We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,515)
Filter reviews
1,515 results
Traveler rating
623
569
218
69
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
623
569
218
69
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view car park sea front south parade pier lounge bar buffet style single room bit dated lovely hotel room was large reception staff isle of wight street parking breakfast was excellent weekend break third floor enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 1,515 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last couple of years and are really pleased that the high standards which decided on our return are still being maintained.

Relaxed atmosphere, friendly helpful staff, very clean throughout, wonderful food and the best cooked breakfast I have ever had at any hotel. We will definitely return.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay here to have a night away after going to see the Happy Monday’s for my husbands birthday and wish we’d have booked somewhere else instead.

On arrival we were allocated a room which when we got to it clearly this was a room not used very often as there was mould all on the windows, severe condensation on the windows, was so damp there was mould on top of the skirting boards underneath the radiator and an awful noise coming from the bath drain, the towel rail wobbled when you touched it to the extent it looked like it could break, there was grime all on the underneath of the shower door, awful standard of a room, carpets dirty along the skirting boards and frayed and old, looked so dated and old.

We went to reception and asked if we could have a room that wasn’t mouldy to which they said they were fully booked but would have a look to see what they could do, they then offered a twin sea view room but that couldn’t have the twins turned to a double - we weren’t impressed with that, a young couple on a birthday weekend away come on!, we were then offered a room they don’t offer out which was a double which faced a brick wall!! What, really! We weren’t happy but had to take the twin sea view!, they said they’d have a word with the manager and see what they could do with money off etc. Off we go to the new room which was better and cleaned better but still grim and dated, the windows had a broken lock on how wide you could open the window which at wide open on the first floor could’ve been dangerous which when they delivered a bottle of champagne and a plate of strawberries to our room we told them about it. Although a nice gesture of the champagne that wasn’t enough.

This hotel is in need of a total refurb, the outside and inside are so grubby and dated, look uninviting, about as much as the staff unfortunately, the bar staff clearly don’t want to be there, they had more interest in ex employees than guests.

The hotel has a strange smell about it in the corridors, not pleasant at all in-fact quite off putting, the corridors are dark and the paint looks like it’s never been refreshed. There was a ramp over the stairs where we were literally just a ramp over steps that looked past it’s time and could’ve seriously injured someone if they came through the doors quickly and forgetting it was there.

The chairs in the bar are filthy, disgusting.

The only pro’s were the nice bedding, it is very quiet and a decent pint of Carlsberg.

For a so called 3 star hotel I’d give a 1, the floors are so uneven too which I appreciate it is an old building, however there are standards, unfortunately here there aren’t and certainly no cleaning standards or pride.

On check out, the same receptionist that was on when we checked in said, all ok then nothing to pay um no nothing to pay, uninterested when I said about the manger having a look to see if any money off, he checked for notes etc and said no doesn’t look like it!, the champagne was clearly the peace offering, to which I said well this is the worst hotel we ever stayed in, all I got was sorry about that with a disinterested look.

Perhaps they should look at other hoteliers, invest in the property with a refurb etc, maintain the cleaning and train in customer care.

Cleanliness should be a hotels top priority.

Avoid this place like the plague.

Best Western should be embarrassed to have this hotel on their books.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ClaireJupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

We stayed here on a week long dancing break, Great friendly staff very helpful and efficient, room was spacious clean and tidy, room was very well looked after all week plenty of tea and coffee left every day. The restaurant is self service but it runs smoothly, the food was excellent certainly no complains about choice or amount. Look forward to coming here on another dance week next year.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017

Staff were very helpful & approachable, Food & Service was 1st Class. Room was spacious. Plenty of room for our Dog to stretch out. Downside was that some lounge chairs in the Bar area were Stained & needed cleaning/replacing. The Coir mat in the Front entrance had a large Black/Dirty patch suggesting either cleaning/replacement is required. The major failing of this venue is "still" the access for the Elderly and also disabled guest

Room Tip: Seafront is worth the surcharge
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FrenchyF390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017

We travelled as a group with IOW tours for a line dance weekend.Checking in was quick and efficient with very helpful staff. Rooms are of a good size - beds very comfortable good supply of tea and coffee in room. Shower a bit small in our room (404) and the lighting was a little dark but nothing really. Good quality food served in the restaurant buffet style and the waiting staff are lovely. Overall a good hotel with a great dance floor in the Invincible room would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 404 was a side sea view - large twin room
Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews