We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, average comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Maritime Club
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for one night while visiting the Historic Dockyard area.

Pros:

1. It would be hard to find a hotel that is in a better location in relation to the Historic Dockyard. It's literally just down the street.
2. Friendly staff.
3. Good full english breakfast included.

Cons:

1. No air-conditioning, so the hotel (especially the corridors) smells old and musty.
2. Although our room had been recently refurbished, there was a definite smell of mildew.
3. The mattress was awful. My wife barely slept a wink.

That said, if you want a convenient place to stay when visiting the dockyard, look no further. For one night, it was more than adequate. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 824 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

I take my 89 year old father down to Portsmouth every year for his ship' reunion (HMS Indefatigable). The event is held at The Royal Maritime Club so we always stay here.
The Club is like an old fashioned hotel with large entrance foyer with the restaurant and bar off each side. Rooms seem to be all over the place and none are really suited for disabled wheelchair users. All the rooms we have stayed in over the last 8 years are quite basic by todays standards and could do with a good make over ( I think this is now taking place). Having said that, they are adequate for 2 males well over 60 staying for only 2 nights !!! Returning for 8 years proves that.
The food is good considering the price paid. The service always warm and friendly. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulLawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night while attending a wedding at the docks. Location is superb and is the only reason we would use this hotel again.
Room was adequate for 1 nights sleep.
The bathroom was a disgrace. A blocked sink which I am convinced the hotel must have been aware of and a shower which frankly was pathetic, to say water trickled out is an exaggeration!
Breakfast was good. The hotel rates are not cheap and the standards are not reflective of the price - extremely over priced. The only reason to recommend this hotel is the location and this is the only reason we would ever consider returning.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Caire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Beware of expecting a hotel. This is a club with hotel style rooms. The staff are very friendly but once you leave the spacious entrance and reception area be prepared for a more dingy experience . That said, the location of the club is great for exploring Portsmouth marina and the maritime museum. The pool is small and cloudy. Breakfast was plentiful but we decided on the croissants as the hot selection was under hot lights and looked dry and a little unappetising. We had a less than great experience here but the staff did their utmost to rectify it. Also, this is a charity run establishment so perhaps the lack of finess can be excused somewhat.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room if you want a standard room. Standard rooms are dreadful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights principly for an event at the Club and just wanted convenience. I stayed here last more than 25 years ago and my standards are somewhat higher than back then,so having read the reviews on here, ensured i booked a renovated superior room. We took the small lift up one a time (only room for 1 pax plus luggage) and as we walked along the corridors, i could see in the open doors of other rooms and my stomach sank. They were just how i remember them, same decor and all. But things looked up when we went through a glass door, to what i presume is either a completely new or renovated wing. Even the door was different and when i opened it, found what could have been pretty much any motel room you can think of. New decor, light colours, modern etc etc. But SMALL. So look from that point of veiw its way better than i remember. However it would still be difficult to offer praise for much else. The bed was so soft, that the wife and i just rolled into the middle and the plastic cover on the bed (maybe past history with drunken sailors making a mess?) was soo hot. The bathroom was ok, but defo one at a time and the shower is not the best if you like power and lots of water.
We ate breakfast on all days and for me this was a trip down memory lane, as it was served very much like i remember from the Navy. Nothing flash, but plenty of it and i happen to have a soft spot for their sausages. So a thumbs up from me, but might not be to everyones taste.
The location is great if your there for a do in the club, or for something at the dockyard and compared to say the Holiday Inn at Gunwharf, well priced. If you do not get a superior room however, you may get a nasty shock.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colinmc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Well located and walking distance to main attractions. Room was clean and comfortable. Gym was not operating at the time we were there. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were all very friendly. Would not hesitate to anyone to stay if they are into the history of the dockyards or the navy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were visiting the Dockyard and decided on the Royal Maritime Club for its location a few yards away. The rooms were probably better than we expected and the staff were charming. The breakfast was more than adequate. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 39 in Portsmouth
432 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,216 reviews
3.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Maritime Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maritime Club

Address: Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $113 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Maritime Club 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Maritime Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maritime Club Hotel Portsmouth
Royal Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing