We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere and kind staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waverley Park Lodge

Waverley Park Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waverley Park Lodge
Ranked #24 of 33 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and kind staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The double room was of a suitable size, with small but recently renewed bathroom.
The position of the guest house was confortable, being to a reasonable distance both from the seaside and the city centre.
At the moment they were able to offer just continental breackfast (not full english) but we had a price reduction for the inconvenient. The only minor issue was the absence of a radiator in the bathroom, easily resolved leaving the door open for a while befor taking a shower.
Personnel was nice and friendly and available for any need.

Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enlil90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry S, Owner at Waverley Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments
Regards
Garry and Nikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
14
24
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

After over 20yrs of staying in hotels,guesthouses and b&b's, I can honestly say this is one of the cleanest, and best guesthouses I've ever stayed in!
The rooms are excellent, spotlessly clean with lovely decor and nice en-suits. Rooms are serviced everyday, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and it's a pleasure to give the owner Gary your money.
All guesthouse owners should come here and see how guests are meant to be treated!
10 out of 10!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry S, Owner at Waverley Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Wow
Thank you
Your review was a pleasure to read and i hope you will visit us again
i have a smile from ear to ear
Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Room 2 has no form of heating in the tiny bathroom, there were small black mould patches under the window and a thick crust of black mould all around the shower tray. The missing chunk of tile in the bathroom had been filled in with grout and the bit hanging off the door had been put back in place with 5 big nails.

At 8am my husband was accosted outside the front door by a man demanding to know if he was the brother of so-and-so and were they in. Having answered no, my husband came in and shut the door behind him. The man then exploded in a fit of rage. It was a bit unclear between all the shouting and swearing, but it appears someone to do with the owners owes £100 for something and he wants his money immediately. Having failed to obtain his money, he kicked the front door before storming off.

The breakfast cook seemed to know something about the background to all of this - perhaps the owners could resolve the issue before he comes back and burns the place down or brings a sledgehammer with him.

Our friends were also present in the breakfast room during this incident and offered to provide their details in case the police became involved and need witnesses.

We paid £110 for two night. The Ibis would have been much cleaner, less threatening and better value although admitedly we would have had to pay for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry S, Owner at Waverley Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
The money owed was for papers owed by a lady who died on Christmas day, the bill was not mine and therefore not mine to pay and should be dealt with by her estate. it is important that all our customers and customers of other establishments are felt to feel welcome and safe and i thank anybody who left contact details in case the idiot should return which i feel is most unlikely.
Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights back in the summer while flat hunting in the area. The hotel is in a great location and we experienced none of the grumpy service or problems with our room or breakfast that a lot of the other reviewers seemed to! I would suggest perhaps that the staff respond better to friendly customers... Understandably!

We live round the corner now but would definitely book friends and family in here when they come to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whoishannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry S, Owner at Waverley Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you very much
I'm very happy we looked after you and you left with a very big smile
kind regards
Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have been staying in Waverley Park Lodge for the best part of the last 6 months whilst working away from home. During that time I have only had one minor problem which was very quickly resolved by the helpful staff.

The rooms are clean, have ample storage and en suite bathrooms. The staff are friendly and the breakfast was tasty and of a reasonable size. On street parking is a bit limited but I always managed to find a space.

In short it has everything you need and represents good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry S, Owner at Waverley Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
We hope you will visit Portsmouth again and consider staying with us
Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheldon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have just stayed two nights at the Waverly B&B, on arrival i introduced myself (having pre booked over the phone) a lady that opened the door never said anything but walked off down the hallway, i followed and was lead into a kitchen, she asked my name which she wrote on a wipe clean board in the kitchen. she then asked me for the £70 for my two nights stay. I asked to see the room first and was taken to a very small room at the rear of the property. O.k it was small but at least it was clean, i was on my own so it would do. the room was 8foot by 7foot with a single bed.small cupboard with 4 hangers in it. no other furniture was in the room, there was a kettle,cup and tea and coffee. off the room was my en suit, which had no door on it to seperate it from the bed room. whilst laying on my bed i had the view of the loo 5feet away. the shower was a mission you had to step up into it 2foot off the floor, one small towel was supplied. at least the shower was hot.Breakfast was served the next morning, i had pre ordered a full english..it arrived,one small rasher of bacon,one small sausage one egg and two spoones of beans with one round of toast. I thought it was a chids portion.it was served by a cheery man who was at least chatty. my main concern was there was no fire evacuation signs anywhere none of the doors were fire doors. maybe i am wrong but i thought this should be in place should an emergency happen.parking was where ever you could get a space on the streets around. if you find one dont move your car or you will loose the space.I sat on the bench in the front garden of the B&B having a smoke only to be challenged by two crack heads for me to hand over my fags or they would take them from me. once they realised i would not be intimadated they moved on, this happened more than once. i know this is not the fault of the b&b but be warned this is the area they are in. Would i stay here again NO.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheldonTravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and by the the end we were tearing our hair out the staff weren't accomodating and the breakfast was awful we were told that we had to come down for breakfast at 8 o'clock because it was more convenient for them and when we asked if we could have a different breakfast from yesterday they answered a stern no!

we would never stay here again and would advise not too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebeautyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry S, Owner at Waverley Park Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
During your stay with us at the Waverley Park Lodge you gave us the impression you were very happy. It is a shame that you and your friend “silky queen” had to give us negative feedback at the same time so as to maximise the negativity you could inflict upon us.
We did have set times for breakfast as we had a very small dining room and could not accommodate everybody at the same time. Our new modernised dining room is now open and rather than set times we now have a breakfast period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.5 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Lodge Bed & Breakfast
White Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 33 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.2 mi away
Duke Of Buckingham
Duke Of Buckingham
#6 of 33 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#30 of 33 in Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Park Lodge

Property: Waverley Park Lodge
Address: 99 Waverley Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing