We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Place :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here when visiting my partner, hes based in portsmouth for the navy!
Lovely place, very clean and the staff at the place were/are very friendly and helpful, will definitely be staying again on my next weekend visit.
thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gem4191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    125
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
61
169
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North, VA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel couldn't be more conveniently located to the train and the historic dockyard. Our room was clean and we did not have any problem with noise. Be advised that the hotel is over a local pub, but our stay was midweek, which might have made the difference. The staff was super friendly and stored our bags for us until 8pm. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was very good. Cooked breakfast to order and assortment of fruits and cereals. We had dinner there one night and it was very good. I'd highly recommend

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed the weekend of 28/30 September. Comfortable, reasonably clean, fairly typical pub accommodation, average food. Good location for historic dockyard and gunwharf quays. We slept soundly, but the rooms are above a bar in an old building on a main road, so don't expect it to be dead quiet. The only offputting thing was the overwhelmingly strong smell of air freshener when we walked in the room, which faded after a few hours with the window wide open. the wifi worked!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This could have been a really pleasant stay. The location for the attractions of Portsmouth is great, secure car parking £5 per night across the road in a multi-storey (2.2 metre height restriction), friendly staff, pleasant breakfast, all in all fair value for an £80 room for two in a busy city centre.

We joined family on the nearby Dark Encounters ghost walk (most entertaining) and had a late drink back in the bar at The George, but sadly the 250 year old building has no soundproofing between the bar and our room (#6) directly above. Hence, we couldn't sleep until 02.30. The room above us was similarly separated by a bit of lath and plaster, so when they came to bed at 2.45 they woke us up again.

To top it all, the perspex secondary glazing is woefully inadequate, so every group of drunks on their way home at 04.00 (of which there were a few!) woke us again.

A two century old listed building can't be expected to have similar insulation to Premier Inn, so no fingers pointed here, but it would prevent us from returning, sadly :-(

Room Tip: don't try to sleep in #6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the George after travelling from Caen on the ferry. It's a great location right opposite the dockyards. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Great staff, very helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast. Staying in this very traditional English pub was a great treat for us Aussies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the George recently for three days whilst looking through the dockyards and the Mary Rose, Victory and Warrior ships, a most fascinating experience. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were very well set up for the day with an excellent well cooked breakfast and stayed for dinner there for two of the nights as were very pleased with the standard of the food. Definitely a notch up from your average pub fare. Our room (no. 10) was at the front of the building, upstairs, and had comfortable beds, lovely bathtub (great for a soak after a long days walking) and a good shower. It didn't seem particularly noisy to us at all. There is a bit of light coming into the room from outside at night (heavier curtains would fix this), which was easily dealt with by wearing my eyeshade. (That said, I am a bit sensitive to this, probably wouldn't bother most people.) Wi fi can be a bit patchy through the hotel due to its age and they are aware of this and addressing it, however we had no problem with it al all in our room. All up, this hotel delivers very well for its class and we felt that the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The George is not at all what we expected from the comments and reviews. We were nearing the end of our two week vacation in England and were heading back to the US in a couple of days. We were looking for a nice B&B near the dockyard, which was a short 5 minute walk from The George. The food service part of the pub was closed when we arrived about 1700 on Sunday. It was also closed all day on Monday, so we did not get a chance to try their food. After staying at 4 other B&B's across England the previous two weeks, we found their full English Breakfast not up to the same standards as the other B&B's we had stayed in, especially the Thornton Lodge in Easingwold, and the Altonlea in Hartleypool. We were given a room on the 3rd floor, a long climb up a narrow, winding staircase with no offer of help with our luggage. Our room was OK, but had one small window overlooking an alley, and with England being in a heat wave, it was very hot and stuffy. The bathroom did not have a shower, only a bathtub with a hand sprayer. You had to sit in the tub and try to wash off the best you could after a long, hot day. Then after we checked out, we received a rude e-mail from Nicolette Wilkinson that said we had to contact her immediately, or "she would have to make rapid decisions on what steps to take further". She said there was a cigarette burn on the "new carpet" that was installed a week ago in the room we rented. This made no sense since neither my wife or I have ever smoked, and there was no smell of smoke in the room, If there had been we wouldn't have stayed. Since we were leaving England in a day, we wanted to clear up the issue. We called and left a message, which was not returned. We sent an e-mail which she responded to. We denied the accusation and we haven't heard from her again. We truly felt that were were being scammed because we were leaving the country. The WIFI did not work the entire two days of our visit. They told us it was an issue with Apple products, but we have an Android phone and a PC. The bartender said his computer worked behind the bar, but did not offer to let us use it. Parking cost an additional 10 pounds. Obviously we have bad feelings about our stay here and would not recommend it to travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MikePAX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.1 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 84 Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing