We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard yo”
Review of Yo Sushi - Portsmouth - CLOSED

Yo Sushi - Portsmouth
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: a new restaurant opened at Gunwharf Quays in Portsmouth, part of the chain.
South East, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Standard yo”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

As expected for a chain. Some of my food was very small however so I asked them to check the weights of the pieces and they brought new and bigger slices back. Overall ok and good location within gun wharf.

Helpful?
Thank phoenixf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    19
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Take away the novelty, what's left?”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've been to Yo Sushi before, to one in London where the belt wasn't working and wondered why would you bother to go to one without that novelty. At this one the belt worked, so it was fun.
My teenage daughter had been before with a group of friends, and loved the concept.
The food is interesting and tasy, but unless you have (say) a ramen is largely pre-prepared.
It could have been very busy, but wasn't because one side was closed and customers were having to wait for seats.
Service not very good -I had to hassle for a second spoon so we could share a dish.
Value for money is not good -micro-helpings, and if you wanted to leave feeling satisfied you would have to take out a mortgage. And I was not warned that if I took a drink of tap water from the "help-yourself" dispenser at the place I would be charged over a pound -rubbish value!
And at the till they tried to over-charge by one additional expensive dish.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catzzndogzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Express sushi”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have had sushi at YO before and to be honest what I like about it is that I can just sit and start eating almost immediately. Service was quick even on a busy night. The sushi was decent but definitely not the best I've had. The prices also were relatively fair.

All in all it was a decent experience

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We all enjoyed our first ever visit to a Yo Sushi :)”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

it was our first ever visit to a Sushi Bar and we were apprehensive after reading the reviews on here ; however we all enjoyed it. We went early on a Sunday evening and it was quite busy . The staff were friendly and helpful and explained what we had to do . Our teenagers loved the novelty of picking the food off the conveyor belt . My only moan would be the twice we ordered hot food dishes we had to ask again after about 20 minutes - both times they seemed to have forgotten about our orders as were serving hot dishes to others around us much quicker !!! NIce to be able try lots of different foods we hadnt ever had before.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucylu73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Soulless”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We usually really like Yo Sushi and were thrilled to see this one open in Gunwharf quays... The usual buzz that you can find at YoSushi's is completely lost here... The belt is typically very empty and the plates on it are often the basic green beans, salad or desserts... things that come readily packaged... all sushi and maki that require some prep seem not to make it on the belt. We have visited this YoSushi several times and it really seems that only when, who I think is the regional manager is in the restaurant, the place seems to run smoothly. When we visit when an another manager is present the staff seems to be very laid-back and not focused on the task at hand. If you like YoSushi because of the speedy service and freshness then this is not the Yo! for you... Try Guildford or Southampton instead.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo Sushi - Portsmouth also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing