We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Upper Mount House Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Portsmouth
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Sandringham Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florence House(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rydeview Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
66
27
3
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
27
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bosborne roadnice victorianbars restaurantsnice comfy bedoff road parkingbreakfast was excellentthree nightsnight staytop floorfamily roomwaynesouthseaseafrontdockyard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 99 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The owner was very welcoming and provided a really good brekfast in the morning. Our fily room , however was a little cramped with sloping ceilings near the beds which we baged our heads on. The bathroom had an avocado green suite. But the room was really quiet for sleeping. Good value for the stayand breakfast for 4.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berkshirelassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

If you could have moved it closer to the spinnaker tower that would have made the stay perfect. That's not happening so we made do. Very close to the d-day museum. Lots of restaurants nearby. £5 taxi from harbour station rail. The breakfast was made to order and was great. Beds were .....zzzzzz.

It is a wood structure so some noise from other guests is to be expected and unavoidable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Stayed for two nights during school half term with my two boys - aged 9 and 14. Upper Mount is in a perfect location for all the sights and close to the hover for a trip over to the Isle of Wight. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Wayne was extremely pleasant and helpful from the moment I called on the phone to make a last-minute Thursday night booking for an overnight trip with a friend through the moment we departed the B&B on our way out the next day. A lovely, professional but unpretentious gentleman, he gave us directions and shared his warm hospitality with us.

We had booked a twin, but he ended up giving us two ensuite doubles for the same price as one room. The rooms were spacious and elegant, while not being posh or overdone. The bathrooms were spotlessly clean and the towels were ample in size and amount. There was a lot of storage space in the room.

The breakfast was a very pleasant surprise. Staff members were attentive and responsive and we were each given a lengthy printed menu in a professional-looking folio. They cooked a full vegetarian meal to order for each individual guest (I had vegetarian sausage, baked beans, mushrooms, and tater tots) with grapefruit, melon, tea, cereal, etc. The atmosphere in the tasteful dining room was friendly, with several guests having pleasant conversation with us. Each room had its own table and Wayne gave us great directions.

The B&B is just around the corner (1-2 minutes away!) from the major street leading to the waterfront, with lots of restaurants within easy walking distance but quiet at night. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The place was near several bars, but the B&B is around the corner and set back slightly from the road, so it was very quiet and we had no trouble sleeping.

Wayne helped advise us about our travel route and gave us helpful tips about local sights to see. The elegant and large sitting room for guests has lots of pamphlets about local activities. We got all of this for £68 total for two people with full hot breakfast and a lengthy breakfast menu, plus our own keys so we could come and go. I recommend this B&B especially for a romantic weekend or a destress break. The place is gay-friendly and welcoming to immigrants and people from Middle Eastern/South Asian ethnicities. Will definitely stay here next time I'm in Portsmouth if Wayne has rooms available. :) You can tell that Wayne cares deeply about quality and service, and it shows. A real winner of a place. Well done, Wayne! Thanks for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YousefGavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

If you stop and think of your mental image of "the perfect B&B", The Upper Mount House Hotel would just about represent most people's image of perfection. .
The room we stayed in (no.5) was attractively furnished and decorated in a traditional style which wasn't stale or outdated. There was a single and a comfortable double bed in the room. Everything was spotless and there was plenty of space. Tea and coffee making facilities were on hand and there was a desk to work at and wireless internet. The en suite bathroom was done out in a more modern style, and our only criticism would have to be the lack of power from the shower.
The breakfast was of very good quality and served without delay. We had the full English, but there were plenty of other options including a full range of cereals and other cooked breakfasts.
As ever it's the human touch that counts. The owner is a very friendly Lancastrian who turned his hand to running small hotels after a stint in the Navy. Both he and his staff are keen to make sure that you enjoy your stay. Making us a cup of tea and having a chat in the lounge after we'd vacated the room was all done in his stride.
If they had the choice, everyone would stay somewhere like this instead of a Travel Lodge or Premier Inn with their functional, soulless offerings. Don't hesitate to make a booking - it's a perfect, quiet location for a stay in Portsmouth and Southsea, and is close to a great variety of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHILC1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews