We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of this type of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best of this type of hotel”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

For a large chain hotel with all the facilities you need its fine. So its a conference hotel really but I did not feel uncomfortable as a sole traveller. The pool and gym area are by the main bar and restaurant but screened off. The room was quite large and clean. There is plenty of parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turnthepageover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comment and please come again soon !!

Best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    480
    246
    87
    47
See reviews for
318
430
31
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The rooms at this hotel are amazing and so comfy,really luxurious modern and fabulous breakfast.i have hosted our Christmas parties here for the last five years and they are truly excellent.julia is a great organiser and helps meet all your requirements.we had 100 guests in the heritage suite and were served a perfect meal followed by a band,the best place to hold your functions.i have also been to weddings and christenings here and again first class service and food.highly recommend this hotel.it also has a lovely pool and facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chatsworthpalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow, what great feedback, Thank Youand I am pleased that you enjoyed it again this year.
I will pass on your comments to Julia, she is a great asset to our company.

We hope to see you again soon,

Best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Impressed all round by just about everything.
Only downsides were glum breakfast waiter of very few words and lack of bath anti-slip mat. Waiter with very dirty shoes could have done better by telling us that apart from good choice and range of buffet breakfast items we could also order some specially cooked dishes. Rest of staff had some cheery sparkle which you would hope for at this grade of hotel.
Lack of bath anti-slip bath mat could have reduced fall risk while climbing in and out, and standing up, in bath while trying to use awkward shower head. Would have been nicer to have shower cabinet. Room was quite plush and quiet.
Dinners were tasty but perhaps pricey - £13 for fish and chips and £11 for beefburger and chips?
Has spa/fitness centre with swim pool which are used by quite a lot of non-residents.

Room Tip: Ask waiting staff if, apart from what you see at breakfast buffet, other dishes are available before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rover099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. We are planning a bathroom renovation hopefully in 2014 and this will be addressed. I have asked my F&B manager to ensure that our unform policies are adhered to.
Our health club is very poular and we have over 440 loval members.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here on the 22/12/2013, as we broke up our journey from France to Yorkshire.

Hotel was clean, staff welcoming, and the room spacious, and the bathroom was a good size too, and very clean.

Slept very well, as in my opinion, this hotel has the best beds in Portsmouth, and a good size!!

Beats both the Hilton in Portsmouth, and Southampton, both lacking in good quality accommodation, as they look tired. This hotel bucks that trend.

Breakfast was mediocre though, but then again clean and welcoming.

I recommend this hotel to other travellers, on this trip it gets a good 8/10

Room Tip: I always ask for a non connecting room, thereby avoiding a noise from the other room, unless of cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbhanapsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thnak you for staying with us and your nice feedback. I am also glad that Mr. Marriott decided to change all beds in the world at once, so we all have the same beds wherever you stay.

We hope to see you again soon in any of our hotels for a great night sleep.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London / East Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our first time at this hotel but having previously used all the several brands of Marriott we were confident that we would not be disappointed and we weren't !
This is a well maintained hotel ran professionally from the friendly welcome to the efficient check-out. Pristine room and facilities, courteous personnel, and very good value for what is offered.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your great comments and this is exactly what we want to be know for. We hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

On first impressions when we got inside, was good. Quick check in, and we were upgraded to a free breakfast as we have lots of Marriott points. We didn't use the leisure centre, but it looked really good. Rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was just yummy, good quality food that was really well cooked and plenty of choice. I would recommend a stay here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 561Jkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we love to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights for a little break away from it all. Lovely hotel. Lovely pool area, lovely rooms, lovely breakfast! Just lovely! We visited the area during our stay, historic dockyard, went to the Isle of Wight for the day and a bit of retail therapy on our last day! Will look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for you Lovely feedback and we would love to see you back soon !!

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
982 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
866 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Property: Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Address: Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO6 4SH, England (Formerly Marriott Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#12 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsmouth Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott hotel in Portsmouth, UK, providing easy access to major routes and airports, a convenient location near popular sights, like the Port Solent Marina,Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays Outlet shopping and historic Naval Dockyard. The hotel offers an ideal setting that makes business trips successful and leisure travel a pleasure. Sample the exciting, fresh flavors of our new Sealevel Restaurant or relax with a Starbucks coffee in our Sealevel Lounge. You can stay fit in our health club or dip into the refreshing indoor pool. And when planning a business or social event, you'll find 785 square meters of impressive Portsmouth, UK, hotel function space, complemented by expert catering and audiovisual services, ample parking and welcoming staff. The greenest hotel in Portsmouth, UK, has been transformed with the completion of its meeting, bedroom and leisure renovations. Enjoy stylish, spacious guest rooms offering a sleek and contemporary space to relax and recharge, with plush bedding and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portsmouth Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing