We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisey room on 2nd floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Noisey room on 2nd floor”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in the Summer 2012 before we took a ferry to France. We were allocated a room on the 2nd floor (I think it was room 210?) which was at the end of the corridor. I had the worst night sleep ever in a hotel! It was the noisest hotel room I have ever stayed in. I did ask for a higher floor room when we were told we were allocated a room on floor 2. The check-in receptionist said the hotel was fully booked with one glance at the computer without touching any buttons!

Anyway, the reasons for the noise were:
1) our room overlooks the back garden and there was an event in the function room one night and people were walking in and out of the connecting back garden, drinking and chatting loudly in the back garden.

2) The end of the corridor overlooks a whole lot of machinery which I presume was the air-conditioning units etc. I could hear the machines humming noise all night.

3) I could hear the traffic at the nearby motorway.

So if you are a light sleeper, get a room on the higher floors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowy838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and your feedback and we apologise for any inconvenience. I understand it is from the summer of 2012 and unfortunately I can't do any investigations anymore.
Our summers are very busy and it can be that when the hotel is fully booked we cannot move guests to other rooms.
For your next visit I can recommend that you reserve one of our gallery rooms overlooking the hotel lobby. These rooms have double doors and glazing and are very quiet.
We have asked our owners for to replace all our windows for better insulation for temperature control and noise reduction and we are waiting for their approval. Hopefully this will happen soon. Please let me know when you are coming next and will ensure we will reserve you a quiet room.

Best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    473
    231
    83
    46
See reviews for
307
419
31
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was my second stay, visiting family. As before the hotel was very comfortable indeed. The staff went out of their way to help us. Excellent fitness facilities and good food at reasonable prices in the restaurant. Very good wifi. Couldn't ask for more. A wonderful selection of pillows! Hotel is convenient to public buses to town and there is a huge supermarket nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNE43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel again and for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Since April 2013, we now offer 24 hours high speed internet for free in our lobby and restaurant and have increased our bandwith to 50MB and we can offer you a download speed up to 35MB in our lobby !!

come and try it out again.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott Port Solent over the Easter period, myself, my husband, 8 year old son and his friend. Checking in was really quick, staff very friendly and professional, we asked for a change of room as the one they allocated us was over looking the pool which we really did not want, this was sorted straight away with no fuss. Room was clean and tidy, 2 double beds which were so comfortable, complimentary teas and coffees and hot chocolate, mini fridge, complimentary toiletries. Great location for access to Portsmouth and the marina at Port Solent. The kids spent quite a bit of time in the pool which was great. The hotel had an Easter egg hunt with free sweets and eggs for the kids which they loved. Breakfast was buffet style, cooked, continental, fruits, cold meats, pretty much everything with staff providing pots of tea or coffee. We managed to leave some of the kids clothing in the cupboard which the hotel returned by post free of charge. The staff really do make all the difference at this hotel.

Room Tip: There are a number of rooms that are within an enclosed area overlooking the pool and restaurant, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Drear Guest,

thank you for your great feedback and it is nice to hear that you appreciated the extra efforts we made during Easter and we try to make it nice for the whole family. We have worked hard as a team on our service, since we believe that that will make the difference for guests and will choose hotels with the best Trip Advisor rankings, besides a nice product.
We hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely hotel with nice very big and comfy rooms. Both room and bathroom were very clean!
I personally loved the gym again very clean and quiet large with all type of equipemnt to have a proper workkout. SPA area is rather small - they do not allow kids in the pool after 7:30pm though you can relax in the jacuzzi , pool and they do have nice size sauna and steam room. The pool area is open until 10pm - I enjoyed this area a lot because it was very quiet, very few people when we were there.

the restaurant is to my opinion the downside of this place together with the breakfast.
Restaurant is open until 10pm - It is quiet expensive seen also the quality - not very good.
the only thing i enjoed at the restaurant was the creme brulee, it was delicious!

I did not like the breakfast at all! breakfast table was bit messy and croissant were not very fresh. One thing I did not expect nor like it was at our arrival at the breakfast place we were attended by a lady who assigned us a table , immediately after she asked what we would like to drink (you would think that they do make the drinks for you being part of the breakfast which was included to the room charge). We siad cappuccino and latte.
After couple of minutes our Large cup of drinks arrived followed by a bill!!?? i do not think this is fair. First of all, they should be asking and warn you that these drinks are charged secondly they did not even ask us the size , simply they decided to bring us the largest one and i recon the most expensive one.
I was honestly disappointed by this because until the morning my stay had been nice and pleasent. I think that since breakfast is included these drinks should be given for free or at least customers should be advised of the charges.

Apart from this, I did enjoy my stay at this hotel. Reception stuff was very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally_BT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback and I have discussed the Starbucks speciality coffee procedure with our Restaurant team. We have Starbucks filter coffee for breakfast and this is served free and included in our breakfast prices. The speciality coffees should have been explained better to you when you ordered and you could have then made the decision.
We have worked hard on our food quality the last few years and received a AA Rosette the last 3 years. I am sorry you did not enjoy your selection except for the Creme Brule. All our food is prepared fresh and made inhouse, the same goes for the croissants in the morning.

Hope to see you again soon,

best regards,

BJ Schreuder, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Initially on arriving at the Marriott Hotel , the impression was good . Easy to find ,plenty of parking and a smart looking hotel . From then on it was down hill . We had to wait for conversation to finish at reception before we could check in ,we were told to key in our car registration number and told that we had to pay for the parking for our two night stay . The room was ok , two double beds ,lovely white linen ,bathroom a little dated but clean enough . However for the prices that are charged a little better would be expected. Dismay however there was hardly any natural light to the room , if the light was switched on then that meant the curtains needed to be closed as the room was in full view from the enclosed aircraft hangar style dining area ,bar and reception . Not good , make sure when you book you have a room with an outer window .,otherwise you will spend your stay in the gloom . The restaurant and bar , a disaster. , the pool is not enclosed just screened , as a consequence , there is a hint of chlorine in the air , and the sound of splashing and children squealing in the pool . It gives a cold uncomfortable feel to the restaurant . There is no atmosphere at all , why is there not a proper restaurant ? .the food over priced and mediocre . It was convenient to stay there for the purpose of our visit and that is all . We will not return in a hurry . Back to the parking ,I found a leaflet in the reception area that stated they provided complimentary parking . I pointed this out to the receptionist , an aghast look crossed her face , she disappeared for a while and came back and told me our parking fee would be waived . Work that one out !.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an outer facing window .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feeback and your fair comments. The gallery rooms you have stayed in are very popular with families, since they are very quiet and overlook the lobby and swimming pool. Because of the way the lobby and restaurant are attached to the main building there is little natural day light.
Our swimming pool and jaccuzzi both do not use chloride, but operate a salt-electrolysis system. All that is required is a very small amount of salt in the pool and this is changed to a low dosis other type of low odour concentrated choloride. The PH levels are concontrolled by a newly installed CO2 system.
The pool is open in the lobby and at weekends and half term we have a lot of families with children and the noise levels are higher, but we ask the parents, not to swim with children after 19.30.
The parking is charged with a very small amount due to the fact that ferry passengers, cruise guests, and local business guests were using this for free and we did not have sufficient space for conference and hotel guests.
The magazine you found was from last year and should have been removed from the lobby area.
Again, thank you for your feeback and we hope that you will consider us again for a next visit to Portsmouth on a quiet weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lovely hotel but then it is a Marriott. Got given a birthday card, bottle of cava plus strawberries in the room on arrival to wish me a happy birthday which was a nice touch by the Guest Relations Manager. Very comfortable room with nice clean bathroom. Hotel seems fairly new. The only things were didnt like much was the restaurant was very open and right at the front of the hotel beside Reception and the pool wasnt very big and again was in front of the pool/spa reception which made it feel like you were being watched by everybody. Personally I would re-design that area of the hotel. There is a Beefeater a short walk from the hotel which isnt that nice but they did try and the staff were good. In fairness I think they struggled that night because it was so busy for some reason.

Room Tip: High up for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBuffYateley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had two nights here, quality smart hotel in a business park on outskirts of Portsmouth, thats a bit of a drawback if you are visiting Portsmouth for dockyards etc, but theres plenty of buses a short walk away. Efficient, friendly reception, nice big room, very comfy bed, good shower, slight moan we were on the 6th floor but could still hear people in the smoking shelter below making a racket at midnight. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice, fruit, cereals, yogurts ( including my fave black cherry!!!!!!!!!!), and a good selection of hot food, all breakfast staff very pleasant and cheerful. Good hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincolnhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your great feedback and comments. I will copy this to our night team to ensure they make more rounds and check our 2 smoking shelters more frequent between 23.00 and 01.00 AM.
Please visit also Port Solent, this is a great little marina with loads of restauarnts in walking distance from the hotel and by car is is only 10 minutes to most of attractions in Portsmouth.

hope to see you again soon,

BJ Schreuder
Gneeral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
4.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Property: Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Address: Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO6 4SH, England (Formerly Marriott Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#12 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsmouth Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott hotel in Portsmouth, UK, providing easy access to major routes and airports, a convenient location near popular sights, like the Port Solent Marina,Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays Outlet shopping and historic Naval Dockyard. The hotel offers an ideal setting that makes business trips successful and leisure travel a pleasure. Sample the exciting, fresh flavors of our new Sealevel Restaurant or relax with a Starbucks coffee in our Sealevel Lounge. You can stay fit in our health club or dip into the refreshing indoor pool. And when planning a business or social event, you'll find 785 square meters of impressive Portsmouth, UK, hotel function space, complemented by expert catering and audiovisual services, ample parking and welcoming staff. The greenest hotel in Portsmouth, UK, has been transformed with the completion of its meeting, bedroom and leisure renovations. Enjoy stylish, spacious guest rooms offering a sleek and contemporary space to relax and recharge, with plush bedding and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Portsmouth Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing