We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This really is the simplest review I have had to write on Trip Advisor. The room was small, stuffy and very dirty. Exceptionally dirty. I reported this, and the failing air conditioning, to the staff, who were kind enough to say 'it can't be fixed'. I asked whether it was possible to move to another room, and was told that there were none available.

I saw a similar occourance to fam43: a pimp and two prostitutes and what could only have been a drug deal just outside the hotel.

I commend visitors to Portsmouth to find another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting your thoughts on here. I was disappointed to learn that we failed to leave up to your expectatoins. Please accept apologies from me and my team. I will pass your comments to my team and speak to them individually. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Portsmouth Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,134 - 1,140 of 1,551 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel was chosen for an early start on the ferry to France. Room was stuffy so opened the window. Lots of rowdy young people about both inside and outside the hotel until early hours of the morning. Police cars with sirens etc. Not much sleep, so really a waste of time staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to hear that you did not have a good night sleep. Please accept my sincere apologies. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have stayed here once a year for the past 14 years. Very central hotel both for the town centre and the ferry ports with lovely staff (both in reception, bar/restaurant and cleaning). The rooms are on the small side but well laid out and clean. The shower room is very tight but clean and well ventilated with a port hole window. The restaurant can be a bit hit and miss as on occasions they have items missing but the team do a wonderful job and the food is good. Breakfast is wonderful! They have the normal Ibis fare but with gorgeous sausages, bacon, beans and scrambled eggs, a big choice of cereals and muffins- set you up for the entire day!
My only gripe with this hotel is the parking arrangement. You now pay £6 per night but a parking space is not guaranteed. This can be a bit of a problem if you're arriving any time after early evening. Could spaces not be allocated to a room as in other Ibis hotels? That would allow you the flexibility to come and go as needed. Oh and there is an ironing room on the 2nd floor- very useful specially for those using the hotel for graduations!

Room Tip: If you need a parking space make sure you don't arrive too late.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laguna11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
I am pleased that you had a nice time in Portsmouth. Thank you for your comments regarding car park - we will have a look into that. We look forward to receiving you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Lovely bright modern foyer. Staff friendly and attentive. Room was small but perfectly formed, again clean & modern. Gorgeous aquarium in foyer/bar area. Breakfast was excellent. Good quallity food (sausages were gorgeous), the range of food was nicely presented, and constantly topped up by staff, good range of teas, breads etc and the fresh fruit was chilled and very fresh. Close to Gunwharf Quays which is full of harbour side restaurants/cafes & bars and fabulous outlet shops. The Ibis chain of hotels is definately top of our list for budget hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your time and posting your thoughts on here. Me and my Team are glad that you had enjoyable stay in Portsmouth. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Manchester, United Kingdom
2
Reviewed September 7, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Overnight stop at this Hotel in Portsmouth before catching ferry to Isle of Wight. The Hotel was very clean and very friendly. The staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Excellent value for the money, and ideal location and good food

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, Adrian Latka, Hotel Team Leader at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us and that you fiind the staff to be most helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

six of us including a dog stayed for an overnight stop off at the Ibis in Portsmouth. we were pleased to find that yes they were dog friendly, rooms clean - you have everything you need in the rooms all designed well and all have a shower etc. Although if you were on the large side not quite sure how you would fit. Although all of our party liked the small round windows in the bathrooms! Staff friendly and helpful. we had dinner in the evening at the hotel restaurant and the food was lovely, no complaints from our group. we didnt have their breakffast but instead went to the Weatherspoon a few mins walk away.

Room Tip: it seems that all rooms are dog friendly.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I will share your comments with my Team, who will be please to know that you had a lovely dinner and enjoyable stay overall. Best Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,015 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $58 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing