We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Nights at the Royal Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
WEST YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“4 Nights at the Royal Beach”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a Fantastic time here. the room was large with side sea view,great for watching the ferries. cruise ships and battle ships going in and out of portsmouth harbour. The hotel overall was of very good standard, the staff fantastic, and food very nice, we were with a large party so the meals were buffet style, we stayed an extra night when everyone else had departed our meal was then waiter service. The only let down was the bar prices Double Bacardi and Coke and a pint of Cider £13+ ouch. The hotel is a great base for getting into portsmouth, you can walk to the spinnaker in about half an hour or the buses ouside the hotel are every 10 mins.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 101 side sea view, quiet and warm sunny room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAZBAGSWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel, I hope your group enjoyed there stay as much as you did and I will let all the team know of your compliments, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    467
    179
    56
    28
See reviews for
203
462
84
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Beach Hotel 6th-9th Oct 2013. It is in a lovely location overlooking the promenade and pier. Check in was efficient and welcoming and the reception area very clean. My single room was surprisingly spacious, clean, with a comfortable bed and the all important (for me) sea view. I ate breakfasts and dinners at the hotel-buffet breakfasts with plenty of choice and a very good evening menu. The wine list was also good and though the bottle I requested was not available, a similar one was suggested. The restaurant staff were friendly and ready to help if necessary. I had morning coffee in the lounge bar area and this is also kept well and it overlooks the promenade. As I left the hotel one morning I asked a member of staff for directions to Southsea town and she was happy to help. She told me what was available in the town and also roundabout. I would stay at this hotel again as I was made to feel very welcome and the location met my needs- a safe area for strolling with fantastic views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and the very many positive comments which I will pass on to all departments, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

our first time at the royal beach, its a gem, hospitality excellence , from all staff ,our room 308 was big and spacious, clean , bed very comfortable, views from windows over the solent were amazing, brilliant location, beach over the road from hotel, buses run every ten minutes, just out side of the hotel, or if you like walking there are so many places, with in walking distance, what we liked best was the vast dinning room with immaculate tables and fabulous food, complements to the chef, also breakfast was plentiful, HOT and FRESH, p s , car park to small, but that will not stop us from coming back, we enjoy our stay, linda and brian pearce Warwick

Room Tip: sea view rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel and its very positive comments, I will pass on your compliments to the breakfast chefs, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013. Very comfortable room and great service at a very reasonable price. Great location right on the ocean and convenient to all the sights in Portsmouth. I would return to this hotel and would recommend it. The Royal Beach hotel made our stay in Portsmouth all the more pleasurable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleatus067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you found everything to your satisfaction, best wishes Chris gilmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had missed the ferry and were looking for anywhere to spend the night. We just drove and rang various hotel bells, no one answered as it was around 2315. This door was open and a totally charming night manager Peter Smith found us a room showed us the last remaining parking place and made sure we got an early morning call. Even at 0645 there was breakfast ready, super staff serving all manner of folk in a vast dining room with immaculate tables.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased the night team especially Peter looked after you so well and I hope you managed to make your ferry in the morning, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great welcome very polite, sea view room big clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was plentiful hot and fresh. Would return and recommend this hotel. South sea and Portsmouth well worth the visit lots to do and sea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MozzerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for a review which sums up everything we try to offer at the hotel, we hope you visit again in the future, many thanks Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been to the Royal Beach Hotel for several years and hope to repeat this in the future. The staff are so very friendly and extremely efficient. Having asked for maintenance to attend due to dropping an earring into an inaccessible corner I was astonished to find this was accomplished before I returned to my room after breakfast, prompt indeed. My only complaint is the extra pounds I have added to my already overweight frame due to the excellent food we enjoyed. A most enjoyable short break indeed. Thank you.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for the view that suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and the compliments you gave to the team, it is very satisfying that you continue to return and experience the same standards as before, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing