We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sealevel restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersGold level
Leigh, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sealevel restaurant”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

we stayed at the hotel which to be fair was clean and modern, the staff were very friendly. our first experience was the charge £15 for internet and other devices. we couldn't add the devices and they put us through to a call centre overseas and charged us for the call. i did complain and it was taken off the bill. we had dinner sat 17th nov in the sealevel restaurant, clam chowder tasteless and gluepy, my daughters king prawns not much better. Two rib eye steaks overcooked and chewy and expensive. I would not eat there again and as it is in the middle of nowhere you have little choice to go outside. I did complain to the reception as it is supposed to be a AA rosette restaurant, that definately needs to be reveiwed, they did say many people complain about it - so why don't they do something about it. would not stay there again because of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I have investigated your concearns and the feedback on our food quality. The Clam Chowder recipe you are referring to has been on our menu since the day we opened in March 2009 and has been loved by our guests and we have never changed the recipe. You ordered 2 medium sirloin steaks and they were served medium to well, we can only apologise for this. My team have offered you to replace the steaks and cook new ones, which you declined. To apologise we gave 2 glasses of wine. Our steaks are off very good quality and served in all Marriott Hotels in the UK. We do apologise that you found them tough and chewy, but with a medium to well steak, this can happen.
The internet service we provide is supported by iBahn and they offer a toll free service. We just updated our telephone system and it did not recognise this 0800 number and therefore you were charged. We have made changes to our system and we have refunded you the charge.
We appreciate your feedback and we would like to thank you for putting it on Trip Advisor so it gives me a chance to review, investigate and improve our services.

yours sincerely,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    491
    249
    87
    48
See reviews for
329
434
31
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I spent four nights at the Portsmouth Marriott and found the service and facilities here excellent.
My room, gym, sauna and Sealevel Restaurant all clean and well maintained.
Restaurant food was excellent by night and breakfast offered a great variety in the mornings.
The staff were polite and very helpful.
Location is outside town a bit and near a busy motorway intersection and therefore not much walking to be had of an evening however, all routes are easily accessible by car which suited me.
I look forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlyoneJimboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback and comments on the quality of our food for dinner and breakfast. We have been working hard on this.

We hope to see you again soon

your sincerely,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOW
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for a short notice weekend break to cheer us up after our dog died. The hotel was lovely and well located to visit the local area. The only reason I didn't make it a 5 rating was due to the fact that they charge £3 nightly for parking which I think is a little unnecessary. There are pay machines for non-guests to use and so it would not affect others if hotel guests did not pay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed over following a charity ball. Rooms standard Marriott, but clean and tidy. All of the staff - reception, bar and restaurant were pleasant and helpful.My only issue is the poor breakfast which was served buffet style, but the sausages were cheap and cooked only on one side, the tea was poor and you had to wait for eggs. Overall, not good value for £100.

Room Tip: Ask to face outside not in....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your great feedback on the charity ball and your comments. I have shared them with my team. We apologise for the sausages not being cooked evenly, this should not have happened. We do serve a high Marriott UK Spec and I did not receive any negative feedback on our sausages before. We have been very busy that morning and we only produce small quantities of food each time to guarantee the freshness. We need to be prepared better for larger volumes and have shares this with the kitchen team. Again thank you for the feedback and hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Because I work frequently in Portsmouth and do not live nearby, this has become a regular haunt. The rooms are predictable, but because that implies modern, comfortable, clean, well-appointed and spacious that's not bad. Food quality and variety is quite good, but be prepared for 'hotel prices', except if breakfast is inclusive. Unfortunately Marriotts never offer a 'real ale' option in the bar, and 'hotel prices' apply again. These weaknesses are alleviated by having a couple of other places within easy walking distance for food and drink, and an abundant variety within a short drive.
The plus factor is the staff. I admit to a biased view as a 'regular', but their efforts to care for the customer were apparent when I started visiting back in March.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your great feedback and we are pleased that you are happy with the service we offer. We believe this will make the difference in Portsmouth. I will discuss the choice of an Ale with our Regional Office, since it is not part of the Brand Standards.

Hope to see you again soon,

yours sincerely,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Hotel is nice/pleasant, staff are friendly, welcoming and on many occasions exceed expectations!

Bad points:
The jacuzzi seriously needs fixing!
No one seems to know how to pour a guinness
And finally, the food: little over priced, some portions can be very measly, and on occasion the quality can be very very very questionable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripStanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your great feedback on our team and the hotel in general.
We did receive a AA Rosette for our food quality since we started we our Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge and could you please let me know what dishes you had and where we can improve. I am happy to share this with my Head Chef. at bj.schreuder@marriott.com
We have re-trained all the bar associates on how to pour a Guinness and the Jacuzzi was broken due to a pump failure which will be replaced in the last week of November together with all electrics and sanitation equipment.

Hope to see you again soon,

yours sincerely,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed one night to celebrate my partners sons 13th birthday. Daniel at reception was very helpful when checking in, he assisted to all our requests and offered to make our birthday dinner in the Sea Lounge restaurant special. Dinner was very good,our waitress was Caroline. A big thankyou to her as she was amazing. Her service was faultless and again, she assisted to all our requests, however awkward we was being. Thanks Caroline!!
We had the chilli and seafood pasta which was delicious. After dinner Caroline brought out a complimentary birthday cake for the birthday boy!!
The room was nice, comfortable and modern. once we arrived at the room, complementary drinks were delivered to the room which was a nice surprise. We had 2 king size beds in the room. Very comfortable with crisp linen, the room has a fully stocked mini bar!
We took the kids swimming which they enjoyed. All the facilities are clean and modern.
We had breakfast in the morning which was buffett style full english breakfast, cereals, breads, juices and pastries. Very nice.
Overall a good stay and made extra special by the few members of staff that assisted us. I would definitely stay again. Only a 10 minutes drive from Gunwharf Quays for the designer shopping and a 2 minute drive to Port Solent which is very pretty waterside location with restaurants and a few shops. A very large Tesco is also a few mintues walk from the Hotel which is handy and a few chain restaurants adjacent to the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ani a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your great comments and I will pass it on to my team. I am sure they will enjoy the feedback as well.

Hope to see you again soon,

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
996 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Property: Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Address: Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO6 4SH, England (Formerly Marriott Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#12 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsmouth Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott hotel in Portsmouth, UK, providing easy access to major routes and airports, a convenient location near popular sights, like the Port Solent Marina,Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays Outlet shopping and historic Naval Dockyard. The hotel offers an ideal setting that makes business trips successful and leisure travel a pleasure. Sample the exciting, fresh flavors of our new Sealevel Restaurant or relax with a Starbucks coffee in our Sealevel Lounge. You can stay fit in our health club or dip into the refreshing indoor pool. And when planning a business or social event, you'll find 785 square meters of impressive Portsmouth, UK, hotel function space, complemented by expert catering and audiovisual services, ample parking and welcoming staff. The greenest hotel in Portsmouth, UK, has been transformed with the completion of its meeting, bedroom and leisure renovations. Enjoy stylish, spacious guest rooms offering a sleek and contemporary space to relax and recharge, with plush bedding and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portsmouth Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing