection from

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dave3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob s, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Dear Dave3974,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and please accept my sincerest apologies that your stay did not meet your expectation. Unfortunately the Gym did suffer a few machines challenges over the last week, which thankfully have now all been repaired. The repairs did seem to take longer than usual as we were waiting on parts. I have also passed your comments regarding the cleanliness of the club to the Leisure Manager so that he may address these concerns with his team and rectify where necessary.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Kindest regards

Rob Snaith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018 via mobile

Nice Room though no Wi-fi available even though we are Marriott members and it should be free. We were told it was but every time we tried to access it, it wanted to charge us. Breakfast very good with huge buffet and a chef making fresh omelettes or fried eggs.
The barman was a little annoying as after we returned from our evening out and 20 of us arrived at the bar, he refused to serve us as he wouldn’t accept cash or card, only signing on the room. This required authorisation and returning to reception to do this. Everyone commented on how offish he was the entire time, even after we could sign on the rooms. Really felt like he was doing us a favour instead of us giving him the opportunity to do his job! This needs addressing by management. I travel widely and spend very enjoyable times at the hotel bars but not this one. Let the hotel down. Otherwise a really nice hotel to stay at.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob s, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Dear Moosie57,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your most recent stay in the hotel. Please rest assured that I will be personally investigating the situation regarding the bar service and will pass your comments onto the Food and Beverage team. We pride ourselves on our service and such a lack of hospitality is certainly not acceptable for which I would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel.

Kindest regards

Rob Snaith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

As a family with a small kid, we always prefer to stay in well-known hotel brands, like Marriott. So, we know what should we expect. Maybe, because of the festival time, hotel was really crowded and noisy. Our room was facing to the interior of the hotel building. In green country like England, I found it is unnecessary. Also, because of our kid, we like quite rooms. On the contrary, our room was just above the bar/restaurant.We would like to stay room with a external view. Also, internet was for extra charge. However, staff was so kind. Especially, I would like to say thank you to Arvid from reception. He always tried to talk and help to us about exploring Portsmouth. Restaurant staffs were also friendly.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Oliviaans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Assistant Front Office Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay and I am disappointed to learn that in this instance, your stay did not meet your expectations. I am, however, please to see that you found the staff to be friendly during your stay and would like to assure you that this will be shared with the teams. If you would like to discuss any of the points raised in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

Although we live in Portsmouth it was nice to stay overnight after the wedding. The wedding venue room was decorated nicely and the buffet food was very good, especially the chicken scewers drizzled with chilly sauce, double portion eaten . The rooms were large and comfortable, the only draw back was our room faced the motor way and had to shut the window, even though it was a warm night as the sound of the traffic was very noticable.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nantric22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob s, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2018

Dear nantric22,

Thank you for such a positive review. It is nice to see that all was to your satisfaction.

Kindest regards

Rob Snaith
General Manager
robert.snaith@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews