We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An impressive new dish from the daily specials”
Review of The Belle Isle

The Belle Isle
Ranked #87 of 655 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“An impressive new dish from the daily specials”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Belle Isle is often packed out at weekends, but my son and I were able to find a table at 4pm on a Sunday afternoon. We've been many times before, and I decided to try something different this time. There was a choice of two mains on the daily specials board, and I picked the coconut breaded chicken on citrus and thyme rice with mango salsa (£10.95). My son chose to have halloumi fajitas (£10.95) with a mug of tea, and I ordered a decaffeinated Americano which was free of charge as I have a loyalty key fob.

The chicken was very tender and a generous serving. There was more mango than I expected, and it was a little strange that it was very cold alongside the warm chicken, but it was enjoyable all the same. I couldn't manage to finish the rice, but my appetite is probably smaller than average. The waiting staff were very efficient, and a waitress came to ask me what I thought of the chicken as it was the first time the chef had cooked that particular dish. I said that it was very good, but that perhaps there was a little too much mango.

My coffee had a very good flavour considering it was decaffeinated, and I appreciate the fact that there is no charge.

The ladies could do with a little attention, as there are only two cubicles and one was out of order. A few tiles need replacing in the other one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    124
    41
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“used to be amazing.... then cutbacks”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

When you order a "gourmet" fish finger sandwich at £4.50 you dont expect it to be birdseye fish fingers... we could of done that at home.
Burritos are dull looking (mince was almost grey) and had a funny aftertaste... ended up just eating the tortilla and my mums chicken open sandwich had a hair in it, the kids meals looked ok, no complaints from them but they are 7 and just wanted to finished their lunch so they could have icecream.

This used to be our regular place to eat on a friday or saturday but now its gone down hill - will be visiting Yonkers more often instead

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnieDoughnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fun place for a drink, nicely furnished and what looked like a good menu. We only went for drinks but will visit again later for a meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ponge69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Merely average”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food was well presented and portions weren't to bad but there was no real wow factor. Looks like they have some good offers if you're lucky enough to be in the on the random days and times there on. Probably wont return for a while.
Glass of red wine, coke and a tiny kids coke over £10

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Midweek dinners”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

As always top quality food and service. As much a I try I can not find any points to mark this icon of Southsea down. Been shopping so popped in for early dinner. staff are always helpfull and by 7.00pm it was buzzing. There a few resturants/coffee shops in Southsea that would do well to get one to BI and see how it's done properly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Belle Isle also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Belle Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing