We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Duke Of Buckingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duke Of Buckingham
Ranked #5 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The room was compact but well equipped and comfortable, we were in the annexe at the back, very quiet, only four rooms, we were there for a wedding, and had 3 of the rooms booked for us, so really handy. Great for the pubs of Old Portsmouth and 3 mins walk from the sea. No breakfast, but was recommended the small Manna cafe just across the road, but to be honest, the breakfast there was dreadful, suggest looking elsewhere for breakfast. The duke of Buckingham is well priced, clean, comfortable and friendly, would definately recommend.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, can't beat the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlloaStobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    249
    86
    33
    17
See reviews for
124
265
57
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I booked for my my family to stay in 'Old Portsmouth' for a relaxing break. On arrival all looked Ok from the outside. I checked in at reception point at the end of the Bar. We were shown up to our rooms in the attic, with no offer of help to carry any bags.
On arrival in to rooms bedding was clean, bathrooms disappointing and not as the website indicates! The double room was very small and we had to boil the tiny travel kettle twice to get two cups of tea!
As we had spent the day on the coastal paths, we decided to shower and get ready to go and spend the evening by the Quay, only to discover there was no hot water!
The member of staff was uncertain but knew exactly where to check so I guess this is not the first time this has happened. The water tank was stone cold and had clearly not been on as was switched off at three points. There was a shared 'compact' shower room two floors down which was offered. Very disappointed!
The hotel is listed as B&B although there is none available at all. The bar was also closed at 5pm on Sunday which I found strange on a bank holiday weekend which meant there were no after dinner drinks!

Room Tip: attic rooms have no curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 393julia1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The room was very small and the bathroom maybe the smallest we've ever had, but the place was clean, the bed comfortable and the wifi free and fairly strong.

Breakfast not included.

We had dinner in the pub one evening and the fish and chips were very good.

A ten minute walk to the old dockyards so very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granniesteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went to Old Portsmouth to stay over the Bank Holiday to visit friends. Also went sight seeing at all the historical sights such as HMS Victory the HM Maritime Dockyard and Dickens Birthplace. Excellent Shopping at Gunwharf Quays.

My Stay at the Duke and Buckingham was excellent and I have paid far more for Hotels that promised a comfortable relaxing stay. The Location Of The Duke Of Buckingham is ideally located in the heart of Old Portsmouth and is centrally located within easy walking distance of all that I wanted to visit on my stay.
The room I was allocated was adequate, clean and stylish. The Bathroom was nice and with plenty of hot water. The front of House staff were pleasant and helpful. But the best kept secret was the amazing restaurant and bar. The food was excellent and on the level with many top hotels I have stayed throughout the world. The wine selection was wide and tastefully selected. The quite tabling away from the bar area was well thought out and allowed dinners to enjoy the ambience without been disturbed. But the pricing of this fine dining was unbelievably good value for money. The best kept secret in Old Portsmouth is the Duke Of Buckingham and I would recommend this establishment to anyone who would like a stay in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: All rooms are stylish and Comfortable but room 6 is a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Me and my partner went to portsmouth for an interview, due to the distance we decided to stay two nights. We had room 6, which I'll admit is small, but it was completely suitable for us. the bathroom was nice, a lovely shower, lovely little TV and the bed was perfectly fine.
The pub downstairs was lovely, although the locals were a little off putting. the staff allowed me to use my laptop in there, including plugging it in and were very helpful and polite during our stay. I didn't get a chance to sample their food, but it looked really good and people seemed very pleased.

the only issue I had was that the shower, or a boiler or something, made a lot of noise in the night. I still slept okay, my partner did not. just a warning if you need a good nights sleep.

I would stay here again, because it was better than what I expected for the price, and it's in a great location too, not far from Portsmouth Harbour station (walking distance) and really close to other attractions like Gunwharf Quay.

Room Tip: I think room 6 is not the best choice, judging by other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

A lovely pub, room was very clean. the shower was lovely but a bit high off the ground.The walls were thin you could hear next door. The windows are single glazed so you can hear the people walking by and cars going past. But we still had a nice stay here.Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

A great short stay Pub (Was there 1 night). I was in an attic room (quite a lot of steps so beware if you have problems in that area), which, though not huge was immaculately clean and well presented , no frills so to speak (No frills price for such a well situated establishment on a Friday night), and it did have the all importatant tea/coffee facilities.
Also present was a modern, fully functional TV (By no means taken as read in my experience).

The en suite was a little snug as someone has previously mentioned but, very modern and the shower was a dream, no hot water issues and for a reasonably large unit like myself, suprisingly roomy. It was also previously commented on, that the rooms were cold but mine wasn't, thus no complaints on that score. My only minus point was that the bath towel had a vaue odour of cooking about it as if it had been stored near the kitchen. Perfectly clean but worth a mention.

No the Buckingham doesn't provide/offer breakfast however that is what,

."• There is no meal option with this room.", on the booking form means.
A very comprehensive menu is available in the bar and the, in room, information points one to a good adjacent cafe for those who requir breakfast . I personally didn't try the food but it looked good and there was a brisk trade. I did have a very nice pint of real ale and the staff (and locals incidentally) were pleasant enough.

In short, a well sited no frills establishment in Old Portsmouth, perfect for a short stay, Good bus links and a ten minute walk from two railway stations, near to all the culture and shopping you can eat and reasonably priced.

Would have awarded an extra half 'Star' if 'twer possible.

Try it.

Room Tip: Number 10 in attic suited my needs perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olloiramande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
3.8 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Of Buckingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Of Buckingham

Property: Duke Of Buckingham
Address: 119 High Street, Portsmouth PO1 2HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke Of Buckingham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Old Portsmouth and surrounded by a wealth of sea faring history, The Duke of Buckingham offers the perfect destination. Our Stylish accommodation with FREE parking is perfect for a short break or longer stay. We are just minutes from the beach and bustling harbour with Gunwharf Quays, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and Portsmouth`s Historic Dockyard all within easy walking distance. We very much look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay in Portsmouth a great one! Please note - We do not serve breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Duke Of Buckingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Buckingham Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing