We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Maritime Club
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here for one night on 8th June. The Club is being refurbished, great location, but a bit tired. Quiet clean, nice breakfast. No off street parking. Great Staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 743 of 775 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

I came to Portsmouth one morning by train, just to see the Historic Dockyards, and stayed at this hotel because it’s right next to both station and Dockyards and wasn’t too expensive. Gotta say, though, that—apart from the upscale shopping mall at Gunwharf Quay—not much else going on nearby; in retrospect I should have taken the train onwards after the Dockyards closed at 5:30, rather than spend the night in Portsmouth. That said, the hotel isn’t bad: interesting history, odd layout, nice big room and bathroom, fast internet; the bed wasn’t great. Had some cheap, fearsomely spicy Indian food from the place next door.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Checked in to this hotel at 3.15 checked out at 3.30 most depressing place and room I have ever seen needs a complete renovation everywhere just plain horrible

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mattyrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel.Less tan 5 minutes walk from the Harbour & the naval Dockyard.
The rooms are nice were just the job for me as i was just sleeping & having Breakfast. I spent of he days sightseeing with not getting back to the evening.

Breakfast is buffet with a good selection & is helped by some very friendly staff.

The hotel has lot of character with a old colonial feel which i thought was fine as i like that sort of place. Staff were excellent & very helpful.

Ideal place for someone like me you does not drive.

Room Tip: The website does double rooms for sole occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Having stayed at the Club, I would not recommend anybody staying at this venue and I would not stay there in the future. The general decor is very tired, the rooms are very tired and shabby looking. Also, when somebody opens a door and it slams shut, it vibrates through the floors and is very noisy. The food was not particularly good, the plates were cold at all times, if you had the cooked breakfast, the grease was laying on the eggs and sausages. However, I must give praise to the staff of the dining room, if you required anything, they were more than willing to help. Although one of the Chefs!!! was not helpful at all when asked if he could supply an alternative menu, the swift answer was no, hence I went out to eat instead of staying in the club.

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The position of this club was very good for the Historic Harbour and Gunwharf Quay. The inside of the club let it down very much I would not recommend this to anyone over the height of 5ft 10in as the double we had was very short and narrow. The walk to your room was quite a hick and pulling a case made it more difficult the lifts where very small anybody who had a wheel chair would have a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alby_lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Basic hotel with everything that you need for a few nights stay. Breakfast is very good buffet style. Bar and restaurant on site.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,272 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,580 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
950 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Maritime Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maritime Club

Address: Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $107 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Maritime Club 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Maritime Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maritime Club Hotel Portsmouth
Royal Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing