We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We only stayed one night to break a journey but the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, the suggestion to book for dinner at the TableTable restaurant was spot on as it got busy when we arrived. Our waitress was excellent and the food good, kids under 15 eat free - although this did not apply to us. We will definitely use this hotel again on this route

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have just returned home from a two night stay at the premier Inn Horndean and can honestly say it was perfect.The reception staff were very friendly especially NIcola who was kind enough to make me a cup of coffee while we waited for our taxi.The rooms are spotlessly clean with wonderfull beds and pillows .We had dinner and breakfast in the adjoining pub/restaurant and that was very enjoyable also.The staff are vey friendly and helpfulll especially James who made us feel very welcome.Breakfast was good with lovely freshly cooked food and and service with as smile.I would not hesitate to return to the hotel and thought is was good value for money.Well done Premier Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 and it was perfect in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonlady186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked last minute without realising it was festival of speed at Goodwood, hotel is ok location is travelling to Southampton but ask for rooms facing the rear of the hotel away from the main dual carriageway . Prices were way overpriced due to festival of speed , rooms were ok but not worth the money charged. Road noise is an issue... Would not stay here again ...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnydays24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked this Premier Inn as it was the nearest hotel to a wedding we were attending. As it was a Friday/Saturday night in July it was not particularly cheap, but comparable with other hotels on those days. We were greeted by a friendly efficient staff member at check-in, everything explained, payment taken and soon in our room. As expected, big enough, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed. The only issue we had was that there was a very thick winter duvet on the bed, in my opinion too thick for a normal summer night, and especially so as there was a heatwave at this time. Reception gave us a sheet to use instead, which helped. For the rest the stay was great, breakfast in the pub was very good, all the staff were excellent, coming back after the wedding the lady on night duty asked if we had had a good day and had a nice chat with us.

This was my second stay in a Premier Inn and once again I was totally satisfied, and again I would advise anyone contemplating booking a Travelodge in the UK to think again, pay the extra and go for Premier Inn, the experience is so much better!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJCNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Business took me to Goodwood so the Premier Inn at Horndean was close enough and a great find. As mentioned previously by other reviews be careful with your sat nav as mind sold me a little short but a left turn by the pub and the carpark entrance was easy to see. Despite being on the road and next to a busy arterial route I didn't find noise an issue at all.

Check in was friendly and efficient as was my service from reception staff over my three night stay. The room itself had air conditioning which was a godsend and the typical £3 a day for slower than 3G wifi which was an annoyance to say the least!

I ate at the pub across the carpark and found the food, beer and service to be great with a friendly welcome whether in the evening or first thing at 06:30 for breakfast.

Overall a good quiet hotel close to main link roads I'll definitely stay again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noddyinnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Having stayed in a Travel Lodeg the previsou weekend with the family and having to make the kids beds without enough pillows or towels, we were expremely happy with the Premier Inn. The room was spacious and the kids each got a bed (that was nicely made up for us). We all had towels and there were cups for us all too. The room was clean, spcaiou sand modern. The TV had loads of channels. The shower was amazing!!!!
Staff were really friendly and helpful and it was so removed from our experience the weekend before that I will now go out of my way to stay at a PI. Whilst checking in, the lady convinced us to have breakfast at the Table Table restaurant attached and it was great food. Kids ate free and after eating our fill we didn't need lunch!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nic_hipBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for one night after arriving around 22:00hrs, from a cross-channel ferry. The staff were most pleasant throughout but unfortunately in other areas the experience was not to be so good.
Our room (20 or 22) I think, was a real hotchpotch [hodgepodge N. American]. Possibly a piece of formerly useless space converted in a desperate attempt to eek out a few more pounds per square metre. The window, usually of the anti-suicide variety in Premier Inns, i.e. will only open a few inches, was sealed up. A long-redundant unlocking handle flailed around without any current use. Therefore, our only means of a change of air was to turn on the bathroom light which, in turn, was connected to the extract fan. Fortunately, television was not needed, as it could only be swung into a position at about 90 degrees to the bed, therefore all but ruling out any comfortable viewing. To enjoy TV one would need to either sit on the bottom corner of the bed, or, line up the one comfy chair, whilst taking care not to obstruct the view of your room mate.
We enjoyed an early breakfast being first down, having been warned that they had 170+ reservations, mainly from "Fathers Day" celebrants. The multi-roomed restaurant had been re-organised for this anticipated exceptional day of profit making but It felt like chaos was lurking as we sashayed back to the car, dodging the gathering hoards of excitable expectant diners. Sadly, many of the restaurant seat covers appeared somewhat stained, possibly the result of earlier mass gatherings, or, maybe to blend in with a Pizza feast.

Room Tip: Avoid one of rooms 20 or 22, I do not remember which, unless you dislike a change of air or, watchin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rg4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
6.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,279 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#32 of 39 in Portsmouth
444 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
9.9 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel

Address: 2 Havant Road | Horndean, Portsmouth PO2 7HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $60 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set off to explore Hampshire's finest national parks and the city of Portsmouth, just 15 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing