We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small rooms but great location”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This is very much the 'budget hotel'. Our room was clean and we'll presented, but as with the other reviews, the room was very small. I've seen bigger bathrooms in a caravan! Also, it's a minor gripe but in 2012 why can't we get all of the freeview channels on the TV? Only three radio stations (one of which didn't work, d'oh) Breakfast was functional, nothing more.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us.
I hope we will h ave the opportunity to welcome you back soon in Ibis Portsmouth.

Kindest regards

Emilie Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    543
    413
    166
    112
See reviews for
221
569
143
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and was pleased it was not for longer. Despite it being October the room was stiffling hot. Leaving a window open was not an option due to the noise from outside. I assume it's close to a nightclub as there were drunken shouting until 3am and this was on a school night. The bathroom was a joke, smallest I have ever seen and the shower leaked as the drainage was not working properly. The porthole windows were the best feature of the hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Hongkongphooey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Ibis Portsmouth wasn’t up to expectations. If you would like to discuss the matter with me, you can me on h1461-gm@accor.com. Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Reception, breakfast, staff - all are perfectly acceptable. The staff are willing to help.
The rooms are on the small side, but clean, functional and comfortable. This hotel has everything you need as a base and to be honest, when you are staying at a hotel like this, you are not planning on spending a great deal of time inside your room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tanyag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Ibis Portsmouth and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I always stay at the Ibis when in Portsmouth. It is a basic hotel, no frills, but adequate for my needs. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Ideally situated for the ferry terminals, shops, Gunwhard Quays and theatres. Staff are always pleasant and friendly. Would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Portsmouth. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A group of us stayed here over a weekend. This hotel does what it says on the tin, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced (provided you book early as with all budget hotels). Yes, the rooms and bathrooms are small, but how long do you actually spend in them? Our room was perfectly fine for what we needed. One friend had a problem with noisy neighbours in the corridor but our floor was quiet - luck of the draw. Despite looking onto the main road we had no road noise, unlike other places we have stayed in a similar price bracket. We used the bar (not the cheapest) but not breakfast - there's a Wetherspoons up the road! Reception staff were very helpful with maps to the restaurants we'd booked and everywhere was clean. Overall this was a good visit and we would use Ibis again. This is our second one, having stayed in the Bristol Temple Meads one a couple of years ago.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightspark89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Portsmouth. Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I found Reception, Housekeeping and the Rooms to be very good. However, the bathrooms are somewhat cosy and could be difficult for a 4X size person! The bar was not permanently manned and at no time during the 2 day stay wax the full restaurant menu available. The snack menu was available until late, but service was shared with the bar. All items on this menu were available 24/7 which infers they were frozen and microwaved. However they were tasty and filling. There seem to be no acceptable restaurants nearby. Car parking on the hotel site was £6.00 per night extra. Something of a surprise , but cheaper than the parking outside. However I did collect a double puncture in a tyre from screws lying about in the car park. It is now 3 days since I reported this and returned home. No one has yet contacted me to apologise or offer to pay for the damage. If you wish to use the car park be warned that there are a lot less spaces than rooms and the car park fills up quickly. Would I stay there again? Yes, as it is convenient for me to do so,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepee561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Portsmouth. Can I please ask you to contact me directly regarding your issue with screws of your tyre on h1461-gm@accor.com to discuss it further. Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We always stay here before an early sailing the following day. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms very compact. The staff have always been polite and efficient. For me the bar/restaurant area is a bit stark and unwelcoming, but it all works well and the food is good. Also, I think that the wi-fi should be free of charge. None the less, at under £50, it represents good value and is very convenient for the port.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastonSorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Portsmouth and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Property: Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing