We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Portsmouth stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    528
    403
    162
    109
See reviews for
216
555
138
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me away for my birthday and booked this hotel. After staying in the ibis budget hotel in Southampton I was a but optimistic about this stay and me being me wasn't looking forward to it, but from the minute we arrived I was blown away at how different it was. We were greet both on check in and check out by very polite people and was even offered help with bags (not that we needed it) hotel is in walking distances of gunwharf, southsea pier and Portsmouth town centre (we went to all of these) and close to nearby train stations. The bed was super comfortable and although the bathroom was quite small it was nice to see we had a seperate room for it. All in all a wonderful stay and we will be looking into booking again soon. Please praise your staff for the excellent job they did ((regrettably dont know names)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatty_chick31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for such a nice comments. You can be sure that I will show this review to the entire staff, so they can see themselves how important is their daily job, in order to get all clients as satisfied as you were.

I am really happy to read your review, and I will be looking forward to seeing you again soon in Ibis Portsmouth. Maybe next time I will be able to meet you personally.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth Centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is convenient but bog standard when it comes to comfort. The room was small and the shower room tiny. Noisy and hot at night. I had endless trouble with the card style door key, which refused to work and had to b re-set at least four times during our overnight stay.
And I thought it a dreadful cheek that they said they would charge a friend £2 for left luggage until she needed to catch her train.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiEccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking a minute of your time and write your review about your stay with us.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth Centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here overnight before a 9am ferry and its convenience and location far outweigh the negatives and was a welcome alternative to an early morning start.
First and foremost, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. It is also a 20 minute walk from the spinnaker tower waterside area where there's a nice selection of restaurants to choose from.

However there a few things that could be better and would've improved our stay. The car park is quite small and there are seemingly not enough spaces for all the guests so people had to squeeze in where ever they could. Also our room was quite warm so we slept with the window open so were disturbed by the music from the nearby night club. In the end we decided that being warm was better than trying to get to sleep with all that noise.

All in all, not too bad for a budget hotel. The facilities are good but the decor is looking a little tired. It was a bit more expensive than I'd expect to pay at a budget hotel but I happily paid for a quick and stress free journey to the port early the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nj_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate constructive comments and, despite the inconveniences that you mention, I am glad to see that you enjoyed most of your star.

We will be looking forward to hearing from you again soon.

Regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth Centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here when I visited my home city again. It's ok if your just looking for somewhere to crash but offers nothing to shout about. Bathrooms far to small, good job I didn't bring my cat, wouldn't be able to swing it.

Apart from that bed was comfy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheStevieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking a minute of your time and write your review about your stay with us.

Regarding your comment of space, unfortunately our rooms are smaller than Ibis UK standard's. At least, I am glad to see that you enjoyed most of your stay in our hotel.

We will be looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth Centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Property: Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing