We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a hidden jem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upper Mount House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a hidden jem”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

been down in portsmouth(southsea) working since october and i have stayed at the best wee hotel ever . The Upper Mount House is a hidden jem.Wayne and the staff could not have been more helpfull with advice about where to eat ,get a good pint and things to go and see.The breakfast is fantastic and what a choice ,so if your going to this area for buisness or pleasure you will not find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dougie244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    27
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
44
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Upper Mount House for the 4th time and as usual had a great stay.
Wayne was delightful and serves a lovely breakfast. As normal nothing was too much bother for him.
The B&B is extreamly clean and welcoming, the rooms are all different and very reasonably priced.
Would deffiantly recommend to anyone staying in the area

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally8740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed here before, it is a lovely relaxed bed and breakfast in a big house. Wayne will greet you if you know your approximate arrival time....he lives right nearby. We had three rooms for our party and stayed three days. Lovely size rooms, and nice decor which can be seen online. The breakfast is great, lots to choose from and plenty of tea and coffee. My son joined us for breakfast on his birthday (he is at university in Portsmouth). Wayne could not have been more helpful, he moved the tables around to accommodate an extra person and when we came to pay he did not charge us. Just a few minutes walk from some nice restaurants and bars so no need for a cab. The service was very good, the breakfast staff were lovely. Will stay again on our next visit

Room Tip: Some rooms are more modern than usual, room 8 has a wonderful bathroom and room 4 has a big four pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our second stay at Upper Mount House and this time was even better than the last, which was 2 years ago. Wayne has obviously redecorated the rooms that I can comment on. We stayed in room 1, which I thought was superb and so tastefully decorated yet retained the old world charm of a more genteel era. Due to a previous booking we were then required to move, and we then spent time in room 8. All I can say is I am pleased we moved. Room 8 certainly has that wow factor that really impressed me who states in my profile that nothing but the best will do. Both rooms were spotless with very comfortable beds. There was extra seating to allow our in room cuppas to be enjoyed in comfort. Rooms were well heated and it was a bonus to be able to open windows to permit fresh air entry.
The towels were large and fluffy. I noticed that the bedding was dried in the open air when possible and certainly smelt fresh and well aired.
Now to room 8. It was extra large with 2 comfortable arm chairs for seating, as well as adequate drawer and hanging space. It is always nice to see a luggage rest, as both rooms had. The bathroom was huge with a separate bath AND shower. The shower was walk in with no door to have to worry about. The decor was modern yet furnished with quality fittings in keeping with a home built in the 1850s.
Breakfast was beautifully presented with sufficient choice to suit all palates. It was a delight to walk in each morning to Carol's welcoming smile.
Thank you Wayne for helping make our Portsmouth stay so enjoyable. Your hospitality is second to none!

Room Tip: If you want a special experience, upgrade to Wayne's luxury room 8. It is worth the little extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussienanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were traveling by car without an itinerary. The Upper Mount House was recommended to us by another B&B that was fully booked. We walked there and phoned Wayne, who drove over within 5-10 minutes with a warm greeting and the keys to our spacious room. We walked all over town, getting a great introduction to the pleasant city of Portsmouth. Breakfast the next morning was served in the dining room and was fine (I don't eat eggs or bacon--the toast, coffee and juice were great!). Wayne was a nice host and we're glad to get to know him. When we return to Portsmouth, we'll definitely stay at the Upper Mount.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine_of_Fallbrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pskov, Russia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Upper Mount for 9 nights 22-31st August,and i can only say a big thankyou to Wayne and his staff for making it a most enjoyable stay. We arrived a couple of hours earlier than i thought,owing to Planes and trains running on schedule! Wayne wasnt their to greet us,but a quick call from one of his regular guests,and he was here within minutes! On going to our room(number 8 and highly recommended to everyone) Wayne apologized for not having put flowers in the room! Was this a sign of things to come......? Course not ! The flowers were there within hours,while we were out! Proper pillows and a really comfy bed allowed some great sleeping,once our time clocks worked themselves out. Everything very clean,towels changed as required,fantastic bathroom with walk in shower,always hot water,and a remote bath too! Breakfast was always fresh,cooked to order,and,with the other laid on bits,always enough to not want lunch some days! And always served with a smile and curtisy by Carol,and the other girl,sorry didnt get her name. We extended our stay by 2 nights,which was not a problem,and being an ex Portsmuthian myself,had some interesting chats with Wayne. All in all,certainly one of the best places i have stayed in and would recommend it to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights in August of 2012 in Portsmouth and this guest house is very well situated in the middle of this lovely seaside town , that is actually the only UK city on an island( ask Wayne he will tell you )
It is very close to the south sea common , the harbour front and not even a block from the shopping precinct , everything is within a few minute's walk great pubs , restaurants , shops, hairdressers and even church.
Wayne deserves a special mention as he really is in the right profession , a wonderful host and hands- on owner. Rooms are spotless , flat screen TV , very hearty breakfast in the morning and lots of parking , rare in UK. It is a lovely old house .. pay a bit more more for bigger suites if you are with spouse , though I was happy with a smaller room as was alone on that trip.
I noted that the rooms was serviced every day , and was very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask Wayne in advance what he has available my room was small but he was full that week and I was alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
680 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Mount House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Mount House Hotel

Property: Upper Mount House Hotel
Address: Hotel The Vale, Portsmouth PO5 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing