We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Llanarth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This stay almost didn't happen because of some computer glitch with my original booking. I re-booked and on arrival was told that there two bookings in my name. The reception staff were very helpful and there was no question of them not honouring the earlier, cheaper rate.
A large, twin room on the fourth floor with good sea views was very presentable.

I had booked dinner in the restaurant, but when I saw the menu in the lounge bar decided to eat there. A four-egg mushroom omelette was generous in portion, very tasty and reasonably priced. It happened to be "Happy hour" and a large glass of beautiful Shiraz was only £3.60 - a real bargain.

I'll be back in Portsmouth several times later this year and I see no reason to try anywhere else, however, next time I won't walk from the Harbour station !

Room Tip: I was given a room on the side of the hotel but it still had good sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LibmanLlanarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments which are appreciated, we believe we offer a very good package to our guests and I am pleased you found this to be so, many thanks Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    455
    175
    54
    28
See reviews for
197
451
82
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fens
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

With a one-night stay in a single room booked for work at a reasonable rate, I wasn't really expecting a lot, but my room had windows with wide views, effective heating on a cold night and even a bathroom with a window. Equipment worked well, and I do like smoked haddock for breakfast, which was served hot and freshly cooked - lovely! Staff, especially at Reception, were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: It was quiet in my top corner - room 417
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DotFens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review of the hotel and staff, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back, best wishes, Chris gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

As a treat or my 50th birthday my brother in law and I visited Portsmouth to see our team play there. The match didn't have the right result but the hotel was a real winner. Friendly staff, adequate parking , great room with a sea view thrown in and the sort of breakfast you need after probably too many beers meant we had a great time

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godfather22a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review which is appreciated especially the breakfast and staff comments which i will pass on, I am suprised that the result didnt go your way it is not often that away fans in portsmouth leave dissapointed ! best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welwyn garden city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Food fantastic, rooms clean, staff very friendly. I did comment to the manager regarding a little training issue which will be activated. Could not believe that the chef remembered me from last year, but he still would not let me have his fantastic recipes. Hopefully some vacancies will be available for the event next year. They are the Best western Hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your compliments andI am pleased your return visit was as good as the first, The Chef keeps those secrets to himself, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Once again the staff at the Royal Beach came up trumps, on this occasion it was a meal to celebrate a 50th Wedding Anniversary. The attention to detail, the quality of food and the willingness to please shone through. I have organised a number of functions at this hotel and have more in the pipeline. The guests who stayed overnight had favorable comments and my wife and I had a night to remember. The only downside is of course is parking which can be a problem, unless like me you are a local and know where to go if the car park is full. The Reception will also advise you. Glad to see that the 'facelift' has restored the Victorian feel to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments and I am pleased you appreciate the external work we are carrying out, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

A Victorian hotel which has been tastefully refurbished but still retains it,s original grandeur . The bedrooms were adequate though the windows are not double glazed . The food is superb and all the taff go the extra mile to help . I would certainly use this hotel again .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philandthehounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, the staff are with out doubt one of our best assets and I will pass your comments on to them, as you would have seen we are refurbishing both the outside at the moment and the windows are being replaced with double glazed units which should improve the quality of all rooms over the coming months, Best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked our room at this hotel through laterooms as a deal so it was a third of the normal price. The room was adequate and clean with a good sized bathroom. We were given a room on the 4th floor which was a relief as there is a nightclub attached to this hotel. I have stayed at another hotel in the same road and been disturbed by the buses pulling up outside for what seemed to be most of the night. However by having a 4th floor room we were saved from the noise of both the buses and the nightclub. The receptionist was polite and friendly. The main reason for not returning to this hotel was the parking arrangements. There is a small carpark being the hotel which took some finding. As this was full we asked where we could park and were told we could use any of the side streets. Not strictly true as there are parking restrictions on most roads. We eventually parked 20 minutes walk from the hotel. Just an ordinary chain hotel that needs a little updating really. Not worth the full price but I was happy with the deal.

Room Tip: Go for top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I need to clarify that we do not have a night club attached to the hotel and there are no nightclubs now in the area as the pier is closed for redevelopment so any noise issue from outsde is a thing of the past. I do agree parking is an issue at the hotel but most of the hotels in the city do suffer from the same problem but we do endeavour to solve guests parking as best we can, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
4.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Address: South Parade | St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing