We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new menu v good but chipoto mushrooms sadly missed”

Las Iguanas - Gunwharf Quays
Ranked #27 of 646 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Mexican, Central American, Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“new menu v good but chipoto mushrooms sadly missed”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Meal with kids before film. New menu looked good but sad to lose mushrooms. Bring it back! Tried Cuban revolution - v good. Rest looked tempting too.Excellent manager George promoted & left -will be missed. Service polite & efficient as always.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank comfy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    248
    83
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“October Visit”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went October in the Evening for a birthday, Cocktails were half price and the place was packed. I did not know much about cocktails but bar staff asked what I usually drink and advised what I would like, and they were right it was great. Food was excellent, and would eat there again as although the place was packed you had plenty of room around the table. The staff service was excellent and the place was lovely and clean. I checked out the menu online before going, which is nice to do when going to a restaurant for the first time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great South American Food!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Food at Las Iguanas is delicious! Authentic South American food, Nachos are amazing! The menu is very varied and staff talk you through it when you sit down. They have happy hour every day where cocktails are 2 for 1..... all of which are very good! Atmosphere is great, and restaurant always fills up. So i'd recommend booking if you want a table without waiting. Staff are very friendly and provided a great service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenD1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good variety of food and drinks”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Thought we'd try Las Iguanas, because of the reviews and the fact their menu is different to many of the other chains to be found at GWQ.

We needed to be fairly quick (about an hour or so) because we had come to see a comedy show at the Guildhall. It was only 6.45 & the restaurant was relatively empty. After a 5 minute wait just inside the door someone approached us and asked if we had a reservation, to which I looked around at the many empty tables and replied "no! do we need one". "Yes - you are the last table to be seated without one!" An hour later there were still many empty tables.
We found this to be a strange greeting on our first ever visit to this restaurant, after being kept waiting!

Anyway, that little annoyance over, a waitress came over with the menus, and we explained our tight schedule. Drinks were ordered and we decided to share 10 tapas style dishes between the 4 of us, so that we could all try several different things.

The staff shortage (2 waitresses, plus the person who showed us in & one person at the small bar) meant that 10 minutes later we had to ask if the drinks were ready. Soon, theyarrived and we were all happy. The food arrived too and we all agreed it was all very good.
We almost made the beginning of the show and just about escaped being heckled!

We all agreed we would return - good food, if we had been more relaxed over the time I am sure we would have enjoyed the leisurely paced service too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJCOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best atmosphere in Gunwharf”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Las Iguanas is the go-to restaurant in Gunwharf for good food and a good atmosphere. The South American vibe is great and I have eaten here dozens of times and never had a bad meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Iguanas - Gunwharf Quays also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Las Iguanas - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing