We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Excellent place, with good service and good food, easy walk to Gun Wharf Quay and Historic Dockyard. The hotel has a facility of save parking in Dockyard car park which is good and not far to walk and at half price.
One down thing if you have a bad back do not have room 3 as the bed is a good size but very soft mattress.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alby_lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 429 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

Owners very friendly, we had lunch which was lovely. The room was nice and clean, television although we didn't use it, too busy enjoying the real ales in the lounge bar. Bar staff really welcoming and friendly, good banter.

Our only minus was the Breakfast which we felt let the George down, in fact I didn't eat my cooked breakfast, the eggs were undercooked and I have never seen such a pale looking yokes ever! Everything from milk, butter etc, laid out on a table was warm, it was a hot morning.

We hope the owners take this on board, as we were surprised at the lack of quality on the breakfast, considering we had a lovely lunch the previous day.

It will not stop us returning, but perhaps not have breakfast, that is unless it has improved

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The George Hotel is a charming place to stay in its own way, staff are friendly and very helpful, very close to shops restaurants and 2 min walk to the Historic ship yards. Value for money room was very spacious but the decor was a little tired, but that didn't detract from the Portsmouth experience. Nice little bar to sit and relax while enjoying a drink. Breakfast was nothing flash or fancy basic cooked breakfast or Continental, but enjoyable, waitress was a little blasé but not rude, this might offend some people but hay you get what you pay for. Yes I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peter_fitzgerald67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the George Hotel for two nights for our eldest daughters graduation. The room (no 3) was very spacious and we were glad of the fan in the room with the very hot weather at the moment. The included breakfast on both mornings was very good. The location of the hotel is very handy for the harbour, historic dock yard and if you like shopping, Gunwharf. We have been coming to Portsmouth a lot whilst our daughter has been at the university and usually stayed at the Premier Inn on the sea front. I wish we had found the George earlier. Very good value and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gazza45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The George Hotel is excellent value for money very clean, the rooms were just perfect. Would definitely recommend them and would stop again without hesitation. Close to local amenities as well and also the car park is near by.
It had everything you would need for a weekend break. The food and service was brilliant.

A Bye

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andybye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The George Hotel is a pub, nothing more, but what it lacks for in "boutique"gimmicks.. It makes up with in friendliness, location, lovely breakfast. The room was large and clean.. Bed comfortable. The only bug bear was the shower... It was difficult to get the right temp.. But as it was a rather hot sticky day, I put up with a cool rather than hot shower. We visit Portsmouth at least three times a year... And if The George has vacancies, I can't see us staying anywhere else, just not having to pay for taxis, the £5.00 car parking charge for all day, and the price of the drinks in the bar would make it worthwhile. Lovely experience thanks to all the staff, it was a late, late booking that turned out to be a good move.

Room Tip: Probably away from the road... But we still managed to get a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

An outstanding experience. Lovely clean rooms. Outstanding owners, Paul and Nikki. Outstanding staff: all polite, helpful and 'fun'. Help available for all our needs ( we are Seniors). Breakfasts excellent as are meals. Prices are fair and reasonable. Local users of the licenced premises are friendly, interesting and welcoming ( of course as long as you are!). It is a safe place to be. Proximity to Historic areas, buses, is excellent. Secure reduced rate parking is a real bonus. There are stairs and these are unavoidable in a building of this age.
This place was once a naval hostelry in the 17th century so holds an history all of its own.

Some traffic noise is unavoidable but my room (6) was on the road side of the hotel and it was no problem. Fans are provided in summer to help with the heat. Some reviews comment on misuse of language in the bar. Well, sorry, but I spent time in the bar chatting, and any (rare) misuse was followed by embarrassed apology. Not something for guests to worry about. The Licensees run a strict bar and this place is safe and good mannered.

We will return next year if not before and recommend The George without reservation.

Room Tip: If you need a lot of light try room 6 There is some traffic noise but easily ignored. Did not see ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 84 Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $94 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing