We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Maritime Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The George Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rydeview Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveler rating
216
338
185
54
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
338
185
54
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgunwharf quaysrefurbished roomsmall poolnaval baselimited parkingshort walkleisure facilitiesgun wharfhms victorybuffet stylesingle roomparking spacespinnaker towershopping centrevisiting portsmouthfull englishone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
708 - 713 of 837 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Royal Maritime Club and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast and evening meal was good, one of our party was late, the kitchen had closed but the waiting staff kindly made a sandwich for them.
We used their swimming pool, where towels are provided, small but adequate for a quick swim.
We stayed in the West Wing, which was a little tired looking but very clean, my only complaint would be the pillows, extremely thin. Location is great for the dockyard and short walking distance to Portsmouth harbour train station. We hope to return again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Friendly helpful staff, first class buffet breakfast, very clean with well appointed bedrooms. We had two nights B and B with one 3 course evening meal and entry into the Dockyard museum for £219 for two. £52 of this was for the entry into the museum. Two minutes walk from rail station and museum. The problems of no air conditioning was address by a fan in our room.
Mr and Mrs O from Shropshire

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade (and additional £10)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGOssig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed 03/08 for the football and we thought this place was spot on for what we wanted. On entering, it looks more like a theatre or old cinema and it does have an old feel to it but it's very clean and not run down at all. It's a bit of an odd place but in a good way, if you are down in Portsmouth for the history and like your boats then this would certainly be the place you'd want to stay! It's a short walk from the Historic Dockyard and the shops.

Staff were polite and professional. We had a problem with the card machine on the room door and someone was there in seconds to sort it out. I think we must have had a revamped room (108) as it was nicely done, fresh ad clean with a large bathroom. It wasn't much different from being in a Premier Inn with the way it was set out and decorated. It was at the back of the hotel so we had no noise. Bed was large and quite soft .

Breakfast was good, not greasy. The only complaint would be they didn't have much for veggies but the scrambled egg was pretty good. The restaurant had a bit of atmosphere to it where you could relax and have a conversation rather than whisper or sit in silence.

Only downside would be parking if you arrived in the afternoon when it's busy but the staff were very helpful and will advise you.

Room Tip: As for an updated room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madbird_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Part of the historic dockyard package. Rooms, 3 course dinner, hms victory and Mary Rose tickets included in the price.

Great Value for money

Went down for dinner which was very good. One of our party arrived late after the kitchen had shut but the staff still managed to provide a meal for them. Very considerate.

Fantastic location, 2 mins walk to the historic dockyards, restaurants, harbour front gosport ferry and train station. 7 min from new mall.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

By far the best thing about the Royal Maritime Club is its location, had it not been so central we would have been disappointed. As we were staying just one night, and spending very little time in the hotel, it was not an issue.
Initial impressions of the hotel are one's of elegance, but that is soon dispelled, the rooms are small and tired, as are parts of the hotel. The breakfast is totally adequate, but the restaurant did not look at all inspiring, offering only three choices so we dinned out on Portsmouth's lively and trendy waterfront.
Without its close location to the Historic Dockyard, the hotel has very little to offer, and is not somewhere we would want to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simondinsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews