We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Basic hotel with a central location”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I took a twin room at this hotel for a weekend in Portsmouth. I selected this hotel due to central location and very competitive price. After I had booked the hotel, I did notice a few comments stating that the room was very small and began to have second thoughts about staying here, however, on arrival the experience itself was not too bad.

There is a car park on site here with 40 spaces but plenty still available when we arrived at around midday, cost for parking is £3.00. The hotel has a large foyer area with a reception and restaurant and that part of the hotel looks very impressive. We didn't have anything to eat at the hotel so I can't comment about that, breakfast costs £7.50. Check-in was straightforward and the staff member who checked us in was friendly and professional.

The lift up to the room is a bit cramped so you might struggle if you have large luggage. As mentioned in some other reviews, the room itself is much smaller than a standard hotel room and the hotel states this on it's web site. These rooms are much like student halls of residence or the type of basic cabins you'd get on a ship.

The room is not rectangular in shape. There are three flat walls and the fourth wall is curved. Behind this long curved wall is located the en-suite bathroom containing a toilet, sink and shower. Our twin room had two narrow single beds that were placed right next to each other with no gap inbetween. We had to angle one of the beds to make a gap. The beds were clean and comfortable and had a warm quilt.

There is a wall mounted flatscreen television that has a selection of television and radio channels, although not the full set of freeview channels are available. Tea and coffee making facilities are on a narrow shelf/table positioned against one of the walls. A small storage area provides a limited amount of hanging space. There is also an electric radiator in the room.

The bathroom was very clean but very cramped. Very tall or larger people may have difficulties using this bathroom. The shower was hot and fairly powerful but the towels provided were very small.

The hotel is located close to the Univerisity and there are lots of pubs in the area. This area seems to be geared towards students. There is a nightclub across the road. A pleasant Wetherspoons pub as well as some chain pubs like Walkabout and Yates. A Subway sandwich shop and a Co-Op shop all within a short distance away. Old Portsmouth, the University of Portsmouth and the Gunwharf Quays are within 10-20 minutes walk.

Whilst I can see that some may want more from a hotel we found it fitted our needs perfectly. We didn't intend to spend any time in the hotel room apart from sleeping overnight. There is plenty to do in the local area for entertainment. This hotel is by far one of the cheapest in the centre of Portsmouth. We paid GBP60 for a twin room which is a very competitive for such a central location that has it's own parking on site. I would recommend this hotel but I would point out to anyone the limitations of the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonewayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallox, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Customer, many thanks for your honest and complete review of our hotel and we are very happy about your overall positive feedback. Hope to welcome you back soon, kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    544
    414
    167
    112
See reviews for
221
570
144
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 19, 2010

The Ibis hotel in Portsmouth was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

There was no offer of a cot for our baby. Once we put up our travel cot, we couldn't move in the room. There was no fridge so we had to use the outside window sill in the very small ensuite. There was no soap dish in the shower and I struggled to use it, it being so small and poky.

A basic level of accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallox, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear Customer, many thanks for your overall positive feedback but I was sorry to learn you were not offered a cot. We do have some cots in the hotel and upon your next visit please feel free to ask for one. Thanks again and see you soon, Kind Regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bham,england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Rooms were ok, very basic. Bathroom was very small and not the cleanest.

We had been out shopping all day the weather was awful outside so we decieded to eat in the hotel. Big mistake. We waited an hour to be told there was no ham, and that we could only have cheese. 40 minutes later this arrived. Other residents were trying to order but the menu's were collected in at 8pm. The chef was constantly coming out into the bar area to argue with the one waiter, who was also having to serve behind the bar.

We tried to complain at reception, the receptionist English was not the best and didnt really understand, but she told us there no duty manger to complain too.

Definetly would not stay here again. The staff and lack of them 100% spoilt it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bham.rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallox, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Dear Member, please accept my sincere apologies for the restaurant service and I hope your positive comment regarding the rooms and other rewies below will make you reconsider your decision and you will give us another chance to serve you better. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

High Wycombe, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Firs things first, this hotel is centrally located next to all of the bars and university etc. It's a fairly unusually designed building and does have parking round the rear, though you need to be early to get a parking space! The staff are very pleasant, though I would suggest that if you used Expedia for your booking and paid up front that you tell the staff this or they will charge you again.

Note that the hotel has a well stocked bar, but it shuts at midnight!

The hotel main areas are fairly clean, though the lift has a mind of its own (there are two, but one wasn't working). Good noise insulation between the floors and lobbies.

Then we get to the room...or closet as I would call it. The room was tiny, really tiny and unusually shaped. If you go for two single beds, you may as well forget it. They are so close to each other you may as well go for a double. There is absolutely no space to store clothes, so expect to live out of your case.

The worse part is the bathroom. You can hardly even sit on the toilet it's that small! Shower was created for an extremely thin person and no room really to dry yourself!

All I can say is that if you need to stay centrally, this is an OK hotel, as long as you are staying on your own, get there early for parking and stick thin.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallox, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Dear Member, thank you for your valuable feedback. the smaller than standard room comes from the fact it was not opened as an ibis hotel and we warn our customers on our website to be prepared for that. I am happy you liked our really central location and I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Gergely Kollin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Property: Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing