We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great weekend.We were in Portsmouth for the dedication of a new memorial to the Cockleshell Heroes at the Royal Marines Museum (museum worth a visit especially for families).Hotel Staff very friendly and helpful. At breakfast there was something for everyone and very relaxed, didn't feel we had to rush out. Helpful water coolers on every floor. The room was clean and comfortable. The en-suite was a good size and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Hotel and I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us, warm regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    481
    188
    59
    28
See reviews for
207
483
87
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I went to portsmouth for a gig, but wanted to stay in a hotel that was near the beach. This hotel is not only right on the beach and opposite the pier, it is only a very short walk to the town centre.

The hotel itself is done out with old world charm and is comfortable, warm and welcoming with plenty of staff around the reception desk and bar area to help you if you need it.

The rooms are large, clean, very comfortable and well appointed with flat screen televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. The ensuite bathrooms are also have a good size and come complete with toiletries. The rooms and corridors seem well soundproofed so I had a good nights sleep.

Breakfast in the main dining room (Which is light and airy, with a view out to the sea) Was buffet style with full cooked options, cereals and pastries available. The food was of of a very high standard, well cooked and very tasty.

The one thing I would say about this hotel is that I think the average age is around 50 or 60, So my friend and I in our 30s on our way to heavy-metal concert did stand out a bit!

Overall I would very much recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again coming back to Portsmouth

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of our Hotel, it is always good to get an opinion from differing groups of guests and I am delighted you found everything to your liking, we hope you visit us again in the near future, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stay in many hotels through work and very rarely would comment but on this occasion I feel I must, I had a fantastic overnight stay. Rooms where quiet, view from bedroom of the English Channel was lovely. Food and service I received where also of a high standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel and its wonderful comments, they will be passed on to all the team and we hope you come and stay with us again soon, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Having stayed one night before an onward journey, I found the following: - The staff were pleasant and efficient, the bedroom was surprisingly big for a single, and reasonably furnished and what I sampled of the food was average, however, somewhat overpriced. The bathroom was tiny, you could only just close the door if you were careful, otherwise you would fall down the toilet! On closer inspection I then discovered several hairs in the bath, the towels were threadbare in places and stained! The car park is handy if a bit difficult to find and a bit tight. Extra heating or secondary glazing would also be good, as even with the radiator up full the room was still cold, although perhaps not so bad on lower floors. Overall lack of cleanliness made this hotel a let down for me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIBSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel and i am extremely disappointed with the standard of your bathroom and its towels which is well below our normal standards, there are radiators in each bedroom along with fan heaters in the wardrobe if required to give additional heat i am sorry if one was not present,I hope on your next visit you find the standard of your room as you would expect, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

enjoyed 5 days in sea view room (206). i always write a true and honest review so here goes - when i phoned up to book i knew we was going to be treated well,and when we arrived the check in was so smooth & friendly. our room was very large and good bathroom all clean and tidy. slight problem with this room - you can here what goes on next door - ie tv and couple making love ! so walls not very thick. very comfy bed and nice tv. we had room service 1st evening - excellent tasty food and great service. food a bit on high price,but after long drive down from the midlands we needed food. views superb of the sea,pier and isle of wight. windows need replacing. breakfast is excellent - buffet style - help yourself. yoghurts,fruit,juices,cerials (great choice of mini boxes - top brands),help your self to toast (do it yourself - thats what i like) hot plates for sausage (not cheap rubbish like some big hotels),bacon,eggs,tomatoes,beans,mushrooms,hash browns,fried bread - the works. staff excellent and friendly. tables and tablecloths very clean as are the staff - clean,smart and friendly. car park a bit of a problem - small and tight,but we got in every day (plenty of side streets if full) just a word of warning - be careful when opening boot - as roof of car park so low,and you will end up scracting your boot if not careful ! would be nice if hotel reception told guests this when booking if coming by car ? realy enjoyed our stay with our 2 pet toy poodles. all staff have to be praised - housekeeping very friendly - reception staff very friendly - breakfast staff very friendly.met the manager - very friendly. top hotel will deff go back. ps - if staying here go to gosport to the submarine museum - superb as you have a guided tour of a ww2 sub !

Room Tip: room 206 - excellent large sea view - but walls a bit thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments and i am pleased we ticked all of your boxes, i have made a note of your car park comments and will ensure some signage is available, many thanks Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here from Friday 23rd November to Sunday 25th November for a function. made very welcome at reception was asked if we needed papers, early morning call and did we need help with our luggage.
We had a room on the 2nd floor with a sea view, the room as lovely very large bed.... it was very clean every thing provided hair dryer iron and ironing board plenty of tea and coffee.
The bathroom was very clean and plenty of towels. All the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was very tasty and plentiful wide selection of juices, cereals, yogurts and fruit teas.We didn't like the coffee very much so stuck to black tea!! We did find the breakfast was a bit on the cool side even when we asked for some fresh bacon and eggs we felt this spoilt it slightly.
Would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Pay the extra suppliment for a sea view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank widgetisleofwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights 2nd,3rd and 4th November. We were there for 50th anniversary of Albion sailing for the Far East. A good venue for the reunion. We had a sea view room, everything you'd need was provided. Dinner on the Friday night, we had the carvery, we both thought it bland! The reunion dinner on the Saturday night was good and a good time was had by all. Each day we had the buffet full English breakfast, very good. Drinks prices.... well they were "hotel prices", a special mention to one of the barmaids, small, dark hair, very chatty, excellent customer service!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikecook264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel and i am pleased your stay was a good one, your group organiser expressed his thanks for a wonderful weekend and we hope you will take the time to visit us again, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
869 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
650 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing