We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class Indian restaurant with views to match”
Review of Bombay Bay

Bombay Bay
Ranked #114 of 661 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Top class Indian restaurant with views to match”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We hadn't been here for about a year, so decided to go for an early evening meal. The restaurant itself is still bright and clean, with air-conditioning and excellent views. The staff are friendly and efficient, even when it started to fill up towards the end of the meal. Ordering from the set-menu (which actually covers most things on the menu) makes it a reasonably-priced meal (£13.95 for starter and main, with rice). Drinks are reasonable as well.
Poppadums always arrive before the starters, gratis. The food is not your average Indian meal, although they do standard curries as well. You can ask for variations in strength. The chef's specials are different, interesting, and beautifully cooked and presented.
The only weakness is desserts, which look interesting, but are frozen, pre-packaged ice-cream variations. But you can't have everything.
On a lovely day you won't find anywhere nicer to eat, and even if it isn't good weather, it's still worth the trip out for the food. I know it's a bit of a trip from town, but well worth the effort of getting there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    60
    14
    3
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, views, and service”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was back visiting Portsmouth this week and thought it was a great excuse to return to the Bombay Bay with friends. Just as I had remembered the restaurant offers a great selection of very tasty dishes, and good service. I had a chicken sheem bishi, garlic nan, and side of sag paneer. The food tastes fresh and light, and is good value. The views from the restaurant are great, particularly on a sunny evening!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food and views”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The tandori mix grill great taste .The view over looking the marina you could be in any med restuarant great place to take your girl friend for somewhere different .Reasonable prices too

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capetownstormers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing and unusual food”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

So much choice and many dishes we'd never heard of. I had the Chom Chom for my main, it was gorgeous. The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly, getting a tables set for us inside whilst we enjoyed drinks on the balcony, enjoying the view of the Marina, then calling us once our starters we ready to be served. The only down side was the lack of a decent beer for the men. Will certainly eat there if we are in the area again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maziemaypoozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ate here with friends recently as we have not been for sometime.Everything was great,food,service,decor.Cannot put anything negative.Will return sooner next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Bay also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Bombay Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing