We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Maritime Club
Nearby Hotels
$118
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$103
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$106
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$66
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
$95
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveler rating
217
341
186
54
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
341
186
54
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgunwharf quaysrefurbished roomsmall poolnaval baselimited parkingshort walkleisure facilitiesgun wharfhms victorybuffet stylesingle roomparking spacespinnaker towershopping centrevisiting portsmouthfull englishone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
770 - 775 of 842 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Ideally located for a visit to Portmouth.3 day break to include a day at Goodwood Festival of Speed.& a day trip on Wightlink to the Isle of Wight. Gunwarf Quays very handy for bars & resteraunts.

Having read previous reviews my expectations were exceeded - we were in a newly refurbished room which was roomy, modern, clean and comfortable - though the extractor fan in the en-suite was very noisy so resorted to using the light in the mirror a lot of the time! The public areas are impressive, though in areas are ready for a refrurb (decorating/carpets) so look a little tired. If the refurb follows the understated classic style of the breakfast room, bedrooms, bar area it will be great.

Luckily checked in just in time to get the last of the allocated parking bays - though on our return from Goodwood someone else had parked in it - who had a permit for a different bay - so we parked in a vacant bay - on looking there were at least 2 cars not displaying permits - what happened to the 'wheel clamping'/managing the bays?

Breakfast was great - lots of choice, good, tasty, hot English Buffet style breakfast, with lots of friendly staff in attendance.

I would certainly stay again...

Room Tip: Rooms at the back do not get road noise - however they are above the ballroom, which if in use you can hear the DJ/music - but not too loud.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Ideally located to see all the local attractions without having to drive. We were showing friends around Portsmouth who had never visited before. Managed to park our car in one of the allocated bays - bit of a squeeze, but didn't need to use it again until we left Portsmouth on our 3rd day. Very nice and friendly comfortable hotel, bit shabby in parts, especially the lift, but we had a room in the new wing on the 2nd floor which was perfect for our short break. Very clean and bright with a quiet outlook over the rear of the hotel. The bathroom was lovely - even had a bath with shower over. Our friends next door only had a shower! We were in room 219. Would ask for that room if we stayed again. Breakfast was really good in a lovely airy room, plenty of choice, could even order other food not on the menu or display.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trixiebelleCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Royal Maritime Club is idealy situated to see all the attractions of Portsmouths waterfront. On the doorstep of the Historic Naval Dockyard (HMS Victory, HMS Warrior, Mary Rose) and the Gunwarf Quays Shopping centre with the Spinnaker Tower. The D.Day Museum and The Royal Marine Museum are only a short bus ride away. The Maritime itself is very welcoming, with the Victory Bar serving drinks, and the Horatio Resteruant for evening meals. The Compass Bar provides snacks for lunchtime, all reasonably priced. The Hotel caters for all, with rooms adapted for the disabled, Family rooms, and twins and doubles. There is an extensive range of activities in house, including gym, swimming pool, snooker and bowling lanes. The rooms I have stayed in have been more than adaquete with TV, Tea and Coffee and very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Refusing to stay in the holiday Inn again which last time was filthy and expensive, i booked this from smoothhound at half the price. I had very low expectations and so was satisfied with the stay. My colleague had higher expectations and was disappointed.
yes is an old dirty place which is in despartate need of a make over. the rooms smelt a bit like someone had just died in it, but the bathroom was clean and functional and the bed was comfortable. I did cover the carpet areas witht the spare towels and they didnt look nice.
No complaints with breakfast, everything you would expect and decent quantity.
For the price i paid (£67) in comparison to other hotels and taking into account the location, i feel the Maritime Club offered good value.
Not a place to impress a lady on a weekend away. Maybe for stag nights, work trips on a budget.
The only other residents i saw in the hotel look like old retired sailors coming for a reunion.
It earns an average score for the value

Room Tip: Ask if any have been updated as the one i stayed in hadnt been touched for decades
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because of it's location which is as everything of interest is within walking distance. The welcome when we booked in was very frosty to say the least a smile would have been nice!!! Web site says limited parking it is very limited, However there is a public car park nearby.
The room was a good size but that is about all the loo roll holder kept falling off and the toilet seat was broken. The bath had at some time had some tape down the middle which had been pulled off and marked the bath. The shower was pathetic obviously needed replacing. Hotel has no air con in rooms so was very hot.
Breakfast was ok but a bit rushed. The check out time is 10am which is quite early as most hotels are 11am not so good when you have had a night out before.Would not return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisb1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews