We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice pub!!”
Review of Spice Island Inn

Spice Island Inn
Ranked #238 of 655 Restaurants in Portsmouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Spice Island Inn is situated on The Point in Old Portsmouth with the most beautiful view across Portsmouth's busy harbour, Gunwharf Quays and the Spinnaker Tower. Originally 3 pubs that were converted into one in 1991. We are an exceptionally busy pub in the warmer summer months and if you want to have a leisurely drink and/or something to eat this is the place for you. We have 2 bars and tables in the upper bar can be reserved, there are a number of seats outside too which are very well used in the summer months. Some people believe Spice Island is a restaurant, but in reality it is a pub with a good food offering. Our speciality dish is hand battered fish & chips which is popular with many of our customers. We do hire out our upper bar for private functions and events.There is always at least 3 cask conditioned ales available, with guest ales making a regular appearance.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a nice pub!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went to this pub whilst attending a course in Portsmouth for a week.... Great weather, sat outside every night..... Good crowd goes about it.... Mixed..... Lovely view over the whole harbour..... Interesting history of building.... Food was nice

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tailgunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    150
    89
    86
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good helpings”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice walk along Southsea seafront with my parents to shake off the cobwebs for the new year. Thought we'd have a small bite to eat and liked the look of the menu. We ordered some club sandwiches and chips and although it took a while to arrive(it was a busy Sunday and we were in no hurry) the food was really nice and the helpings were very generous. Lovely views of the harbour and all the things happening. Staff were very friendly and polite.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank montagneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a drink with a view”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

great views of portsmouth harbour whatever the weather. can get quite rowdy in the evening but well behaved fun. friendly staff, well organised to cope with the busy trade. great in the summer sitting outside in the sun watching the boats coming in and out of the harbour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Tradition pub in a terrific location”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A great pub to visit as part of a stroll around Portsmouths waterfront, and Gunwharf Quay. The fish and chips, which appear to be very popular, are well presented and delicious. The only negative on this visit, is the time it takes for coffee, and that holds up the bar service.
Perhaps the other customers who wanted coffee didnt have the stomach for a drink on New Years Day!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nothing To Write Home About”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I attended this pub for my work's Xmas do on the 8th of December 2012. I can't really say too much as everyone's meals seemed rather cobbled together. All the mains came with roast potatoes and a bland selection of veg. Even the salmon came like this (seriously?). However the food was acceptable, but nothing more than that. Service was friendly but extremely slow that night, despite not exactly being overrun with punters.

I understand that this place is quite a hot spot in Portsmouth due to it's location and views of the harbour. Personally there is nothing here to draw me back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpiceIslandInn, Manager at Spice Island Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Having just seen your review - if things were not quite to your liking on the night I would have like to have had the opportunity to have put it right when I could have rather than read about it after the event. On the menu it did say that the dishes came with roast potatoes and seasonal vegetables.

We quite like our view and are sorry that we wont be to welcoming you back to Spice Island in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Island Inn also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Spice Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing