We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel/base for porstmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a really clean, modern and great hotel to stay in if your looking for 1-2 nights stay as its very close to porstmouth centre and it is just great. Yes its basic, but as long as its clean and the staff are accomodating theres no problem and no reason not to stay. The staff members I spoke to were all really helpfull and very welcoming. If you book just dont expect a hilton standard hotel as this is not it, however its perfect for anyone who needs a base for a night or two. I loved it and would happly stay here again :-).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words.

It is a pleasure to know that you found your experience so positive. Your feedback will be passed on to the team. We hope that you will stay with us again soon and look forward to ensuring you are treated to as high a standard of experience as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and myself spent a night in your portsmouth hotel (etap) and the room was freezing. With the heater on full power it still didn't warm up. After a few hrs of no sleep, we asked for more blankets, in which the staff politely obliged. I was disappointed, esp as the prices goes up on a wk end!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were disappointed to read that your experience at the Ibis Budget Portsmouth on this occasion did not leave you entirely satisfied. The matter is being investigated to prevent recurrence.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon for a more flawless visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Returning from Europe on a late evening ferry, this was perfect for overnighting. Very clean and comfortable, and 2 wifi codes so we could both catch up with emails..
However, we don't know Portsmouth and it was quite difficult to find. No hotels seemed to be signposted, unlike in European towns. But if we use the Portsmouth ferry, we will use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank salsafan6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Ibis Budget Portsmouth and that you would stay with us again.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is defiantly only good if you want to get your head down for the night (preferably after a night out!!)
It's cheap and cheerful, the room was small and basic with a view of a fence!!
Perfect if you want an average nights sleep, not good if you want to impress!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased that you were satisfied with your experience at the Ibis Budget Portsmouth and hope to have an opportunity to impress you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Room exactly as we expected basic but very clean, absolutely ideal when all that is required is a room to sleep for the night and have a shower in the morning. The room is utilitarian in style but also modern and functional, overall very good value for money. The only downside as other guests pointed out was the lack of facilities to make a hot drink in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matilda67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to read that your experience was a positive one and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If your are looking for a hotel this is not for you, if you are looking for a B&B this is not for you, if you are looking for anything other than a bed, shower and place to rest your head then this is not for you. The hotel is basic, clean, neat and tidy. We had a family room that sleeps 3 and that is all we used the hotel for a place to rest out head at night. There is no wardrobe space so be prepared to live out of your suitcase. The hotel it is used by lots of youngsters at the weekend to get into the city due to the cheap price so can be noisy sometimes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that our establishment was able to serve a purpose for your stay. While our location and rates may appeal to a particular demographic, we seek to accommodate all our guests in comfort and to offer an experience that leaves them entirely satisfied, regardless of the nature of their visit.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whilst the bed was comfortable, the room was chilly despite having heater on due an ill fitting window which caused quite a draft, although it was a budget hotel it would have been nice to have a kettle and 2 mugs/cups in the room. The location was easy to find albeit in the the middle of a retail and Industrial area, would be a bit of a nightmare when Portsmouth FC playing at home, parking is via B & Q Car Park opposite for which you have to get a permit from Hotel Reception. I think I would pay a bit extra next time for a better hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank carolineef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I was disappointed to read that your stay was not comfortable as it could have been. Your comments regarding the temperature of the room have been noted and the matter will be investigated to prevent recurrence.

While we do not provide tea / coffee making facilities in the rooms, we are able to keep our prices competitive by making hot drinks available to buy from Reception which is open 24/7.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,632 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
1.6 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#32 of 39 in Portsmouth
446 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Address: Unit 4 The Pompey Centre | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $46 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing