We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently central pub with rooms”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Nice big, quiet room with very comfortable beds. Plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits on tray. Big bathroom with good hot shower. Very convenient for visiting the Victory and historic attractions. Hearty English breakfast served very quickly. Great value for money!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Grennytd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 408 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night in late May, for its ease of access to the train station (it is an easy 400m walk), the Historic Navy Dockyard (a few minutes walk) and the Brittany Ferries terminal (a short cab ride). The hotel does feel more like a ‘pub with rooms’ than a ‘hotel with restaurant’ – indeed reception is behind the bar, and you walk through the bar to access the stairs leading to the bedrooms. However our room (#6), at the top of the stairs, facing trees at the back of the hotel, was quiet, large, light and airy, with lots of storage space and a very big bathroom with huge bath – dated but all very clean. The £80 charge included full English breakfast for two - uninspiring but filling. (Apparently there are hair driers on hooks somewhere in an upstairs corridor but we only became aware of this in a conversation with other guests, shortly before we left.)

Room Tip: Room 6 faces the rear and is quiet (it is furthest from the bar and busy street); there is only one...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Pleasant room but facing the main Road so was noisy. Wifi did not work. Fairly clean but there Were hairs in the shower. Unhygenic velour headboard. Carpets very dated. Cooked breakfast was ok but not brilliant. Ok for the Price of £80. Parking over the Road for half Price. Close to dockyard, shops and gunwharf quays.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Close to main attractions and a short walk to shopping precinct. Lovely clean rooms, friendly staff and great breakfast. Steps are a little steep if you are not nimble on your feet especially after a few tipples in the bar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived in Portsmouth without our accommodation booked. Driving around the wharf area we were lucky to find The George.

The bedroom and bathroom were a little tired but comfortable - overall though the perfect pub experience. Great price, excellent location and breakfast included. They could also accommodate for gluten free. Also access to parking in adjacent building.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had been staying in a large beautiful hotel in London for several nights before arriving In Portsmouth and the George. Hard to compare and give a fair review since properties are quite different. Used to 5 star type of property but wanted to try a local style b&b.

Easy 5 minute walk from train/ ferry. Greeted on arrival by name and with a smile by owner (Nikki) and taken to my room (9) immediately. Very top of the thin stairwell on third floor--- idea of fire and how to escape made me nervous! As we walked up the stairs the smell of disinfectant got stronger and stronger ( never faded during my stay)
Room was small but quite clean. Clearly showing its age on the nightstand, carpet and walls. Bath was adequate but also showing its age.
Everything about the stay was fine...just kinda old and showing age.
Probably the best around and certainly the price is right. Depends on what you want from your stay. Yes, I'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I found the George Hotel on Trip Advisor several months before I traveled to Portsmouth, UK and received prompt replies to my emails. The owner, Nikki, gave me info on transportation to Heathrow and other questions I asked. Upon arrival I was warmly greeted and offered early check in and help with my luggage up two flights of stairs to my room.
The room was clean, bright and fresh smelling with a comfortable bed, nice linens and a well equipped tea and coffee making set up with tasty cookies. The bathroom, also very clean, had plenty of towels, hot water and good lighting.
Room 9 was quiet and comfortable, small, but perfect for a single traveler, and a very good value at £50. Including a full English breakfast. And what a delicious breakfast served in the charming dining room where a good value lunch or dinner is offered Tuesday - Sunday.
Nikki cooks the perfect scrambled eggs, with bacon, sausage, mushrooms and tomato. A pot of tea or coffee, toast and juice is promptly served. If you prefer they offer cereal, yogurt, fruit, too.
The George Hotel is well located if you come to visit the Historic Dockyard, the waterfront, or to arrive or depart on a ferry or cruise ship. I walked everywhere for two days, but there is good local bus service if you prefer. It's a five minute walk to the bus and train station with a National Express bus to the London airports. I highly recommend this attractive traditional pub hotel. The cozy pub dates from 1780, so it's not a modern facility, but an historic experience in a friendly setting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summerinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.0 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
759 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 84 Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $120 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing