We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice and Cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We didn't stop in the hotel but had two meals in the hotel.
The staff were very welcoming and the food in the evening and on Sunday was well cooked with plenty to eat .The cost of the food was competitive with the other local pubs . The bar and eating area was welcoming warm and very cosy. As we were in Portsmouth for the weekend of the storm (October 25th / 26th) we found ourselves in the hotel on more than a few times and the welcome was always the same from all the staff. Recommended.

Room Tip: Try the Sunday Lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inside36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    128
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
62
175
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The George is a hotel which happens to have a pub as its hotel bar and a restaurant attached, as opposed to a pub with rooms. The hotel is about 400 yards from the Historic Docks and about the same again from Gunwharf Quays and so provides a very convenient base for both. The rooms are well-sized, comfortable, clean, well furnished and decorated. They also serve an excellent cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights (sat&sun). We was at first annoyed that the car park we had to use(no on site parking) was full and had to queue to get in there for about 30min,after driving for 3 hours to get there this was not ideal.when we got into the hotel we were greeted by very friendly staff who showed us to our room. The room was ok but nothing amazing. We went out straight away and found its location perfect for the historical dock yard and shopping centre.This plus the price it's best points. The breakfast at The George was good and the staff very friendly too.I should mention the room we stayed in you could here the noise from the bar area at night but if your one to stay up and have drink this would not be a problem.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 45micoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

It is always nice to have provided a previous favourable review to return to the George and find that they have not let you down and carry on to serve up a wonderful customer experience. I have no intention to wax lyrically about this lovely establishment, see for yourself and tell me I am wrong.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This a great place full of history and stories, really sticking to the Portsmouth theme. Had fish and chips, great food, friendly staff, full of locals. Would recommend to anyone going to have a good meal. Though I didn't stay overnight myself, family members did and they said that they had a great time. Very close to the Warrior and Gunwarf.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stumbled across this little gem whilst on holiday here, having trying to find Treadgolds Ironmongers Museum on our historical Portsmouth trail (and seeing that although the establishment was still there, there were no signs of life) and found The George just down the street. Husband was on a whitebait meal mission and the menu and attractiveness of the outside (and in) tempted us. The George is a lovely old pub/restaurant/hotel which looks as if Nelson had just stepped out of it and is about 200 yards round the corner from the Historical Naval Dockyard.

We met up with my parents who had just come back from a day trip in the Isle of Wight. We hadn't booked but this was no problem for the friendly young guy who greeted us at the door.

Interior: Restaurant is lovely, `oldly-worldly' and cosy, with the pub next door - this is a proper pub, no juke boxes (not from what I could see) and people having a quiet drink with good old fashioned banter. Loved all the nautical paintings and general ambience. Toilets are always a defining sign of a good place - it may not have the latest in interior design but more importantly, these were clean and with little extra touches. This place takes pride in its appearance.

Food: This place serves good old home-cooked, no nonsense, quality food and plenty of it too! Excellent - just what was needed after a busy day. Husband had his whitebait (starter and main, although a bizarre request, chef had no problem with!) which were generous portions, I opted for the liver, bacon and onion dish which was huge and lots of gravy too! Portions here are extremely good value for money - many places rip you off serving miniscule amounts and inferior quality with an exaggerated price tag. Wine was also very reasonable - we had a very smooth, full rounded Merlot which complemented our meals perfectly - at £12 a bottle. After being fleeced at £6.95 (!!!) for a rather nasty single glass of wine at a nearby beach bar the day before, there was no comparison. We finished with after dinner drinks as we couldn't manage puds!

We had originally thought about venturing into Gunwharf to try one of the restaurants there but glad we didn't on this occasion as this little place was comfortable, great food, reasonable and professional friendly service with the personal touch.

Would definitely recommend The George and we will certainly grace the doors again next time we are in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, Wales
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

After a late ferry crossing from Caen we decided to stay for the night at the George Hotel in Portsmouth. It is just a short drive from the port down in the area of the Historical Docks. If this is where you want to visit then it is ideally positioned for it. A short walk (about 300 yards or so) and you can see the old ships in their dock.
The bedrooms were quite old in decoration which fitted the ambiance of the hotel, but they were comfortable rooms to sleep in. We would suggest you avoid room 6 as it overlooks the main road and has the pub sign swinging on its bracket right outside the window. The creaking reminded me of the film "Psycho".
Dinner was typical of "pub-grub" but it was affordable and edible. The staff were very welcoming and breakfast in the morning was first class.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerjealin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 84 Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing