We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portsmouth budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Medway Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Portsmouth budget hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is centrally located within the city, with the Historic Dockyard and Gunwharf Quays (shopping outlet centre) within easy walking distance. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within the area, particularly at the Quays and being a University City, there are some good deals to be had on food & drink.
The hotel itself is clean and although the rooms are compact (with shower only), it was ideal for our 4 night stay. No problems sleeping, beds were comfortable and no noise issues, our room was on the fourth floor above the hotel entrance. There is a bar and restaurant, but there is a wider choice within the locality - breakfast at £7.50 per head is high for the area. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had an enjoyable stay. We'll be returning to Portsmouth next year and will have no hesitation in using this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedwayWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Portsmouth and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Clemence CARMINATI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    560
    428
    168
    117
See reviews for
225
589
150
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have used Ibis hotels for years now and this was our second or third visit here. OK the rooms aren't huge but the location coupled with excellent taxi services made this an ideal stopover.
We asked to have a room at the rear of the hotel because we know there can be nightlife noise from people returning from the popular pubs and clubs just around the corner. Our room was spotless and the bed was by far the most comfortabl ehotel bed I have slept in in a long time. It certainly put some 5* hotel beds to shame. We have learned that you need to get an extra pillow as we both prefer 2.
The ensuite facilities were also spotless but slightly cramped. Plenty of hot water and an excellent shower.

OK; it is a budget hotel. But it is an excellent budget hotel. If you want something more spacious then this isn't for you. If you want somewhere to stay handy for all Portsmouth and Southsea amenities then you won't go too far wrong here.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the rear of the hotel. OK the view isn't great but the front can be noisy late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LickeyEndBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Portsmouth. Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This is very much the 'budget hotel'. Our room was clean and we'll presented, but as with the other reviews, the room was very small. I've seen bigger bathrooms in a caravan! Also, it's a minor gripe but in 2012 why can't we get all of the freeview channels on the TV? Only three radio stations (one of which didn't work, d'oh) Breakfast was functional, nothing more.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us.
I hope we will h ave the opportunity to welcome you back soon in Ibis Portsmouth.

Kindest regards

Emilie Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and was pleased it was not for longer. Despite it being October the room was stiffling hot. Leaving a window open was not an option due to the noise from outside. I assume it's close to a nightclub as there were drunken shouting until 3am and this was on a school night. The bathroom was a joke, smallest I have ever seen and the shower leaked as the drainage was not working properly. The porthole windows were the best feature of the hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Hongkongphooey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Ibis Portsmouth wasn’t up to expectations. If you would like to discuss the matter with me, you can me on h1461-gm@accor.com. Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Reception, breakfast, staff - all are perfectly acceptable. The staff are willing to help.
The rooms are on the small side, but clean, functional and comfortable. This hotel has everything you need as a base and to be honest, when you are staying at a hotel like this, you are not planning on spending a great deal of time inside your room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tanyag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Ibis Portsmouth and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I always stay at the Ibis when in Portsmouth. It is a basic hotel, no frills, but adequate for my needs. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Ideally situated for the ferry terminals, shops, Gunwhard Quays and theatres. Staff are always pleasant and friendly. Would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Portsmouth. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A group of us stayed here over a weekend. This hotel does what it says on the tin, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced (provided you book early as with all budget hotels). Yes, the rooms and bathrooms are small, but how long do you actually spend in them? Our room was perfectly fine for what we needed. One friend had a problem with noisy neighbours in the corridor but our floor was quiet - luck of the draw. Despite looking onto the main road we had no road noise, unlike other places we have stayed in a similar price bracket. We used the bar (not the cheapest) but not breakfast - there's a Wetherspoons up the road! Reception staff were very helpful with maps to the restaurants we'd booked and everywhere was clean. Overall this was a good visit and we would use Ibis again. This is our second one, having stayed in the Bristol Temple Meads one a couple of years ago.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightspark89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Portsmouth. Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Property: Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing