We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Apartment”
Review of Admiralty Quarter

Admiralty Quarter
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Admiralty Quarter
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartment”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My family and I stayed here when visiting my sister who goes to Uni in Portsmouth for her 21st. The apartment is just round the corner from Gunwharf and Spinnaker Tower, so very close to shops and restaurants which is ideal. We were on the top floor so the views were spectacular of the harbour. The rooms were very comfortable and the facilities very good except the entire time we were there the Wi Fi wouldn't work. All in all we had a great time and will be looking at staying again in the near future, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Perfect location for visiting Portsmouth Historic Dockyard - just 5 minutes walk away and Gunwharf Quays for outlet shopping and good restaurants, about 8 minutes walk.
We booked 2 apartments (43 and 44); both very high spec and well equipped with fabulous views from the 12th floor overlooking the harbour. Arrangements for parking and picking up the keys couldn't have been easier and signs to HISTORIC DOCKYARD from major routes driving into Portsmouth were very straight forward. The mainline train station at The Hard Portsmouth is also only about 8 minutes walk so would be very convenient for non-drivers.

Welcome pack for breakfast was good as was the bottle of wine!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Lovely apartment and we would stay again but not in the summer as I would think it would be impossible to sleep due to heat, we stayed in October and found it very warm at night no heating needed! Great location wonderful views and apartment meets all requirements I really think improvements could be made regarding information on collecting keys was a bit confusing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was elated to manage to book an apartment for a short break with my son at very short notice. (Everywhere else was fully booked.) The 2 bedroom apartment - 1 en suite with a shower cubicle and the other serviced by a large family bathroom - was superb and the views over the dockyard and the Solent, from the balcony and through windows filling 2 sides of the living room - were fantastic. We had No 43 on the 12th floor and, due to the fantastic weather, it did get very hot. Tip - close the blinds before going out for the day and open the balcony doors on returning. Unlike one review, we noticed no noise to interrupt sleep but the duvet provided made sleep difficult as the apartment was so warm. The fully equipped kitchen and welcome pack were very good - in fact the whole apartment was fitted out to a high standard with everything we needed including a washer/dryer. No car parking problems as we travelled by train and the station was less than 5 minutes walk away. In fact, practically everything we went to see and all the places we used for dining were within a 10 minute walk. Do visit old Portsmouth, which is delightful and which we 'discovered' on a very interesting coastal walk back from Southsea Castle. Niggles, and the reason I've marked 'Service' as poor: This is not a serviced apartment - we couldn't get the lamp in the living room to work and a bedside lamp bulb blew. These were reported but no one came to fix them during the 4 days we were there. Also with other apartments we've rented for holidays both at home and abroad, there has been an additional TV in at least 1 of the bedrooms (not that we went on holiday to watch TV) and a land-line telephone provided but there were neither here. 1 person has mentioned no grab rails over the family bath, which I thought was a strange complaint, but the bath is lethal to stand up in when having a shower - needs a non-slip mat provided. In other apartments, we've always been supplied with 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels each no matter how short the stay - here you get 1 bath/1 hand towel each. Niggles apart, had a great time here and pleased I chose Portsmouth and these apartments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AssaultonPrecinct13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Crow's Nest is a great 2-bed apartment with superb views over the harbour and dockyard from the sitting room (with balcony). The sitting room had a very sunny aspect both in the afternoon and evening (it did get quite hot during the July 2013 heatwave). Comfortable bedrooms, one with en-suite facilities, plenty of hanging & drawer storage space. Spacious main bathroom. Well-equipped kitchen. The comprehensive welcome pack was a nice touch! Historic Dockyard is a short walk, Gunwharf is about 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: If you arrive by car, enter the Historic Dockyard car park and find a public parking space on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedyrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just returned from a short stay in Admiralty Tower in this lovely stunning apartment on the 12th Floor. My Son sat on the balcony at every opportunity and watched the ferries as they arrived and departed. The sunset is to die for. This is a two bedroom apartment with balcony. It has one en suite and 1 bathroom. Beds where comfy just wished they had a twin bedded room instead of two doubles. The double beds are just a standard size, king size would be better. The bath needs grab rail supports difficult to get in/out. Cups/plates not cleaned properly had to wash them before use. Would expect a more thorough clean for price. Be warned this apartment gets the full sun nearly all day and gets extremely hot. No air conditioning. Nice welcome pack. On leaving apartment stray off the beaten track and the area is very run down we found it very noises at night, ie: traffic and drunks. Just a short walk to The Navel Docklands also Gosport ferry. Even with the niggles the apartment was lovely and would stay again.

Room Tip: No 44 is lovely apartment but as mentioned gets very hot due to sun on it all day, Even on the 12th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed here over the Christmas period, renting one of the three bedroom apartments. The apartment was very well set up and the welcome package was very much appreciated. The apartment quite easily accommodated 8 for Christmas lunch with enough crockery and cutlery to handle all. I very much enjoyed my stay there and will be back

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karamarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiralty Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Quarter

Property: Admiralty Quarter
Address: Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiralty Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Admiralty Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing