We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a walk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank tonyfirmin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed two nights here just to say just how great to staff at reception are. Nothing was to great a problem. Well done staff. The hotel is 5 minute walk to the Fratton railway station and then straight into the portsmouth naval dockyard.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike120Launceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and particularly happy to hear that our staff were a credit to us. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank shelbyvill
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I found the hotel to be nicely decorated, modern and clean. The room was excellent with a very comfortable bed. Although it is situated in, what seemed to be, a busy area it was very quiet. There are plenty of places close buy to purchase food.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel, on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cheshanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Cost data : 75 pounds (Friday night) excluding breakfast.

We needed somewhere prior to an early morning sailing to France but hadn't realised that this date coincided with the Goodwood Festival and we had difficulty finding anywhere else (so prices are hitched (or stitched ?) up to reflect demand).

On the positive side, the cell (sorry, room) was clean, and the desk staff were friendly.

Otherwise this is a small cramped room with a tiny shower/washbasin in the same area as the bed - at least they had the decency to put the toilet in a separate room. Situated on a soulless retail park Altogether, a rather sad pitiful excuse for a hotel room. Not even a kettle to make a cup of tea to drown your sorrows. Makes the Travelodge/Premier Inn brands look like the Ritz.

This room was 50 pounds too expensive - it's worth no more than 25 pounds a night. A place to stay as a last resort if everything else is booked up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to assure you that we are conscious of our status as a budget brand and that our prices are designed to reflect that position. While they do fluctuate with demand and for some events, we remain the lowest priced brand in the area.

Your comments have been noted and taken under consideration. We value all feedback and will continue to fuel the creation of a product that our patrons will enjoy.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with such an experience.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband stayed here as it was close to the concert hall we were going too. Room had everything you need and was clean. No tea/coffee but new this in advance so took our own. Staff were helpful and polite. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinaM894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,590 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.6 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#32 of 39 in Portsmouth
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
847 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Address: Unit 4 The Pompey Centre | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $41 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing