We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, okay thats it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Room was very cold and I ended up having to request extra blankets.

It seems they do not warm up the room prior to arrival, very very cold.

I had (I think) an expensive car and there was insufficient parking spaces, not ideal!

I ended up parking in an unsecured area across the road.

Room Tip: Request Parking is reserved and request room is heated prior to arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are disappointed to read that your stay was not as positive an experience as it could've been. We appreciate your feedback and will be taking your comments under advisement. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

After coming to portsmouth for my partners work, we checked into this hotel.

The room was small but exactly what was needed for a night in the city. My 10 month old especially delighted in the lights that are touch above the bed, unfortuantly for us she decided to play with them as we were trying to settle her down!

It was very clean and the reception staff were very friendly both at check in and afterwards.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cersai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay again soon.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked this hotel last minute and was just £31 for a double room. Was not expecting much, but was pleasently surprised. Check in was quick and the staff very friendly, the room was compact and basic but felt quite cosy and very clean. It had a good LCD TV, good lighting with bedside controls, small sink area in the room with seperate toilet and shower compartments. There isnt an actual bathroom as such so not ideal but ok for a one night stay. The double bed was ok, quite firm and low down, but did the job.
On site car park was quite busy but reception advised me to use the B&Q car park opposite that was free with the hotel permit provided. Would stay here again if I could get another low rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drew_uk_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to read that your expectations were exceeded and look forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Oscar J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Ibis Budget Hotel in Portsmouth is situated right next to Portsmouth Football Club's ground, Fratton Park, on the east side of the city about 5 minutes by car from the many attractions on offer in this historic city. The rooms are small but very well designed and perfectly functional. The showers are first rate, the best shower I've come across in any hotel anywhere.

There were two issues which weren't good: the pillows were small and we'd have liked two extra but they had run out and the car park is too small for the size of the hotel. Some had to use the B&Q car park some distance away, no good if you have heavy luggage and/or disabled people with you.

All that said, for the price (we booked in advance and paid £27 per room per night) it is excellent value for money and we shall certainly be going back there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Fabric_Fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that your expectations were met and that you would opt to stay with us again. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you on your next stay in Portsmouth.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

For the price charged & the location the room & hotel were extremely good. the only issue was one of smell of drains as we entered the room. The room was very clean but we suspect that there is an issue with the drainage from the shower. However, if you want a basic hotel & don't want the city centre this is for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank EdwardNicholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that your stay, largely, met your expectations. Your comments as regards the possible drainage problem have been noted and will be investigated with a view to ensuring that this does not impede our guests' enjoyment of the experience in future.

We hope you will visit again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,632 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
1.6 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#32 of 39 in Portsmouth
446 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Address: Unit 4 The Pompey Centre | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $46 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing