We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous little cafe”
Review of Aspex Gallery

Aspex Gallery
Ranked #55 of 122 things to do in Portsmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in an award-winning building on the waterfront at Gunwharf Quays, Aspex is Portsmouth's leading contemporary art gallery and provides a fantastic environment to take time out to discover innovative artists, try something new with an inspiring participation programme, or simply relax in the calm environment of our Cafe Bar, run by social enterprise Lily & Lime LD. We've also got a range of great gifts in our Craft & Design Space! Open from 11am - 4pm, Wednesday - Sunday and Bank Holidays. Monday & Tuesday we welcome group visits by prior arrangement.
Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Fabulous little cafe”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended if in Gunwharf quays,an oasis away from the heaving mass of bargain hunters. Good coffee, homemade soup and lovely sandwiches. Don't tell to many people though!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaSussex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspexportsmouth, Public Relations Manager at Aspex Gallery, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thankyou for your kind words about the cafe - I'll be sure to pass the comments on to our Cafe Manager. Only thing I'd disagree with you is about telling people - spread the word far and wide! ;-)

Many Thanks

Gareth, Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food, comfy sofas and baby friendly!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stumbled over the Aspex Gallery cafe, having been already turned away from two packed chain restaurants, and what a find! Just set away from the throng of Gun Wharf, this is a calming and comfy environment within which to grab a spot of lunch or a decent cappuccino whilst slouching on a designer sofa. It seems that the management are focusing on a select number of decent quality, freshly prepared dishes and yummy cakes. My son (10 months old) and I shared a grilled Courgette and Feta pitta (toss up between that or a Beetroot and Mackerel salad), followed by a sizeable slice of carrot cake. And the best bit for the mum of a pre-toddler?….. ikea highchairs, decent baby changing facilities, adequate space for buggies, I even spotted a microwave for heating baby food and a kid's tapas menu (falafel, cucumber, hummus etc), all done in a very cool, non-'baby club' way. We will definitely be going back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maltby73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspexportsmouth, Public Relations Manager at Aspex Gallery, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thankyou for the five star review! We love to hear from our visitors and hear your comments - I'll pass on this onto the team. We hope to see you again soon!

Many Thanks
Gareth, Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A relaxed setting, great service and plenty to see.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Across the courtyard from Gunwharf's outlet shops, the Aspex Gallery showcases small items of craft, some with a military theme, plus unusual greetings cards. Sometimes there are themed exhibitions. This summer it's 'Wrong Pong' with various tilted or rounded ping pong tables to fit the current theme of the importance of play.
We enjoyed coffee and tea with yummy cake on a relaxed sofa and noticed the very tall ceilings and liked the unspoilt, rustic interior.
All the food looked good, a limited menu, but I prefer the emphasis on quality, so no criticism from me - meze and pannini for savoury and various cakes.
The single loo needs a regular, thorough clean, though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspexportsmouth, Manager at Aspex Gallery, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Pam,

Thankyou for your kind review! With regard to the loo, I will speak to the cleaning team to ensure that it is tip top condition in future.

Thanks!

Gareth, Comms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aspex Gallery also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Aspex Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing