We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“treated well by staff for a special occassion”

Las Iguanas - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #23 of 651 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“treated well by staff for a special occassion”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

we stayed in Gun wharf for our anniversary to visit the Mary Rose and booked a table online. The food was great and the staff very attentive. When we told them it was a special occassion they brought free cocktails over which was a nice touch. The nachos were brilliant very tasty and had some tapas to go with it. All in all no complaints and good value as it was 241 happy hr on cocktails!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debraphillips2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    249
    83
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
520 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,149 helpful votes
“Nice Brazilian tapas and great cocktails!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ended up having diner at Las Iguanas during happy hour, so 2 for 1 cocktails. And these were pretty good! Started with tapas (Mexican / Brazilian) and main course of Brazilian Paella. Good taste, but nothing was spicy unfortunately. Service was good, so all in all, enjoyed good food and great drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First visit, pretty good”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our first vist, it was a family outing, so chose this as they offered a varied range that would please everyone.
We booked using their on-line service, which worked. On arrival there was a large stag party of guys dressed up as blues brothers so bit worried it might get roudy but they added to the atmosphere.
Waitress was very pleasant and attentive, food was very good (slightly small portions) compared to others but was quickly prepared and all delivered together, (wish all restaurants could achieve this).
Prices's are comparable to the rest of gunwharf, I will return again as I was spolit for choice on their menu so would like to try other dishes, and maybe their cocktails as had to drive on this visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tyw826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst service ever! Twice in a row.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Extremely dissapointed with the service. This was our second viit after the first one not been the best, we thought we'd give them anothe chance. Although the restaurant was nearly empty at 5pm, they asked us if we had a reservation. When we said no we dont, they looked at us as if they couldnt sit us. Eventually after looking for the reservation chart, the lady found us a table at the very back of the restaurant. ( i repeat, the place was nearly empty). We sat there for 20 min and nobody came to greet us or take any sort of orders (not even drinks). We have never done this before, but we decided to get up and leave. We passed by the waitress who was serving our section, she didint look surprised that we left, instead she said thank you for coming - completely oblivious of anything. We went passed the hostess who sat us down who also didnt react at the fact that we were leaving.
We had never experienced such a terrible service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Copeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasIguanasHQ, Owner at Las Iguanas - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear that we appear to have let you down not just once but twice. I hope you will give us the opportunity to find out what went wrong on this most recent visit. I'd be grateful if you could drop me a line with a contact telephone number, your name and trip advisor name so I can ask our Area Manager to give you a call. My email is lucy@iguanas.co.uk. Lucy- Las Iguanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“still the best tapas around”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Husband and I are always up for a new place, but after a couple of disappointments food-wise on this day trip we were ecstatic to see a place we had loved so much on our trip to Cardiff last year. The menu was still pretty impressive looking, so we asked to sit. We were told that though half of the restaurant was empty, they were booked solid for the next three hours, but we could sit outside at the more than ample outdoor seating. Im sure that this had something to do with short staffing, but that always looks a little sad. Then we found out that if you wanted to sit outside they would indeed bring your food, but that you have to order at the bar. Thats a bar scene kind of thing, not what i would expect from a restaurant that had roughly 40 tables outside, twice as many as inside.
Everything was neat and clean, we had several tapas dishes that were creatìve and delicious, and came out super fast, and there were still many interesting things we have yet to try. The only problem we really had was that it was impossible for me to get served at the bar. Peoplepushed past me and the bartenders ignored me.I do understand being crowded on a weekend but ignoring customers and it taking 20 mins plus to get a glass of water is not understandable. All that said, I asked for a manager and she was there in roughly two minutes and immediately offered tohelp us and get us some drinks. Ithink that they really need to change their policy about their outdoor seating to avoid this kind of issue, but they solved it so quickly and profesionally that I would be more than pleased to visit again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenJenMcMostard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Iguanas - Gunwharf Quays also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Las Iguanas - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing