We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“we will be back”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

went with coach trip and stayed at royal beach hotel.its had a lovely makeover.we found it a friendly and comfortable hotel.we were in a disabled room,it was excellent and catered for all our needs.read some other reviews and find them dated and unfare to this hotel now.cant thank the staff enough ,food fantastic and plenty of choice.we are booking with the same coach firm again and will definatly be going back next year.a big thankyou to everyone there.

Room Tip: ask for room near lift.definatly upgrade to seaview if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne1956_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel and I am really pleased you had an enjoyable stay, I will pass on your comments to the team, thank you Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    481
    188
    59
    28
See reviews for
207
483
87
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently celebrated 50 years of marriage at this holes. From booking through to checking out after our overnight stay, celebration meal with family and breakfast, the staff made us feel like Royalty. Staff met us as we arrived and ensured our every wish was catered for. The family meal in the Fearless Room was excellent with first class service, the staff took charge of keeping our presents safe till next morning, and helped carry them to our car. Even at breakfast they checked that we had enjoyed our celebration and made every effort to make us feel "special". Nothing was too much trouble. A big thank you to all the staff (but especially Chris and Sarah). On a par with any P&O cruise ships we have enjoyed since we retired. Lack of air conditioning in our bedroom is the only fault we could find with the hotel, which is we believe is currently undergoing staged refurbishment. Just don't change the standard of service which is first class, friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Request a Sea view room -it is worth it. Views over the Solent are great, especially when the liners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank for your review of the Hotel, I am really pleased you enjoyed your celebrations with us and I will pass on your comments to both Chris and Sarah, it is also very satisfying to be compared to a cruise ship as we all know how good they can be, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at this hotel. There were a group of 40 of us and most were pensioners. The staff were superb the food was superb and the rooms were good too. Our room was at the front of the hotel with a fabulous view of the Solent. One of our party had an accident and the staff were very obliging in helping us even going so far as to give us a pillow for her for the journey home so she would be comfortable. They certainly went the extra mile for us. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard. A large choice and everything was hot and fresh. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maclarencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hotel and I am really pleased you had an enjoyable stay with your group, we look forward to welcoming you back, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel is nicely situated on the seafront opposite (the now closed) pier.

Hotel was originally built in another era and looks to be currently undergoing refurbishment.

Our room on the west side of the building was large with a comfortable bed & a good sized bathroom. Down side was that window did not open and despite the availablity of a fan which only served to circulate the already hot air we felt we were staying in a sauna for the weekend. This led to 2 most uncomfortable nights.

On the back of the bedroom door was a sign encouraging us to leave any valuables in the room safe. It would have been useful if the room safe actually worked.

On the plus side the food & service in the dining room were excellent both at breakfast & dinner. David Toth & Christina both deserve a special mention for the level of service they & their teams provided.

If it hadn't been such an uncomfortable experience with the lack of "air" in our room I would otherwise have not hesitated to give a 'Good ' rating. Sadly this totally spoilt the weekend for us.

Room Tip: Check that the room you are allocated has windows that open otherwise you could be suffocated in hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetravellerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry the room was to hot for you over the weekend, with fluctuating temperatures over the last couple of weeks it has been difficult to control the heating to suit the majority of visitors especially with our under floor heating and differing age groups but I do hope it does not put you off from visiting us again, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ask for a room facing the Solent, it's calming and beautiful. This is a rambling older style hotel that is in the middle of an overhaul. Our room was huge as hotel rooms go, very high ceilings and large windows that opened, which I always consider a bonus! Comfortable big bed, and the bathroom and bedroom were clean, with all the essentials provided.
The star attraction for us was the dining room. It is BIG and was always full, it holds approx 190 people. Lots of families, big groups of older people, and plenty of couples, and business people. The menus had great food on offer, and the breakfasts were terrific. The dining room staff were an absolute treat, efficient, helpful and funny.
The whole stay was rather like living with a very big family, but I did have a few moments when I saw 2 large Labradors going up in the lift with their owners and disappearing into a bed room....
Definitely took some adjusting to that one! And we had a large loud wedding reception directly under our room one night. The bus service to the Portsmouth Navel Dock Yard (Nelson's Victory
And The Mary Rose Museum) is 2 minutes walk away from the hotel which is wonderfully handy.
All in all it's a bit like Dad's Army, old worldly, charming, Funny , and they try really hard.

Room Tip: Solent view. And away from the wedding reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hotel and its many positive comments, we do like to think of ourselves as a welcoming family and treat all of our guests as friends, my self as Captain Mannering may be a step to far, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

An excellent buffet breakfast is served in the spacious restaurant with views over the sea to the Isle of Wight and how nice to find that the toasters actually brown the bread properly - how often does one find the bread coming out hardly tinged ! Dinner was also excellent with a varied menu.

My recently refurbished bedroom was comfortable and it was well worthwhile paying for a room a sea facing room - wondeful views over the Solent. The public rooms are spacious and it would appear that a refurbishment programme is being carried out throughout the hotel. All members of staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. All told, another most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Go for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndabaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hotel and the compliments toward the food and facilities, I hope you decide to visit again soon, many thanks Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have already written to this Hotel to tell them just how pleased we were with the accommodation and service we received. We have travelled extensively over the years in many countries but this Hotel is equal to many of the four and five star that we have had the pleasure to stay in. from the moment you arrives you feel you are in a relaxing atmosphere, and your every wish is catered for.
The excellent staff put you at your ease, nothing too much trouble, and the food exemplary. we entertained some of our family for the evening taking the Hotels first rate carvery, what a pleasure to sit down to a meal with plenty of choices, that everyone could choose for themselves. Breakfast the next morning excellent, we cannot fault this one.
My Husband and I will be making this Hotel a regular favourite, try it you will want to go again.
Mr and Mrs D.W.East.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are beautiful. our experience showed them to be large and well furnished. I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of the Hotel and especially the staff performance which I will pass on to the team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon, best wishes
Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
870 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
650 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing