We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really handy for a shopping trip to Portsmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersGold level
Bexley
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Really handy for a shopping trip to Portsmouth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here for the weekend with my friend. We were in Portsmouth to go shopping at gun wharf quay. Last year we did the same thing and stayed at the Holiday Inn express in gunwharf quay. Even though the Marriott was a cab drive away we liked it better. It was a nice welcoming hotel. The room was lovely with 2 great big double beds. We only eat at the hotel for breakfast, which was in nice well stocked buffet. the hotel has got a spa andouille, but we didn't actually use it as we were too tired from shopping. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy'sgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    469
    228
    81
    46
See reviews for
304
415
29
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is in very strange place but, provided you have a car, it is very easy to get around. The locaction looks a little like an industrial/retail park, which is a little off putting, but it does mean really easy access to the motorway and roads into the city. We went to the Historic Dockyard and it was a very simple journey. It is a strangley boxy looking Marriott which I was told, and I can believe, had been built as a Holiday Inn. However, Marriott have done an amazing job with the interior which makes the bar and restaurant, which could be a bit barn like, look really very trendy with clever lighting and appropriately a nautical theme.
As is typical of Marriott the service was really good in all areas. I was particularly impressed that when I asked for any green vegetable to replace the red cabbage stated for my dish, a delightful green vegetable medley presented to me. A nice, caring touch on an evening when they were clearly catering for a large Christmas party in the function room.
A little tip for anyone thinking of visiting particularly with children, there is an option of going to a number of other restaurants in the evening (including Pizza Hut and a pub) which are just 5 mins walk away.
Overall a good stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyStamper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments on the hotel and just to let know that the location was selected due to the businesses around and close to the hotel 30 years ago. The IBM UK headquaters are only 5 minutes walking away and during the week business people stay with us working all close to the M27 motorway and is very convenient for them, so they don't have to go and out Portsmouth all the time. We run the highest weekday occupancy in Portsmouth.
Leisure people love th stay with us since with the motorways close by, they can reach various attractions quickly and yes, you are right, they would need a car. Although there is a bus service from close to the hotel to Portsmouth city center and Gunwharf Outlet shopping.

hope to see you again soon and a Merry Christmas to you and the family

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Go to a Hilton or Marriott, the rooms will be the same worldwide..

This Marriott is an odd one though, the reception and bar stink of chlorine the second you walk in because of the pool area only having a partition panel to separate the two parts.

Ive stayed here 4 times and ive found each time that the breakfast service is just a complete mess, with inattentive staff and the oddest seating layout I've ever experienced..

The other issue is that the hotel has conference halls which often cater for weddings (2 or 3 at a time) which seems to attract a fairly intimidating guest list after calling in the locals of Portsmouth, and after 11pm they all descend into the smoking area, directly outside the guest rooms, which for a non smoker is just annoying

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjpkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I would like to let you that we are investing in a new pool filtration system works on CO2 and this iliminates the use of Chloride for the pool and jaccuzzi for ever. I have also send you an E-mail to contact me with your contact details so my Food Service Manager can contact you with regards to our breakfast service. I have send a note to our Night Team to increase their controll on the 2 smoking area's outside the hotel.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed on Friday and Saturday night as we wanted to visit the Historic Dockyard. The staff on Reception were very helpful and polite and made us feel welcome. Our room was of a high standard and spotlessly clean. On the Friday evening we ate in the hotel and the meal although slightly expensive was quite acceptable. Breakfast, a buffet, was excellent with a huge choice overseen by very attentive staff. We really cannot fault this hotel except for the £15 charge for Wi-Fi which does seem excessive. Many cafes, restaurants and hotels now offer free Wi-Fi. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richrun24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your great feedback and we are happy that you were pleased with our food quality, service and cleanliness. The charges for the internet unfortunately are still there, due to the secure option we provide. Our system gives your device a secure AP address and can not be accessed by other users. We could install a free service, but it would not be secure our business and leisure guests. Marriott is working on a new solution and hopefully this will be in place next year. We do offer a one hour free service on our ground floor per day. Perhaps you could use this when you visit us next.

your sincerely,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

we stayed at the hotel which to be fair was clean and modern, the staff were very friendly. our first experience was the charge £15 for internet and other devices. we couldn't add the devices and they put us through to a call centre overseas and charged us for the call. i did complain and it was taken off the bill. we had dinner sat 17th nov in the sealevel restaurant, clam chowder tasteless and gluepy, my daughters king prawns not much better. Two rib eye steaks overcooked and chewy and expensive. I would not eat there again and as it is in the middle of nowhere you have little choice to go outside. I did complain to the reception as it is supposed to be a AA rosette restaurant, that definately needs to be reveiwed, they did say many people complain about it - so why don't they do something about it. would not stay there again because of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I have investigated your concearns and the feedback on our food quality. The Clam Chowder recipe you are referring to has been on our menu since the day we opened in March 2009 and has been loved by our guests and we have never changed the recipe. You ordered 2 medium sirloin steaks and they were served medium to well, we can only apologise for this. My team have offered you to replace the steaks and cook new ones, which you declined. To apologise we gave 2 glasses of wine. Our steaks are off very good quality and served in all Marriott Hotels in the UK. We do apologise that you found them tough and chewy, but with a medium to well steak, this can happen.
The internet service we provide is supported by iBahn and they offer a toll free service. We just updated our telephone system and it did not recognise this 0800 number and therefore you were charged. We have made changes to our system and we have refunded you the charge.
We appreciate your feedback and we would like to thank you for putting it on Trip Advisor so it gives me a chance to review, investigate and improve our services.

yours sincerely,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I spent four nights at the Portsmouth Marriott and found the service and facilities here excellent.
My room, gym, sauna and Sealevel Restaurant all clean and well maintained.
Restaurant food was excellent by night and breakfast offered a great variety in the mornings.
The staff were polite and very helpful.
Location is outside town a bit and near a busy motorway intersection and therefore not much walking to be had of an evening however, all routes are easily accessible by car which suited me.
I look forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlyoneJimboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback and comments on the quality of our food for dinner and breakfast. We have been working hard on this.

We hope to see you again soon

your sincerely,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for a short notice weekend break to cheer us up after our dog died. The hotel was lovely and well located to visit the local area. The only reason I didn't make it a 5 rating was due to the fact that they charge £3 nightly for parking which I think is a little unnecessary. There are pay machines for non-guests to use and so it would not affect others if hotel guests did not pay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
4.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Property: Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Address: Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO6 4SH, England (Formerly Marriott Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#12 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsmouth Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott hotel in Portsmouth, UK, providing easy access to major routes and airports, a convenient location near popular sights, like the Port Solent Marina,Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays Outlet shopping and historic Naval Dockyard. The hotel offers an ideal setting that makes business trips successful and leisure travel a pleasure. Sample the exciting, fresh flavors of our new Sealevel Restaurant or relax with a Starbucks coffee in our Sealevel Lounge. You can stay fit in our health club or dip into the refreshing indoor pool. And when planning a business or social event, you'll find 785 square meters of impressive Portsmouth, UK, hotel function space, complemented by expert catering and audiovisual services, ample parking and welcoming staff. The greenest hotel in Portsmouth, UK, has been transformed with the completion of its meeting, bedroom and leisure renovations. Enjoy stylish, spacious guest rooms offering a sleek and contemporary space to relax and recharge, with plush bedding and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portsmouth Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing