We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay before travelling to isle of wight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Stayed just a single night before a weeks holiday in isle of wight
Hotel is not near much so you can't really walk anywhere.

Faults
room wasn't ready when we arrived even though we said we would be a bit early (2pm) wasn't ready for 30mins, not long but enough of a wait with a 18 month old keen to run around.

Pool is a bit small and resturant looked a bit stange set all open in foyer but didnt try it as it didnt look child frendly.

Good
Staff were nice and room was clean and reasonable size.

Usual Marriott facilities and bedding good.

Room service was only warm and took quite a while.

Overall it was a ok location with good facilities. Bought the stay on points so i am not sure what the rate is like.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sunseeker06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,228 - 1,234 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2008

We have just returned from a short break at the Portsmouth Marriott and like the previous couple of reviews have experienced some admin problems with the hotel which in our case were rather disturbing.
On arrival only one of the two rooms that we booked were ready, it wasn't a problem as we all went to the one room and the receptionist told us that the keys for the second would be with us in half an hour. An hour came and went so I phoned down to reception to find out what was happening. She knew nothing of what I was talking about and had to go and find out - so the message had obviously not been passed on. To be fair, she did come to the room very quickly and we checked into our room shortly after, so we put this down to one of those things.
We had only been in the room for around 15 minutes when the fire alarm went off. In true Brit style we all just stood around for a few minutes wondering what to do before we realised it was the real thing as staff were ordering guests out of the restuarant and pool. We all duly congregated in the car park and asked to stand in groups dependent on which floor our rooms were. A member of staff then called out a register to check which guests were present - and this is the worrying bit - our 2 rooms were not even on the list so we could have been trapped in our rooms and Marriott would not have had a clue we were there!
We mentioned this to the receptionist on checking out and were told that there were 2 lists and we would have been on the 2nd. as the 1st was done in a rush. This blatantly was not the case as we stood in the same group for the entire duration of the evacuation and a second register was never called. Additionally our neighbours who we chatted to, had checked in even later than us and they were on the first register. There is definately something amiss with systems at this hotel.
With regards to the hotel itself, the rooms are lovely, nicely furnished with very comfortable beds with lots of squashy pillows and cushions and ours had an inside balcony area which overlooked the bar, restuarant and swimming pool. The patio doors are soundly glazed so you can't hear any noise when the doors are shut. Unfortunately the same can't be said of the inter connecting door - we could hear our neighbours on that side quite clearly, particularly when the baby woke up at 5.30am!
The breakfast was average - omlette was rubbery and tastless and all the children left their scrambled egg as they said it tasted funny. I am glad it was included in our room rate as I still believe that £14.95 is a complete rip off.
Overall our stay was not of the high standards you expect from a Marriott - disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Well, where do I start? I stayed at the Portsmouth Marriott hotel on the night of the 26/7/08. My friend and I were guests at a friends wedding and including our room, there were six bedrooms in total booked; one for the bride and groom and five other rooms for family and friends.

During the day, our room and another was checked in early as we were not part of the wedding party (i.e not bridesmaids, ushers, parents etc). The other four rooms were checked in in the morning by the groom's mother, paid for with confirmation received and luggage was left with instructions that as the wedding reception was being in another establishment, these rooms would be used after the reception was over. It was all agreed by the staff at the Marriott.

I bet you can tell where this is going? Low and behold, the bride and groom arrived at the hotel around 12:20am at which the other guests arrived approx 15mins later. As we all walked in towards the reception, our friend (the bride) was visibally upset as the hotel had given away their room!!!

Out of the four outstanding rooms, only one standard room was left in the hotel. Even though all the rooms were paid for, had been booked for a year and confirmation received - the hotel had given away three rooms, including the superior room for the bride and groom.

Their reason for giving away these rooms were vaired and plentiful. (1) Nowhere on the system did it say they were bride and groom - LIE!! The mother of the groom checked them all in the morning and explained the circumstances. In addition, she had emailed them in the months before to make them aware (she still has proof of these emails). (2) They hadn't checked in - LIE!!! Refer to point 1, but also, at which point during the day did they want the bride and groom to check in, I think they were busy getting married and having the reception!!!.

The Marriott's solution was to send the them all to a hotel 30mins drive away, essentially splitting the wedding party. Albeit, the rooms and taxi's were getting paid for but this was simply not the point. They had ruined the bride and grooms wedding night and upset their guests - it just wasn't fair!!

In the end, only one room was taken at the other hotel (the chief bridesmaid and her husband opted for it). The other two rooms were not taken out of disgust and they went home. The Bride and groom ended up staying in the bridesmaid's standard room, not a nice wedding night!!

I was aware that there were two other wedding parties staying in the hotel that day that held receptions in the hotel and I believe that my friends were overlooked in priority of these wedding parties.

What annoyed me the most was that at no point did the staff apologise for THEIR mistake and consequently, none of us will EVER stay in a Marriott hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Blade79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJMPortsmouth, Executive Assistant at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2008

In response to the posted review, it was truly unfortunate that we were unable to accommodate the guests. However, we took all due diligence in sourcing and providing alternative accommodation, which was paid for in full by the Portsmouth Marriott including all taxi transfers and full breakfasts.

We have discussed the above directly with the parties involved, and the appropriate levels of compensation have been provided, with our sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

As others have written the mariott isn't much to look at from the outside, however the hotel rooms are very nice, I believe the hotel has had a recent overhaul and the rooms reflect this! Comfy beds, nice decor and good in room facilities (Mini Bar, TV, Internet, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities etc). Our room also had a decent view across to the solent.

The location isn't great if you're looking to see a bit of Portsmouth, you'd definately need a car or a decent knowledge of local buses! The hotel is however easy to locate on arrival into PM and there are local amenities should you need them (Tesco, various fast food outlets, pub).

Food was good at the Mariott, the breakfast was plentiful and well priced, dinner was ok too with a wide choice on the menu, we ordered room service which was prompt and tasty.

The only real problem we had with the Mariott was that on checkout the hotel informed us that we were not on a prepaid rate (after reserving the room through lastminute.com). After a bit of confusion it appeared we actually were and so had been charged twice. It then took me until the 27th July to get a full refund (stayed on the 8th) which was really inconvinient. Because of this mistake I'd be reluctant to stay at a Mariott chain hotel again.

However that said, the PM Mariott is a good base for seeing Hampshire, and I'd especially recommend staying if you're catching a ferry the next day etc!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nick_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Despite looking like a slit-your -wrists 70s tower block, the inside of the Marriott has been nicely refurbished, making for a very comfortable stay. I had told the online concierge (who met all our requests) that it was my husband's birthday, and they left a lovely card and big bowl of delicious fresh fruit in the room for our arrival.

My husband, who does some work for a hotel group, was really impressed with the quality of the bedroom refurb. The beds were just as comfortable as advertised, and the pillows were so good we bought some! Rather stupidly, we waited until we got home and then bought them off the shopmarriott website, and so had to pay carriage!

The bathrooms are small, but have good quality toiletries, and lots of nice white towels.

Breakfast (the only meal we ate in the hotel) was really, really good (and this is coming from someone whose last hotel stay was at Le St Geran!!). Everything you could possibly want, served by friendly, efficient staff of all nationalities, who were all happy to both serve AND smile at my children!!

The pool area is closing now for a refurb, although we really enjoyed using it and the children loved it - small but enough room for lots of fun. The jacuzzi right by it meant I could sit and watch them whilst I relaxed - not always possible.

We ate out down on the waterfront, but also at the nearby Pizza Hut (which you may see out of your window), and picked up some extra snacks at the equally close Dunkin' Donuts and Tesco stores.

We had a really great weekend away, and at the bargain 'stay Friday night' rate of £99 p.r.p.n. for all four of us B&B, we can really recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Spinnaker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

I stayed for one night in early June. The hotel has no great presence from the outside but I found the check-in was good and despite a little foreboding when walking the rather dismal corridor to my room, the room itself was superb - nice decoration, great bedlined and really comfortable bed and a very clean bathroom with everything you need. Next morning the breakfast was also great - not the usual runny scrambled eggs and greasy bacon but just like home with freshly fried eggs and meaty bacon. This hotel absolutely hit the spot for an overnight visit. I'll certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveller-writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

stay at marriott hotels a lot and am always satisfied with the standard of accomodation. Love the beds and bedding, they are SO comfortable. The Marriott Portsmouth is ideally situated if you want to visit Gunwarf keys for shopping and socialising and visiting the Spinekar Tower. A car would be needed to get around, My only grumble about this stay was the breakfast, even the waiter was apologising for such bad organisation. We had to wait an age to get a table, and then had to wait even longer to get knifes and forks and plates. The buffet selection was not up to normal standards.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank luv2holidayinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
988 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Address: Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO6 4SH, England (Formerly Marriott Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $94 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsmouth Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott hotel in Portsmouth, UK, providing easy access to major routes and airports, a convenient location near popular sights, like the Port Solent Marina,Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays Outlet shopping and historic Naval Dockyard. The hotel offers an ideal setting that makes business trips successful and leisure travel a pleasure. Sample the exciting, fresh flavors of our new Sealevel Restaurant or relax with a Starbucks coffee in our Sealevel Lounge. You can stay fit in our health club or dip into the refreshing indoor pool. And when planning a business or social event, you'll find 785 square meters of impressive Portsmouth, UK, hotel function space, complemented by expert catering and audiovisual services, ample parking and welcoming staff. The greenest hotel in Portsmouth, UK, has been transformed with the completion of its meeting, bedroom and leisure renovations. Enjoy stylish, spacious guest rooms offering a sleek and contemporary space to relax and recharge, with plush bedding and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portsmouth Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing