We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over night to see Daughter's new house.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Over night to see Daughter's new house.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Quick visit to spend time with Daughter & Son in Law who had moved to Horndean the week before. Like all Premier Inn's it was clean, comfortable and provided what it said it would.

Check in was quick, staff efficent, polite and friendly. Only issue for us was the stairs as we were on the 2nd floor. Next time we will ask for a ground floor room.

Thanks to all concerned. Jan J

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    69
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
88
76
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Rooms smal but not cramped, mattresses on the hard side. Clean and well kept, In room wireless only 30 minutes free, and not a good signal, Had a vey hard tiem finding this place, even with a GPS it's not obvious. The Beefeater Restaurant down the hill is quite good especially for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing.Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is the usual Premier Inn standard, with excellent staff and clean well maintained rooms. It is in a slightly scruffy area but is well located for the motorways. If stairs are a problem for you then be aware that there's no lift here, but there are ground floor rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennisfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have stayed here many times over the years and this stay was as good as ever. The refurbishment of the hotel has taken place since we were last there and it was great to see the new stylish TV's and the different decor. A big thank you to Julia and Lou in the hotel and Emily in the restaurant for their consistent excellent service and friendly approach to things. Also great to see some new staff, who are carrying on the tradition of excellent service.
Breakfast was as good as ever but if you want to go to the restaurant in the evening I would always book early as its always popular and gets busy very quickly.
Great location for discovering Portsmouth, Gunwharf Quays, Hayling Island and Southsea. Even worth a stay over the night before or after a trip to the Isle of Wight. You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: two sides basically roadside and car park. We have never had a problem in either side. This is a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrek1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Ten of us stayed at the hotel this last weekend to go to HMS Victory and the Mary Rose Museum - we stayed two nights and our children and grandchildren stayed on Saturday.

The beds are the most comfortable that we have every slept in in a hotel!

The rooms were clean and tidy and the rooms were very good value for the price paid and far greater and better value than rival chains.

The restaurant is full most of the time so please don't expect fast service - its good but not speedy and providing it's a holiday break it shouldn't matter that it takes an extra five minutes before the meals arrive.

Hats off to our waiter and the kitchen on Sunday morning who managed to accurately record ten different breakfasts and get them all correct when the plates arrived at the table.

A strong recommendation for the hotel given the price that we paid. Its not de luxe but it's clean, comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Large clean comfortable room, 40" tv's now fitted.
The first morning the car was covered in bird poo as I was parked under trees, a member of staff insisted in cleaning it off for me. They went the extra mile.



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel over the period 26 Feb to 1 March 2014 whilst away on business. The check-in was very easy and very welcoming, the whole process was very quick with no problems. I had been warned that a minor refurbishment was underway and although there was a slight whiff of new paint about the place the contractors had managed to keep any sign of their presence to an absolute minimum. Upstairs the room was very clean and presented to a high standard. During my stay I came back on the 3rd evening to find a brand new 47 inch TV had been installed on the wall opposite the bed. This had been accomplished with no mess and the TV was ready for use. I use Premier Inns as a preference when I travel on business and I have yet to come across a bad one. The staff were all very helpful and that always makes for a good stay. Coming back again next week.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris251C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
8.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
9.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
Address: 2 Havant Road | Horndean, Portsmouth PO2 7HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set off to explore Hampshire's finest national parks and the city of Portsmouth, just 15 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing