We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good overall, just a couple quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good overall, just a couple quirks”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here one night - first time in Portsmouth. The hotel is large and seemingly popular; a wedding reception seemed to be going on when we checked in. It was clean and comfortable - just a few hang ups that I'll get into.

The good news is that it's right on the beach immediately across from Southsea Pier, so very close to all that action. I will say that there was a weird trash-like smell out in front of the hotel all night. I'm not sure if that was something drifting from elsewhere, or if the garbage pick up hadn't come yet. The inside smelled fine, no issues.

There is a parking lot (in back of the hotel) though it's incredibly tight-packed. We found one space that took eons to squeeze into, as we had to wait for another group trying to squeeze their larger car into another small space. Someone had to get out of the car to direct the driver.

I traveled with a family member, and each of us had our own room. His was roomy, clean, with a sea view. The bed was small but nicely furnished - a comfortable place.
Mine was very small and very HOT. I was hit with a heat wave when I opened the door. Being from Florida, we're used to heat, but this was a pretty stifling level for a place you're trying to sleep at. The hotel had provided a fan, so we turned it on and went to dinner, hoping that would cool it down a few hours later. It didn't.

Luckily, the hotel staff was very nice about it and immediately offered to let us see another room when I called. They sent someone up who showed a larger room that felt perfectly comfortable.

The staff were great about relocating me to that room, and really nice about everything else, giving us maps, answering questions, etc. We came down to breakfast in the morning which was extremely crowded, but we found a table quickly. There was something for everyone, and the staff would make you a scrambled egg on request.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we did experience exceptionally warm weather this year which did effect temperatures in the rooms, if this continues to be a factor and I hope it does, then we will consider air conditioning for the rooms, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    467
    179
    56
    28
See reviews for
203
462
84
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just had two weeks at this hotel (August 2013) and could not fault it. The rooms were clean and spacious with a wonderful sea view. The staff friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice. The hotel is ideally situated for all of the local attractions and as a base for exploring further afield. Would certainly use again if holidaying in the area.

Room Tip: We had two double rooms on the fourth floor at the front of the hotel - they were quiet and had a ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel, which is very much appreciated and we all look forward to welcoming you back, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

had the pleasure of staying at royal beach hotel for 2 nights in triple room with my two children aged 11 & 13 found hotel to be very clean room was very modern and had recently been refurbished had amazing sea view. room was very large & spacious and not at all cramped. Hotel staff were very courteous and very helpful. hotel offered a fantastic home cooked breakfast which was help yourself quality of food was superb & cooked to perfection.
nothing was too much trouble for the staff to assist you.10/10. the environment of hotel was of a very high standard and took advantage of the evening fresh cooked full Carvery which again was of a superb standard & quality of food was exceptional. great to see the Executive Head Chef come out to ask you if your enjoyed your meal which is excellent touch & makes one feel the whole team care what they do to achieve a very standard of service. Again superb highly recommend a visit great location too with parking & well stocked bar with professional staff We took advantage of the great discounted deals they offer for quality rooms during a week day .We had a fabulous 2 nights stay and will re book for sure oh and the weather was superb so a massive big tick all-round 10/10. a big thank you to the Royal Beach and its quality staff well done see you guys soon :) big thumbs up !! thank you :)

Room Tip: triple rooms are fantastic value for money and modern and very clean and tidy 10/10 sea view was a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review of the hotel and I am really pleased you had a great stay with us, I will pass on your comments to all of the team and look forward to welcoming you back, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Me my husband two children two friends and there son stayed at the Royal beach the weekend 30th August .The rooms we big and clean the bed was so comfortable we wanted to bring it home .The breakfast was excellent plenty to choose from the staff was very helpful we would go back any time

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
thank you for your review and I am pleased you found everything to your satisfaction, especially the comfort of your mattress, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have stayed here on several occasions as a couple with friends, with family and have taken almost 100 people on a bowls tour. The moment we first walked into The Royal Beach the atmosphere felt "comfortable". The staff have been excellent on all occasions, the rooms clean and comfortable and the food varied and tasty. Although the hotel is away from the town there is a good bus service to all the areas of interest. We walked to the shops on several occasions. I feel there is a good variety of things to do for both adults and children with the beach, piers, historic interest, shops, skateboard park, indoor pool and walking just to name a few. We are booked to take 112 people on the Bowls Tour back in 2014 and hope we can visit again before then. I would recommend The Royal Beach to anyone as value for money with excellent service and good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merveene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel, I will pass on your comments to the kitchen team and we look forward to seeing you all again, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2013.The room was average but had everything we needed.The hotel staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful.Nothing was too much trouble for them. The food in the restaurant was varied, tasty and well presented. The restaurant staff were attentive and efficient. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatHurdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your comments to al concerned, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel itself is a little worn out but the rooms themselves are nice and big. Give the Carvery buffet a miss as the food is overcooked and dried out. The location is far from the train station and ferry dock, which was a bit of a hassle as one had to take a lot of cabs. The best part of the hotel is the wonderful staff. Helpful, polite and really making you feel like they care.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, I will pass on your compliments to the team, we are continuing to update the hotel and new corridor carpets and refitted bathrooms are on the agenda for the latter part of this year, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing